About Scholarly Encyclopedias
Reasons to use scholarly encyclopedias:
- To discover discipline-specific theories and context that is written by experts.
- To quickly identify the most important works on a topic.
- To save time.
Guides to Research
- Classical Studies: A Guide to the Reference LiteratureOffers an annotated bibliography of book-length reference works, covering the rise and fall of the Greek and Roman civilisations from the Bronze Age through to the 6th century AD.
Classical Studies Encyclopedias and Dictionaries (online)
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowContains many specialized Classical Studies encyclopedias.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Bibliographies in Classics provides students and scholars with a reliable and authoritative solution to the problem of information overload.
- Oxford encyclopedia of ancient Greece and RomeMore accessible than the New Pauly, this set provides articles written by leading scholars in the field, that convey the significance of the people, places, and historical events of classical antiquity, together with its intellectual and material culture
Classical Studies Encyclopedias and Dictionaries (print)
- Arts & humanities through the erasThrough the presentation of nine different arts and humanities topics, such as architecture and design, literature, religion, and visual arts, this volume describes the cultures of ancient Greece and Rome, from 1200 B.C.E. to 476 C.E.
- Brill's New Pauly- Encyclopaedia of the Ancient WorldThe unrivaled reference work for the ancient world.
- Encyclopedia of Ancient HistoryThis ambitious 13-volume reference work is a comprehensive print and electronic resource for the history of the ancient world. It covers the entire Mediterranean world – including the Near East and Egypt – and spans the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE.
- Classical TraditionSome five hundred articles by a wide range of scholars investigate the afterlife of this rich heritage in the fields of literature, philosophy, art, architecture, history, politics, religion, and science.
