Research materials for tracing family history and American culture. Includes Census images for 1790-1940.
Combines ProQuest's Genealogy & Local History Online, a collection of over 25,000 family and local histories, and content from HeritageQuest, the largest genealogical data, products, supplies and equipment provider to consumers and institutions in the United States.
Access to the Oregonian from 1987-present through the Multnomah County Public Library.
This resource contains recent articles from The Oregonian, the major daily newspaper in Portland, Oregon. It includes staff written news features, special interest stories, editorials, daily columns, letters to the editor, visual and performing arts reviews, and sports reports. Some obituaries are included. It does not include classified ads, photos, or advertisements.
search and access complete content for historic Oregon newspapers that have been digitized as part of the Oregon Digital Newspaper Program (ODNP). This full-text searchable database contains over 900,000 pages from Oregon newspapers dated 1846 - 2017, with new titles being continually updated.
Historical maps from the Sanborn fire insurance map company from 1867 to 1970 that show details of buildings and urban infrastructure.
Historical maps from the Sanborn fire insurance map company from 1867 to 1970 that show details of buildings (including construction materials, use of buildings, and name of owners), streets, lot lines, and neighborhood infrastructure like roads and water mains are included. Because the maps were published at different times, each one shows a snapshot of the neighborhood in a different historical era. Maps of hundreds of Oregon, Washington, and California towns and cities are included.