Lewis & Clark Libraries: News: Finding Older Articles

Finding Articles in Older Newspapers

African American Newspapers (1827-1998) This link opens in a new window
Full text for approximately 270 U.S. newspapers from 35 states, chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. Includes rare 19th century titles.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Contains both bibliographic records for American newspapers and a substantial collection of digitized newspapers from 23 states, including Oregon. A rich and expanding resource.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1947 to 1996 This link opens in a new window
Created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit policy makers and analysts, FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events translated into English.
Created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit policy makers and analysts, FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Translated into English from more than 50 languages - from Arabic to Swahili - these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary.

Google News Search Archive
Large collection of international newspapers--easier to browse than to search.

Historic Oregon Newspapers This link opens in a new window
On this site you can search and access complete content for historic Oregon newspapers that have been digitized as part of the Oregon Digital Newspaper Program (ODNP). Titles are here http://oregonnews.uoregon.edu/newspapers/.

History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820
An historical guide to newspapers, organized by location.
Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers
Comprising nearly 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929), the newspapers in this collection provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era.

New York Times, Historical This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full text articles, photos, and advertisements in the New York Times from 1851 to the present (1 month delay).
The Historical New York Times provides full text and full image articles for the New York Times dating from 1851 through <3 years ago>. It has digital reproductions of every page of every issue, from cover to cover. The print New York Times Index is available in the Library and is useful for searching for specific topics, since the online version does not assign subject headings to articles.
Oregonian Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Full text archive to The Oregonian, dating from February 4, 1861 to the present.
The Times (London) Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Digital Archive of The Times of London for the years 1785–2019. Printed subject indexes to the Times can help locating relevant articles.
As the "world's newspaper of record," The Times of London has covered major international events from the French Revolution to the War in Iraq. The Times Digital Archive, 1785–2006 makes 221 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th-, 20th-, and early 21st-century history, literature, culture, business, art and architecture, and more. Every complete page of every issue is full-text searchable.

U.S. Newspaper Directory
This directory of newspapers published in the United States since 1690 can help identify what titles exist for a specific place and time, and how to access them.

Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile) This link opens in a new window
Locates 19th century articles from selected American and British magazines. Includes Poole's Index.
The 19th Century Masterfile indexes articles from selected American and British magazines written prior to 1925. It covers history, literature, religion, law and current events from that time period, but it does not provide subject headings or abstracts. It is the 19th century equivalent of the The Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. Watzek Library owns the print version of Poole's Index, but the 19th Century Masterfile also includes online versions of the following print indexes:Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1907 Index to Periodical Literature, Supplements (1882--1907)(Ed. Poole and Fletcher.) Stead's Index to Legal Periodical Literature 1786-1922. (ed. Jones and Chipman) An Alphabetical Subject Index and Index Encyclopedia to Periodical Articles on Religion, 1890-1899. (ed. Ernest Cushing Richardson). The Psychological Index (1894-1905)ALA Index to General Literature (1801-1910)Southern Historical Society Papers (1876-1910)New England Magazine Index (1831-1835)Congressional Record File for the 19th Century

Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals
This outstanding set contains citations to reviews that appeared in more than 450 scholarly journals. Especially excellent for finding academic reviews of history, political science, and sociology books that were published or reviewed between 1886–1974. Available in print only.
Indexed periodicals : a guide to 170 years of coverage in 33 indexing services
Useful for finding index coverage of older periodicals.
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900

Newspaper Index This link opens in a new window
Articles are indexed from the Oregonian, 1851-1979, the Oregon Journal, 1902-1979, plus some other local newspapers, periodicals, and miscellaneous monographs. The subjects pertain to Oregon, Portland, and the Northwest

Newspaper indexes : a location and subject guide for researchers
Valuable for location existing newspaper indexes at the local level.