Lewis & Clark Libraries: News: News Databases

News & Current Events Databases

African American Newspapers (1827-1998) This link opens in a new window
Full text for approximately 270 U.S. newspapers from 35 states, chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. Includes rare 19th century titles.
America's News This link opens in a new window
The electronic editions of local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers.
The electronic editions of local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community. Paid ads are excluded.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Full text of CQ Researcher reports on major U.S. social, economic and political issues.
Each 12,000 word weekly report provides an in-depth news and analysis of a single contemporary issue: social, political, international. Provides an overview, historical background, a chronology of important events related to the issue, pros and cons from experts, maps/graphs, bibliographies, and lists of organizations that can be contacted for further information.
Ethnic News Watch This link opens in a new window
Includes journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. Covers 1959–present. Ethnicities include African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, and Native American.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1947 to 1996 This link opens in a new window
Created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit policy makers and analysts, FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events translated into English.
Created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit policy makers and analysts, FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Translated into English from more than 50 languages - from Arabic to Swahili - these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary.
World News Connection Archive (1993-2013) This link opens in a new window
The World News Connection Archive 1993-2013 contains information obtained from newspaper articles, television and radio broadcasts, online sources, conference proceedings, periodicals, and non-classified reports. This information is collected and translated by and for the U.S. Government.
InfoTrac Newsstand This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 1,000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers, and leading titles from around the world. (Does not include The Oregonian).
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full text of national, regional, and international newspapers, business, and legal sources and more.
Provides full text documents from over 6,000 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Includes national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources; U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information; Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789; and Company Dossiers, with business journal articles, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Selected full-text access to hundreds of newspapers, newswires, and radio & TV transcripts.
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 60 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for over 300 regional (U.S.) newspapers. Full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Index of more than 3 million articles from 375 popular and general-interest publications published in the U.S. and Canada (1890-1982).
Comprehensive indexing of the most popular general interest periodicals published in the United States; reflects the history of 20th century America. Current coverage for this database includes the years 1890 through 1982.