Skip to main content

Private International Law: Westlaw, Lexis & Bloomberg

What's Available

The big three subscription databases provide limited resources for foreign law. In general, they cater to business clients, so tax, corporate and business law will be covered by secondary sources. Westlaw has a small collections of statutes and cases from English-speaking commonwealth countries.

WESTLAW

Currently, Westlaw has the best foreign law coverage of the three databases. Most are practice-oriented.

From Westlaw's home page, select Practical Law to locate the following foreign law resources:

  • Select the Resource Types tab > then select Global Guides and Cross-Border Topics
    • Global Guides
    • Cross-Border Topics
  • Select Global Home from the top of the Practical Law page
    • Select Practice Areas,
    • Featured Countries or
    • All Countries or
    • Global In-house Resources
    • Country Q & A comparison tool
  • Tip: Use "Related Content" when available
  • Tip: Search in both Global Home and Global Guides

For links to Foreign primary and secondary material:

  • From WESTLAW EDGE Home page, click on International Materials
  • Search by Jurisdiction or Content.
  • Additional materials on far right (International Arbitration, Journals, etc.

LEXIS

Lexis provides good international news coverage for all countries and some primary source coverage for a few countries.

  • International tab > select View All Countries

Search by legal topic or law review articles:

Bloomberg Law

Bloomberg Law also has the series Getting the Deal Through

Begin by clicking on Browse in upper left:

  • Secondary Sources >Search Reference materials > Sources "Browse all materials"
  • Scroll down to Getting the Deal Through > click the adjacent box > click the green Search button
  • Scroll by topic by clicking Select More in the Filters Box on the left.

For a comprehensive collection of materials on International Trade

  • From Home, click on Browse, then
  • Practice Centers, then select
  • International Trade