Introduction
Public international law is sometimes called “the law of nations” because it governs the relationships among national governments and international organizations. Topics include environmental, trade, and human rights issues. Private international law governs the choice of law that applies when there are conflicts between individual parties in different countries. Topics include contracts, marriage and divorce, and jurisdiction. Foreign law involves the national law of a sovereign nation, such as French law. Comparative law studies the differences and similarities between the laws of different countries or legal system.
Basic Tools: Encyclopedia and Dictionaries
Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law by Call Number: Reference KZ1161 .P37 2009Extensive entries define and explain terms and concepts. Also includes citations and references to cases, books and articles.
International Law: a Dictionary by Call Number: Reference KZ1161 .B63 2005
Meta Sites
- Legal Research on International Law Issues Using the Internet (University of Chicago)Older site, but still a useful resource.
- WorldLII International Law LibrarySearchable free database of treaties, decisions, and law journals.
Abbreviations and Citations: Deciphering and Style Guides
- Prince’s Bieber Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations (6th ed. 2009).The most comprehensive abbreviation dictionary: search by abbreviation or full title.
Law Reference Desk KF246 .P75 2009; older edition online via LexisNexis. - Cardiff Index to Legal AbbreviationsThe best free online source, this site primarily covers law reports and law periodicals in English, but major foreign language law publications are also included.
- Index to Legal Citations and Abbreviations (3d ed. 2008)Especially helpful with European abbreviations.
Law Reference Desk KD400 .R35 2008 - International Citation Manual by Washington University Global Law Studies ReviewFree and online, this site covers abbreviations and citations for countries that are often not included in other tools.
- Guide to Foreign and International Legal Citations (2d ed. 2009)Created by the NYU Journal of International Law and Politics.
Law Reference Desk K89 .G85 2009
Bluebook Resources
The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation, 20th ed. (2015). Reserve KF245 .B58 2015
The rules provide citation suggestions for foreign and international materials, with specific examples found in the Tables:
- Rule 20: Foreign Materials
- Rule 21: International Materials
- T.2: Foreign Jurisdictions
- T.3: Intergovernmental Organizations
- T.4: Treaty Sources
- T.5: Arbitral Reporters
Research Help
We're here to help. Contact a research librarian for help with an assignment, project, or resource.
Hours:
Mon-Fri, 11am-3pm
503-768-6688
lawlib@lclark.edu
Reference Hours
