Databases and Ebooks
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowLiterature, language, linguistics, folklore.
- Handbook of LinguisticsPublished in 2003 by Blackwell. An ideal resource for learning about the subject and its sub-disciplines.
Web Resources
- Linguistic Society of AmericaLSA plays a critical role in supporting and disseminating linguistic scholarship to professional linguists and to the general public. The site's "Resource Hub" is restricted to LSA subscribers.
- CHILDES (Child Language Data Exchange System)The child language component of the TalkBank system. Contains transcript and media data collected from conversations with adults and older children. See site's "Database" section.
- GlottopediaA comprehensive free-content wiki encyclopedia of linguistics that any linguist can contribute to. Content curated by trained linguists.
- Live Lingua ProjectA large collection of free public domain language learning materials. LLP hosts thousands of free ebooks, audios and videos for over 130 languages from around the world.
- WALS Online (World Atlas of Language Structures)The World Atlas of Language Structures (WALS) is a large database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials by a team of 55 authors. The first version of WALS was published as a book with CD-ROM in 2005 by Oxford University Press. WALS Online is a publication of the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology. A downloadable interactive version is available at this page, near the bottom.
- #LancsBox#LancsBox is a software package for the analysis of language data and corpora developed at Lancaster University. Analyses data in any language and automatically annotates data for part-of-speech. Software works with any major operating system.
- American Association for Applied Linguistics (AAAL)A professional organization of scholars promoting principled approaches to language-related concerns, including language education, acquisition and loss, bilingualism, discourse analysis, literacy, rhetoric and stylistics, language for special purposes, psycholinguistics, second and foreign language pedagogy, language assessment, and language policy and planning.
- Audio LinguaA collaborative bank of authentic audio resources, recorded by native speakers. Created at the Académie of Versailles, it offers more than 7,900 mp3 resources in 14 languages (4 regional languages) in order to practice oral comprehension skills.
- Language LogA blog by Mark Liberman and Geoffrey Pullum. It started in 2003 at the University of Pennsylvania's Institute for Research in Cognitive Science. Older content, from between 7/28/2003 and 4/6/2008, can be found here: http://languagelog.ldc.upenn.edu/~myl/languagelog/
- All Things LinguisticA blog by Gretchen McCulloch.
Interactive IPA Tools
IPA is a phonetic notation system that uses a set of symbols to represent each distinct sound that exists in human spoken language. It encompasses all languages spoken on earth. The system was created in 1886 and was last updated in 2005. It consists of 107 letters, 52 diacritics, and four prosodic marks.
- IPA Chart from University of VictoriaA clickable chart with audio samples hosted by the University of Victoria.
- IPA Chart from International Phonetic Alphabet.orgA clickable chart with audio samples from www.internationalphoneticalphabet.org
