Skip to main content

Core: Words and Numbers: Home

Welcome!

Locate course guides for individual sections of LC's first-year seminars, below.

Watzek Library has a personal librarian program that corresponds to first-year seminar assignments, listed below. Your personal librarian is an excellent person to contact with any questions about research or using the library. When you eventually declare a major, you will likely to get to know the librarian who is the specialist for that subject.

Personal Librarians for Words Sections

Faculty Name of class Librarian Librarian email
Bernstein Death and the Afterlife E.J. Carter ecarter@lclark.edu
Cole The Greatest American Novels: 2010-2019

Erica Jensen

ejensen@lclark.edu
David Memory as Representation Erica Jensen ejensen@lclark.edu
Dede This American Language Jim Bunnelle bunnelle@lclark.edu
Fujie The Space Between: Writing Across Difference in American Literature

Erica Jensen

ejensen@lclark.edu
Gilbert Protest, Politics, & Putin E.J. Carter ecarter@lclark.edu
Healy "The War to End All Wars" Elaine Hirsch elaineghirsch@lclark.edu
Mandel The Art of War E.J. Carter ecarter@lclark.edu
Mirabile Suspense/Horror/Paranoia

Elaine Hirsch

elaineghirsch@lclark.edu
Morrill Death and the Afterlife E.J. Carter ecarter@lclark.edu
Pritchard Fictions of Identity

Erica Jensen

ejensen@lclark.edu
Sweek Curiosity and the Vindictive Divine Jim Bunnelle bunnelle@lclark.edu


 

Personal Librarians for Numbers Sections

Faculty Name of class Librarian Librarian email
Allen Space, Time, Spacetime Jeremy McWilliams jeremym@lclark.edu
Drake Measuring Up Jeremy McWilliams jeremym@lclark.edu
Galaty Space, Time, Spacetime Parvaneh Abbaspour parvaneh@lclark.edu
Jones Food for Thought Parvaneh Abbaspour parvaneh@lclark.edu
Martinez How to Build a Moral Machine Mark Dahl dahl@lclark.edu
Scroggs Politicans Lie, Numbers Can Mislead Mark Dahl dahl@lclark.edu
Seljan Election Science Mark Dahl dahl@lclark.edu
Stanhope Measuring Up Jeremy McWilliams jeremym@lclark.edu
Tufte What do numbers sound like? Parvaneh Abbaspour parvaneh@lclark.edu