This encyclopedia covers all aspects of scholarship on early cinema, both traditional and revisionist. It contains articles on the technological and industrial developments, the techniques of film production, the actors and filmmakers of the time, and on the changing modes of representation and narration, as well as the social and cultural contexts within which early films circulated, including topics such as distribution, exhibition, and audience.
Intended for students and non-specialists, this six-volume set does an outstanding job of covering all aspects of modern Asia (economics, religion, technology, politics, education, the arts, environmental issues, international relations, and scientific advances.
Identifies and synthesizes primary research literature in 46 scholarly disciplines.
Offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Volumes are published each year for 46 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics.
This edition of the valuable reference source contains specially commissioned entries written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers. Great source for theoretical and background information.
Alphabetically organized, entries contain concise explanations of key anthropological theories and ideas, as well as surveys of the most important ethnographic regions and regional traditions of ethnographic research. Each major entry contains cross-references and a list of further reading.
The encyclopedia is organized into two main sections: topics and cultures. The topics section covers general topics relating to medical anthropology such as medical systems; political, economic and social issues; sexuality, reproduction and the life cycle; and health conditions and diseases. The cultures section covers over 50 cultures from around the world and describes their health practices in detail, following a standard format to facilitate comparisons.
Covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition. Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.
A 26-volume academic encyclopedia with good bibliographies that covers the social sciences. Includes entries on such diverse topics as youth movements, welfare, urban sprawl, violence, education, media and more.