Please see our Coronavirus Response Site for the latest Boley Law Library information related to the COVID-19 pandemic. This includes any changes to building hours, borrowing, and ways you can receive support.
The Law Library and Wood Hall buildings will be closed December 19 through January 10. There will be limited services beginning Jan. 4. We reopen in full on Jan. 19.
Volume 23, Issue 3 of the Lewis & Clark Law Review features a Marijuana Symposium that includes articles on the origins of prohibition, federalism, insurance, zoning, and other issues implicated by reform.
This treatise explores and discusses the areas of law implicated by state marijuana legalization, from employment issues (our particular niche) to contracts, from real estate concerns to tax issues, from banking to product liability, and beyond.
Concise yet comprehensive text that provides an overview of marijuana law. It discusses important issues pertaining to public policy, legal history, constitutional law, criminal law, and jurisprudence, as well as practical legal issues that concern both marijuana-related businesses and individuals, in areas such as banking, employment, tax, bankruptcy, and child custody. The text provides in-depth coverage of federal laws governing marijuana, along with an overview of international, state, and local laws relating to marijuana regulation. It also provides an overview of arguments for and against medical and/or recreational legalization, as well as an analysis of how marijuana compares to other potentially harmful substances, both legal and illegal.
The debate over the legalization of both medical and recreational marijuana is raging across the United States. Some states have opted to legalize or decriminalize the drug despite federal laws that ban its manufacture, distribution, and possession. Legalizing Marijuana is a collection of articles that examines different aspects of marijuana legalization in the US, an area that is constantly changing and evolving. Each article is written by an expert in the field, chosen from both academics and practitioners, who provide a distinct perspective on the legalization debate.
The first group of articles provides readers with a background of drug policy in the US and other nations. The second group of articles focuses on the state-wide political campaigns and media coverage associated with the push to change laws. The third group of articles examines the response of the criminal justice system to legalized marijuana. This includes articles on law enforcement agencies, court responses, and the effects of the new policies on corrections systems. Finally, some policy perspectives are provided on the impact of marijuana legalization on college campuses and businesses in those states that allow it. The articles are thought provoking and informative, and can serve as a basis for debate and discussion on many aspects of marijuana legalization.
More states continue to legalize marijuana for both medical and recreational use. This trend toward legalized marijuana poses new problems and concerns for individuals and governments alike. More on Legalizing Marijuana presents research by ten experts that examines issues surrounding marijuana legalization and use. The first section of chapters examines the increased social acceptance of marijuana use and legalization, and the effect that has on communities. Another area of focus is what impact the acceptance of marijuana use has on voting patterns. The second group of chapters focuses on the political influences surrounding legalization. The impact of presidential rhetoric and speeches about marijuana is the topic of one study, whereas another focuses on interest group activity. Two articles take a more critical look at marijuana legalization and how it benefits certain groups over others. The third section of the book contains a set of chapters that review public policies regarding legalization and the unintended consequences of these new laws.
More and more states are legalizing marijuana in some form. Moreover, a majority of the U.S. population is in favor of the drug for recreational use. In the Weeds looks at how our society has become more permissive in the past 150 years--even though marijuana is still considered a Schedule I drug by the American government. Sociologists Clayton Mosher and Scott Akins take a deep dive into marijuana policy reform, looking at the incremental developments and the historical, legal, social, and political implications of these changes. They investigate the effects, medicinal applications, and possible harms of marijuana. In the Weeds also considers arguments that youth will be heavy users of legalized cannabis, and shows how "weed" is demonized by exaggerations of the drug's risks and claims of its lack of medicinal value. Mosher and Akins end their timely and insightful book by tracing the distinct paths to the legalization of recreational marijuana in the United States and other countries as well as discussing what the future of marijuana law holds.
Joint Tenancies remains the only work inviting careful thought about the commercial landlord's riskand reward scenarios in leasing to marijuana businesses. The book gives the prospective tenant a valuable background in how to coordinate with potential landlords to address concerns about the occupancy of these businesses.This book is not intended as legal advice it instead seeks to teach readers about issues to take to heart in the Cannabis industry real estate leasing process.