Primary Source Collections
- Seventeen Moments in Soviet HistoryA multi-media archive of primary materials designed to introduce students and the general public to the richness and contradictions of Soviet history.
- World War I and Revolution in Russia, 1914-1918: Records of the British Foreign Office This link opens in a new windowThis collection documents the Russian entrance into World War I and culminates in reporting on the Revolution in Russia in 1917 and 1918. The documents consist primarily of correspondence between the British Foreign Office, various British missions and consulates in the Russian Empire and the Tsarist government and later the Provisional Government.
- Documents of Soviet History (print)Nine volume print collection of carefully chosen, full-text documents covering all major aspects of Soviet national life from the Bolshevik revolution through World War II.
- Wilson Center Digital ArchiveRich primary source collections on German reunification and the Berlin Wall, among other topics.
- Harvard Project on the Soviet Social SystemThe digital collection consists chiefly of summary transcripts of 705 interviews conducted with refugees from the USSR during the early years of the Cold War. A unique source for the study of Soviet society between 1917 and the mid-1940s, the HPSSS includes vast amounts of one-of-a-kind data on political, economic, social and cultural conditions.
- Stalinka: Digital Library of StalianaThe online collection comprises visual images of photographs, posters, paintings, banners, sculptures, chinaware, pins, etc. relating to Stalin/ism.
- EuroDocs This link opens in a new windowMaintained by the European Studies Bibliographer at BYU, EuroDocs links to primary historical documents from Western Europe and hopes to shed light on key historical happenings.
- Europeana This link opens in a new windowEuropeana links to over 4.6 million digital items from European museums and galleries, archives, libraries and audio-visual collections.
Newspapers
- Current Digest of the Soviet PressPrint collection of translated Soviet news articles.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1947 to 1996 This link opens in a new windowCreated by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit policy makers and analysts, FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events translated into English.
- Historical New York Times This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage of the New York Times from 1851 to the present (1 month delay).
- The Times (London) Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowDigital Archive of The Times of London for the years 1785–2019. Printed subject indexes to the Times can help locating relevant articles.