Research Databases and Guides: A-Z List of Research Databases

The 19th Century Masterfile indexes articles from selected American and British magazines written prior to 1925. It covers history, literature, religion, law and current events from that time period, but it does not provide subject headings or abstracts. It is the 19th century equivalent of the The Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. Watzek Library owns the print version of Poole's Index, but the 19th Century Masterfile also includes online versions of the following print indexes:Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1907 Index to Periodical Literature, Supplements (1882--1907)(Ed. Poole and Fletcher.) Stead's Index to Legal Periodical Literature 1786-1922. (ed. Jones and Chipman) An Alphabetical Subject Index and Index Encyclopedia to Periodical Articles on Religion, 1890-1899. (ed. Ernest Cushing Richardson). The Psychological Index (1894-1905)ALA Index to General Literature (1801-1910)Southern Historical Society Papers (1876-1910)New England Magazine Index (1831-1835)Congressional Record File for the 19th Century

Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.

Academic Search Premier is a comprehensive, scholarly, and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 12,000 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,700 peer-reviewed journals. The database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Many areas of academic study are covered, including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

The site consists of two bibliographic databases covering Africana covering Africana periodical literature (Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database) and African Women's literature (African Women's Database). You will also find a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers and explorers to Africa (Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa: 1763-2004: A Comprehensive English Language Bibliography).

Describes materials acquired by the National Agriculture Library and cooperating institutions. Includes records of books, serials, audiovisual and other materials, from 1970 to the present. Has no full text. Is updated monthly. Subjects include: Agricultural economy, animal science, chemistry, forestry, natural resources, energy, food science, rural sociology, plant diseases, veterinary medicine, agricultural engineering, entomology, insect control, human nutrition, home economics, coop extensions, geography. Updated monthly from over 5,000 sources.

Full-text articles focusing on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.

The electronic editions of local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community. Paid ads are excluded.

The subjects of these broadsides range from contemporary accounts of the Civil War, unusual occurrences and natural disasters to official government proclamations, tax bills and town meeting reports. Featuring many rare items, the pieces of ephemera include clipper ship sailing cards, early trade cards, bill heads, theater and music programs, stock certificates, menus and invitations documenting civic, political and private celebrations. American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I consists of more than 29,000 broadsides and pieces of ephemera.

ANB Online offers lengthy biographical portraits of more than 17,400 prominent American men and women. Includes bibliographies for further research, as well as full text access to The Oxford Companion to United States History. Search by Boolean operators, gender, job classification, and other categories. Updates quarterly.

The American State Papers are a retrospective collection of reports of the U.S. Congress, along with Executive Department publications, from 1789-1838. About two-thirds of this collection covers the first 14 Congresses (1789-1817); the remaining third overlaps with the coverage of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1838).

Offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Volumes are published each year for 46 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics.

Combines two powerful databases, Anthropological Index (AI), produced by UK's Royal Anthropological Institute, and Anthropological Literature (AL) from Harvard. It offers worldwide coverage of core periodicals in social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology; archaeology; folklore; material culture; and interdisciplinary studies--spanning the late 19th century to the present. This umbrella database consolidates two of the strongest resources in anthropological research, providing researchers with the broadest coverage available in one database. Only 10 simultaneous users for all Summit libraries, so if you have trouble accessing this, try back another time.

* A complete electronic archive of all AAA journals. Coverage varies, but many journals are covered from their beginnings to the present. * Seamless access to archival content housed at JSTOR for key AAA publications including American Anthropologist (for AAA members and subscribing institutions) * Current issues for 11 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, Anthropology and Humanism, Archaeological Publications of the American Anthropological Association, Cultural Anthropology, Ethos, Journal of Linguistic Anthropology, Medical Anthropology Quarterly, NAPA Bulletin and PoLAR: The Political and Legal Anthropology Review.

PsycINFO is a bibliographic database of scholarly literature from a variety of publishers, covering over 2,500 journals in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences; coverage includes journals, books, book chapters, reviews, and dissertations. PsycARTICLES provides fulltext coverage of journals published by APA, Canadian Psychological Association, Hogrefe Publishing Group, and the Educational Publishing Foundation. PsycTHERAPY is a database of streaming psychotherapy demonstrations featuring some of the most renowned therapists in North America working with participants on a host of therapeutic topics.

With billions of records, ARC describes about half of the holdings in the National Archives. Some additional archival materials -- such as architectural and engineering drawings items, maps and charts, and still pictures -- have been digitized and are available through ARC.

ArchiveGrid provides online access to nearly a million descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. Includes access to collections held by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, the Art Institute of Chicago, Smithsonian Institution - Archives of American Art, New York Public Library, and many more: listed on their homepage.

Collections include:
*19th Century English-Language Journals from the Far East
*American Indian Movement and Radicalism
*Black Liberation Army and the Program of Armed Struggle, 1970-1980
*Chinese Civil War and U.S.-China Relations: Records of the U.S. State Department’s Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955
*Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama
*Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons
*Czechoslovakia from Liberation to Communist State, 1945-63: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files
*Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
*Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents
*Foreign Relations Between the U.S. and Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944
*Foreign Relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944
*Hindu Conspiracy Cases: Activities of the Indian Independence Movement in the U.S., 1908-1933
*Indian Army and Colonial Warfare on the Frontiers of India, 1914-1920
*Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Japan
*Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life
*Occupation and Independence: The Austrian Second Republic, 1945-1963
*Patriotes aux Armes! (Patriots to Arms!): The Underground Resistance in France, Belgium, Holland, and Italy, 1939-1945
*Personal Justice Denied: Public Hearings of the Commission on Wartime Relocation and Internment, 1981
*Political Relations and Conflict between Republican China and Imperial Japan, 1930-1939: Records of the U.S. State Department
*Political, Economic, and Military Conditions in China: Reports and Correspondence of the U.S. Military Intelligence Division, 1918-1941
*Politics, Social Activism and Community Support: Selected Gay and Lesbian Periodicals and Newsletters
*Socialism and National Unity in Yugoslavia, 1945-63: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files
*World War I and Revolution in Russia, 1914-1918
*World War II, Occupation, and the Civil War in Greece, 1940-1949: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files

Full-text articles from 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, indexing and abstracting of 600 periodicals dating back to 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of 13,000 art dissertations. Indexing of 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.

Art Index Retrospective cites articles from more than 420 periodicals. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch. In addition to articles, Art Index Retrospective indexes reproductions of works of art.

At present, ARTFL's main corpus, ARTFL-FRANTEXT, consists of nearly 3,000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy. In most cases standard scholarly editions were used in converting the text into machine-readable form, and the data contain page references to these editions. The FRANTEXT corpus is updated as new high-quality digital texts become available.

Indexes journal articles in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. Covers over 16,000 sources, updates daily.

The ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is a comprehensive database designed to support religious and theological scholarship in graduate education and faculty research. The database contains citations from international titles and over 16,000 multi-author works in and related to the field of religion. It also includes a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, book reviews, and Doctor of Ministry projects from ATLA's print indexes: Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), Biblical Studies and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR). Though coverage is from 1908 to the present, not all publications begin in 1949. Semiannual Updates.

BHA is a free database that encompasses two databases, the BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art) and RILA (Rpertoire de la litterature de l'art). BHA covers the years 1990-2007; the Getty Web version includes all records with abstracts in French or English and all subject terms in French and English. RILA covers the years 19751989.

Life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Content from journals, meetings, patents, and books covering 1980-present.

Combines all of the content formerly found in Business & Company Resource Center with a new interface designed around the research goals and workflows of your diverse business research community. Easily find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.

Business Source Premier provides full text for more than 2,300 scholarly business journals and many other sources, including full text for nearly 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. Expanded indexing and abstract backfiles are included for the top scholarly business journals, dating back to 1965 or the first issue published (whichever is more recent).

CiNii (Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator)enables searching of information on academic papers published in academic society journals or university research bulletins, or included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database. More information is here:http://ci.nii.ac.jp/cinii/en/pages/cinii-db.html

Combining the content of 2 databases: CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University), Communication and Mass Media Complete offers cover-to-cover 'core' indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected 'priority' coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals. Some titles are indexed back as far as 1915.

This database provides full text for more than 300 publications, covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. It offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.

Each 12,000 word weekly report provides an in-depth news and analysis of a single contemporary issue: social, political, international. Provides an overview, historical background, a chronology of important events related to the issue, pros and cons from experts, maps/graphs, bibliographies, and lists of organizations that can be contacted for further information.

From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this collection now contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Libraries possessing this collection find they are able to fulfill the most exhaustive research requirements of scholars in many subject areas, including: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.

Approximately 60,000 ebooks in 16 key subject areas economics, computers & IT, education, history, political science, literature, international relations, physical sciences, psychology, religion, philosophy, sociology, anthropology, and more.

EBSCOHost connects to Academic Search Premier, Business Source Elite, MasterFILE Premier, Newspaper Source, ERIC, Professional Development Collection, Health Source, and Regional Business News.

Electronic Collections Online from FirstSearch provides indexing for and limited full text access to over 5,000 scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines. Dates vary by title.

Included content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education. Majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database.

Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

For over 50 years the Forest History Society (FHS) has monitored the world of publishing for items written as history and dealing with the utilization, management, and appreciation of forest-related resources. Originally the information was kept on index cards, then in 1977 was published in North American Forest and Conservation History: A Bibliography by Ronald J. Fahl (Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO Press, 1977). Since the early 1980s FHS has maintained the bibliography in a computer database, which is continually updated and searchable on our web site.

Ebsco's ERIC can be searched in combination with Education Research Complete and Educational Administration Abstracts. The ERIC Collection, began in 1966, contains records for a variety of publication types, including: journal articles books research syntheses conference papers technical reports dissertations policy papers, and other education-related materials

Created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit policy makers and analysts, FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Translated into English from more than 50 languages - from Arabic to Swahili - these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary.

Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available.

More than 6,300 full-text titles (over 11,000 titles in all). Full indexing of world newspapers. Over 400 newspaper services covering worldwide current events.

GeoRef provides access to articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses, covering the geology of North America from 1785 to the present; and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to present. GeoRef through COS includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities are also covered.

This database is the definitive cross-cultural resource for information on women's history. It spans more than four centuries and 15 languages and includes over two million pages in full image. Users can trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of that country's feminist movement on other countries and their movements. The Gerritsen Collection also provides immediate access to many primary sources from around the world that were previously available only in a limited number of rare book rooms. Aletta Jacobs was a Dutch physician and feminist who, along with her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting information on women's issues in the late 1800s. Overall, she acquired more than 4,700 publications from the U.S., the U.K., Canada, New Zealand, and continental Europe. This collection was first available on microform. Now the microform had been digitized to provide more than two million page images that accurately reproduce the original printed works online.

Consists of records published by the GPO since July 1976, including references to congressional committee reports and hearings, debates, documents from executive departments, and more.

Indexes scholarly and general interest titles, government documents and reports. Focuses on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Draws on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Includes almost 300,000 records, some full text and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles.

According the publisher GREENR is "a new online resource that offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more...GREENR allows users to navigate issue, organization and country portals. A one-stop site, this resource provides news, video, primary source documents and more in highly accessible research areas covering relevant categories such as energy systems, healthcare, food and others."

Health Source: Consumer Edition provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 600 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. Some full text goes back to 1975.

Combines ProQuest's Genealogy & Local History Online, a collection of over 25,000 family and local histories, and content from HeritageQuest, the largest genealogical data, products, supplies and equipment provider to consumers and institutions in the United States.

The HSDL collection provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies. The resources are reviewed and selected by a team of homeland security researchers and organized in a unique homeland security taxonomy.

Ingenta contains citations to articles from over 21 million articles in 31,000 publications. Searchable by keyword, title words, or journal name. Browse journal titles to see contents of particular issues. Provides access to full text of articles for a fee. L&C students and staff may have access to full text through the Library's Journal Title Index or may use the Library's Interlibrary loan service.

Collections owned by Watzek Library: Arts & Sciences I - IX, Jewish Studies, and Biological Sciences. The JSTOR collections contain the full text of several hundred scholarly journals, from their earliest issues up to 3-5 years ago. A wide range of subjects are covered in the arts and sciences, including language and literature, ecology, history, political science, mathematics, anthropology, sociology and philosophy. Through a partnership with ARTstor, JSTOR also can run a concurrent search for images, separating results into "Articles," "Images from Articles," and "ARTstor Images."

Centered on the discipline of law and legal topics, Legal Collection is a collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. This database is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. Legal Collection offers full text for more than 300 of the world۪s best law journals. Full text journals contained in this database include: American Journal of Criminal Law, California Law Review, and many more. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1965.

Provides full text documents from over 6,000 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Includes national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources; U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information; Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789; and Company Dossiers, with business journal articles, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.

Subjects include automation, cataloging, censorship, circulation procedures, classification, copyright legislation, government aid, library associations and conferences, library equipment and supplies, personnel administration, preservation of materials, and more. Coverage reaches as far back as 1980.

The 10 individual Gale series that comprise Literature Criticism Online represent a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres:

Contemporary Literary Criticism provides brief reviews, interviews, and criticism often around the time of publication.

Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism presents substantial excerpts from the best criticism on the major literary figures and nonfiction writers of 1900 to 1999.

Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism presents overviews of f authors of 1800 through 1899 with chronologically arranged criticism representing the entire range of response to each author. Shakespeare Criticism This comprehensive survey of the Bard includes general and specific critical interpretations from the 17th century to the present.

Literature Criticism 1400-1800 This authoritative resource on the greatest writers of the late Middle Ages, the Renaissance and the Restoration eras fulfills a need for information on historical periods, literary trends and topics, and the achievements of noteworthy individuals.

Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism excerpts criticism on the works of philosophers, poets and playwrights, political leaders, scientists and writers from other genres. Poetry Criticism Support students and enhance the understanding of poetry lovers with this collection of biographical sketches, author portraits, primary bibliographies and much more.

Short Story Criticism deliver a historical survey of the critical response.

Drama Criticism For each play or playwright featured, a full range of critical opinion is presented, along with a biographical sketch, a chronological list of the writer's major works and more.

Children's Literature Review From Louisa May Alcott to Judy Blume, the most popular and influential authors of the genre are assessed through criticism of their major works.

This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,700 periodicals dating as far back as 1975 and covering all subject areas of general interest. Includes book reviews, biographical materials, and a variety of reference sources.

MathSciNet provides web access to the citations and reviews of mathematical research literature contained in the Mathematical Reviews Database. The Mathematical Reviews Database is the database of bibliographic information and reviews created and maintained by the American Mathematical Society. It continues the tradition and extends the scope of the work begun by the paper publication Mathematical Reviews in 1940. Journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics research are covered. The Mathematical Reviews Database is published in a variety of formats, including MathSciNet, the monthly Mathematical Reviews, and the 17 issue/year Current Mathematical Publications.

National Library of Medicine's database covering the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Many records include abstracts.

"Mental Measurements Yearbook produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. First published by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. MMY via EBSCOhost now includes the MMY Archive providing all yearbooks from the first edition in 1938, through the 18th yearbook released in 2010 raising the total number of full text reviews available on the product to over 7,000." "Also produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s)."

The Modern Language Association's bibliographic index of literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from journals and series published worldwide. It indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. It contains in each record a bibliographic citation for a journal article, book, or other item including information about the libraries that own the library resources. It now includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals, which provides full information on more than 4,000 journals and series in the MLA International Bibliography Master List of Periodicals. The Directory of Periodicals includes many of the periodicals that are indexed in the MLA International Bibliography database. The electronic Directory of Periodicals is updated every six months.

Music Online allows users cross search all of the music databases published by Alexander Street Press. Music Online brings together on a single cross-searchable platform the entire suite of Alexander Street Press music products that your institution subscribes to. Music Online can potentially cross-search any combination of these databases: African American Music Reference American Song Classical Music Library Classical Music Reference Library Classical Scores Library Contemporary World Music Dance in Video The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online Jazz Music Library Opera in Video Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries

NUCMC lists archival and manuscript collections in repositories across the U.S. Also contains links to other archival sites of interest. The Watzek Library also has print editions that cover pre-1986 in the stacks that contain records for archives added to the catalog before 1986: National union catalog of manuscript collections

Includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo, and Dacapo catalogues, with almost nine hundred labels represented in total. The library currently contains more than 2 million tracks. See separate Jazz and World databases for additional coverage.

An important research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu. The database contains more than 33,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 12,600 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts. Each year an additional 2,150 articles from more than 500 periodicals in numerous languages are selected for inclusion. In addition, nearly 850 current books are also summarized annually. Article coverage in the database dates back to 1985.

The Historical New York Times provides full text and full image articles for the New York Times dating from 1851 through <3 years ago>. It has digital reproductions of every page of every issue, from cover to cover. The print New York Times Index is available in the Library and is useful for searching for specific topics, since the online version does not assign subject headings to articles.

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 60 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for over 300 regional (U.S.) newspapers. Full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.

19th Century Collections Online is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on archival collections of primary sources providing full-text, fully searchable content. The collection includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more in both Western and non-Western languages.

The database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Abstracts from over 450 journals are included. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more. Coverage in the database dates back to 1978.

The Oregon Index selectively indexes several Oregon newspapers and other publications with articles about Oregon. No full text is provided.

This resource contains recent articles from The Oregonian, the major daily newspaper in Portland, Oregon. It includes staff written news features, special interest stories, editorials, daily columns, letters to the editor, visual and performing arts reviews, and sports reports. Some obituaries are included. It does not include classified ads, photos, or advertisements.

OBO is a library of discipline-based subject modules. In each subject module, leading scholars have produced an annotated guide to the most important and significant sources in an area of study they know best.

Provides access to individual papers presented at conferences worldwide. A major research and covering every congress, symposium, exposition, workshop, and meeting added to The British Library Document Supply Centre's vast proceedings collection since October 1993. Papers First is a companion index to Proceedings First.

The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.

Included in each record is the polling organization that conducted the work, the date the interviews were conducted, the release date of the information, the sample size and the universe. The pollsters included in the database are: US polling organizations e.g., Harris International, The Pew Center Universities e.g., Rice University, University of Maryland Newspapers e.g., New York Times, Los Angeles Times Television news organizations e.g., CBS, NBS, Fox, CNN International polling organizations e.g., Eurobarometer Special interest groups e.g., Boy Scouts, AFL-CIO Each of the 500,000 records reports a question asked and the responses given.

Praeger Security International Online (PSIO) is a one-stop source for information on terrorism and security, covering regional security, humanitarian and peace operations, weapons of mass destruction, armed forces, intelligence, military history, defense and national security, and military affairs.

Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre. Contains in each record a list of the papers presented at each conference and Compliments the database called Papers First.

This collection offers information on everything from children_s health and development to cutting-edge pedagogical theory and practice. Professional Development Collection, designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of over 500 full text journals, including more than 300 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for nearly 800 journals. Examples of titles offered in Professional Development Collection include: Booklist, Curriculum Administrator, Education, Education Digest, Educational Leadership, High School Journal, Journal of Education, Journal of Educational Research, Journal of Learning Disabilities, Phi Delta Kappan, Reading Teacher, School Library Journal, and many others. The majority of full text titles included in the database are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in the Professional Development Collection dates as far back as 1965.

A unique collaboration between libraries and the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, providing 100% full-text, online access to over 400 titles from prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.

Provides full text of Congressional hearings, bills, public laws, committee prints,Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U. S. Code, and more. Indexes and abstracts Congressional publications from 1970 on.

Covering the following topics:
Anthropology
Emotional & Behavioral Characteristics
Mental Processes
Observational & Experimental Methods
Psychiatry & Psychology

Back-file for some titles going back to the 1960s.
Child & Adolescent Psychology
Counseling.

Gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time. Coverage of articles from 1980-present.

RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) is a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 58 countries and 35 U.S. states to enhance the dissemination of research in economics. The heart of the project is a decentralized database of working papers, journal articles and software components. Some RePEc material is freely available, but RePEc does not contain full-text journal articles; article links require subscription access. RePEc collaborates with EconLit to provide content from leading universities' working paper series to EconLit.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is a comprehensive, ongoing guide to publications on music from all over the world, is an indispensable tool for scholars, students, librarians, performers, teachers, and music lovers. It provides broad yet detailed coverage and facilitates both focused research and browsing for readers of all levels. From hip hop to Handel, from ethnomusicology to music therapy, from elementary music education to advanced music theory, RILM is the first stop for the researcher who wants clear, verified bibliographic information, fully cited, abstracted, and indexed.

See: Your RSC subcriptions for a list of titles with full text.

Historical maps from the Sanborn fire insurance map company from 1867 to 1970 that show details of buildings (including construction materials, use of buildings, and name of owners), streets, lot lines, and neighborhood infrastructure like roads and water mains are included. Because the maps were published at different times, each one shows a snapshot of the neighborhood in a different historical era. Maps of hundreds of Oregon, Washington, and California towns and cities are included.

Access to a variety of databases, including the Smithsonian library catalogs, the Freer Gallery of Art Catalog, the Manuscripts & Photographic Collections Catalog, and the national Inventory of American Painting and Sculpture databases.

Theatre in Video currently contains more than 250 performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all. Hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Included are landmark performances such as The Iceman Cometh, Medea, Awake and Sing, Long Day's Journey Into Night, and Playboy of the Western World. Notable actors include Gene Wilder, Laurence Olivier, Richard Dreyfuss, Walter Matthau, Meryl Streep, Anthony Hopkins, Helen Mirren and more.

Founded in 1972 the TLG represents the first effort in the Humanities to produce a large digital corpus of literary texts. Since its inception the project has collected and digitized most texts written in Greek from Homer (8 c. B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453 and beyond. TLG research activities combine the traditional methodologies of philological and literary study with the most advanced features of information technology.

As the "world's newspaper of record," The Times of London has covered major international events from the French Revolution to the War in Iraq. The Times Digital Archive, 1785–2006 makes 221 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th-, 20th-, and early 21st-century history, literature, culture, business, art and architecture, and more. Every complete page of every issue is full-text searchable.

The bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives constitute a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history. Upon completion, the digital version of the Serial Set will consist of approximately 13,800 volumes and over 12 million pages.



Now available: 15th Congress - 62nd Congress, 2nd Session, 1817 - 1912 U.S. Congressional Serial Set Vols. 1 - 6280 Last Update: April 20, 2007

This resource has a large bibliographic database of records describing serials published throughout the world. Ulrich's covers academic and scholarly journals, popular magazines, newspapers, and more.

Provides access to more than 135 million bibliographic records from library holdings around the world. All types of materials are listed, including books, sound recordings, musical scores, visual materials, and web resources. Includes some journal articles.