Loverti WLL 140 Fall 2025: Databases

The Modern Language Association's bibliographic index of literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from journals and series published worldwide. It indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. It contains in each record a bibliographic citation for a journal article, book, or other item including information about the libraries that own the library resources. It now includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals, which provides full information on more than 4,000 journals and series in the MLA International Bibliography Master List of Periodicals. The Directory of Periodicals includes many of the periodicals that are indexed in the MLA International Bibliography database. The electronic Directory of Periodicals is updated every six months.

Combining the content of 2 databases: CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University), Communication and Mass Media Complete offers cover-to-cover 'core' indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected 'priority' coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals. Some titles are indexed back as far as 1915.

Full-text articles from 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, indexing and abstracting of 600 periodicals dating back to 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of 13,000 art dissertations. Indexing of 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.

Collections owned by Watzek Library: Arts & Sciences I - IX, Jewish Studies, and Biological Sciences. The JSTOR collections contain the full text of several hundred scholarly journals, from their earliest issues up to 3-5 years ago. A wide range of subjects are covered in the arts and sciences, including language and literature, ecology, history, political science, mathematics, anthropology, sociology and philosophy. Through a partnership with ARTstor, JSTOR also can run a concurrent search for images, separating results into "Articles," "Images from Articles," and "ARTstor Images."

Academic Search Premier is a comprehensive, scholarly, and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 12,000 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,700 peer-reviewed journals. The database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Many areas of academic study are covered, including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

A unique collaboration between libraries and the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, providing 100% full-text, online access to over 400 titles from prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.