About Scholarly Encyclopedias
Use scholarly encyclopedias to discover:
1. Discipline-specific context written and reviewed by experts.
2. Important scholars/ works in the field.
3. Theoretical background.
4. Definitions of concepts/ terms.
Alcohol and Drug Use-Encyclopedias
- Alcohol and drugs in North America : a historical encyclopediaContains histories of temperance movements in Canada and the United States; trends in alcohol consumption, its production, and its role in the economy; as well as alcohol's and drugs' roles in shaping national discourse, the creation of organizations for treatment and study, and legal responses.
- Alcohol in popular culture an encyclopediaPresents the many sides of America's ongoing relationship with alcohol, examining the political history, pivotal events, popular culture, and advances in technology that have affected its consumption.
- Encyclopedia of drugs, alcohol & addictive behaviorExplores the social, medical, legal and political issues related to drugs and alcohol and associated behaviors. Includes emerging topics and developments in the many fields of addiction studies.
Native American and First Nations-Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of North American IndiansProvides entries on many facets of Native American life and civilization, including languages.
- Native America in the twentieth century : an encyclopediaUseful in presenting overviews of subjects of current concern, like casino ownership and fishing rights, in addition to offering sociological entries on such topics as alcohol abuse and image.
