Lewis & Clark Libraries: Environmental Studies: Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, scholarly, and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 12,000 periodicals and 4,700 peer-reviewed journals.
Academic Search Premier is a comprehensive, scholarly, and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 12,000 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,700 peer-reviewed journals. The database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Many areas of academic study are covered, including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources.
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Identifies and synthesizes primary research literature in 46 scholarly disciplines.
Offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Volumes are published each year for 46 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google's academic search engine. To display links to content available through Watzek, go to settings, library links and add "Lewis and Clark Libraries – Get Item at L&C Libraries."
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Use the advanced search to search for journal articles within a specific discipline.
Collections owned by Watzek Library: Arts & Sciences I - IX, Jewish Studies, and Biological Sciences. The JSTOR collections contain the full text of several hundred scholarly journals, from their earliest issues up to 3-5 years ago. A wide range of subjects are covered in the arts and sciences, including language and literature, ecology, history, political science, mathematics, anthropology, sociology and philosophy. Through a partnership with ARTstor, JSTOR also can run a concurrent search for images, separating results into "Articles," "Images from Articles," and "ARTstor Images."
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full text of national, regional, and international newspapers, business, and legal sources and more.
Provides full text documents from over 6,000 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Includes national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources; U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information; Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789; and Company Dossiers, with business journal articles, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Provides an introduction to the specialized literature within the fields of art history, classics, environmental science, geography, international relations, music, philosophy, and the Renaissance and Reformation.
OBO is a library of discipline-based subject modules. In each subject module, leading scholars have produced an annotated guide to the most important and significant sources in an area of study they know best.
Primo This link opens in a new window
Primo is the library's search engine for books at Watzek Library and at Pacific Northwest Academic Libraries via the Summit delivery system. It also contains audiovisual materials like DVDs and CDs as well as journal articles and ebooks.

Environmental Studies Relevant Databases

Biodiversity Heritage Library
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global "biodiversity commons."
more...less...
To perform a simple search of BHL, enter an EXACT PHRASE such as "proceedings of the academy" (without quotation marks). Entering keywords such as "proceedings academy" will not return results.
Country Analysis Briefs (U.S. Energy Information Administration)
The site provides data on global and local energy use and outlooks. Visitors can access Country Analysis Briefs by selecting from the nine initial clickable regions on the main visual map and then choosing from 85 subregions. Online reports for each region/country include sections on background and profile, types of energy, lists of data sources, and links to relevant sites. The Special Topics section provides fact sheets and pertinent reports such as "Global Energy Sanctions" and "World Oil Transit Chokepoints".
European Platform on Life Cycle Assessment
The EU’s knowledge base that responds to business and policy needs for social and environmental assessments of supply chains and end-of-life waste management, otherwise known as life cycle assessments.

GeoRef This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive database of bibliographic information in the geosciences.
GeoRef provides access to articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses, covering the geology of North America from 1785 to the present; and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to present. GeoRef through COS includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities are also covered.

National Academies Press
Over 4,000 free PDF versions of published books. "NAP produces more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the best-informed views on important issues."
National Council for Science and the Environment: CRS Reports
The National Library for the Environment currently posts over 1700 CRS Reports on environmental and related topics. The Congressional Research Service (CRS), part of the Library of Congress, prepares its reports for the U.S. Congress.
NREL U.S. Life Cycle Inventory Database
This database provides individual gate-to-gate, cradle-to-gate and cradle-to-grave accounting of the energy and material flows into and out of the environment that are associated with producing a material, component, or assembly in the U.S.
Open LCANEx
openLCA Nexus is an online repository for Life Cycle Assessment data. It combines data offered by world-leading LCA data providers such as PE International (GaBi databases), the ecoinvent centre (ecoinvent), or the Joint Research Centre from the European Commission (ELCD).
State of the World's Forests
The State of the World's Forests reports on the status of forests, recent major policy and institutional developments and key issues concerning the forest sector.

Environmental Studies Specific Databases

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in a wide range of environmental applications.
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Environmental History Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Contains over 40,000 annotated citations to books, articles, and dissertations published from 1633 to the present.
For over 50 years the Forest History Society (FHS) has monitored the world of publishing for items written as history and dealing with the utilization, management, and appreciation of forest-related resources. Originally the information was kept on index cards, then in 1977 was published in North American Forest and Conservation History: A Bibliography by Ronald J. Fahl (Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO Press, 1977). Since the early 1980s FHS has maintained the bibliography in a computer database, which is continually updated and searchable on our web site.

Environmental Studies and Policy Collection
Covers environmental issues and policies from more than 700 journals and other sources.
more...less...
Covers environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly and general interest titles, government documents and reports. Focuses on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment.
Indexes scholarly and general interest titles, government documents and reports. Focuses on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Draws on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Includes almost 300,000 records, some full text and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles.

Subject Guide

Mark Dahl

Email Me

Contact:

503-768-7339

Subjects: Entrepreneurship, Environmental Studies