Using this Guide
Welcome to the course guide for Diana Leonard's section of E&D. This guide provides a pathfinder for students doing library research on "Virtual Identities."
Questions? Ask Jen.
Key Resources for Research in This Class
- Primo This link opens in a new windowPrimo is the library's search engine for books at Watzek Library and at Pacific Northwest Academic Libraries via the Summit delivery system. It also contains audiovisual materials like DVDs and CDs as well as journal articles and ebooks.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive, scholarly, and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 12,000 periodicals and 4,700 peer-reviewed journals.
- APA PsycNET This link opens in a new windowAccess for L&C College and Graduate School only. The premier database for psychology. Single search interface for PsycINFO, PsycARTICLES, and PsycTHERAPY streaming video.
Need a topic idea?
Try browsing the tables of contents in these library e-books.
Cyberpsychology: The Study of Individuals, Society, and Digital Technology
An important new BPS Textbook in Psychology exploring the interactions between individuals, societies, and digital technologies Outlines key theories and empirical research within cyberpsychology and provides critical assessments of this rapidly changing field Identifies areas in need of further research and ways to use digital technologies as a research tool Covers topics such as online identity, online relationships and dating, pornography, children's use of the internet, cyberbullying, online games and gambling, and deception and online crime Engaging and accessible for students at the undergraduate and graduate level with real life examples, activities, and discussion questions
Intelligence Unbound: The Future of Uploaded and Machine Minds
Intelligence Unbound explores the prospects, promises, and potential dangers of machine intelligence and uploaded minds in a collection of state-of-the-art essays from internationally recognized philosophers, AI researchers, science fiction authors, and theorists. Compelling and intellectually sophisticatednbsp;exploration of the latest thinking on Artificial Intelligence and machine minds Features contributions from an international cast of philosophers, Artificial Intelligence researchers, science fiction authors, and more Offers current, diverse perspectives on machine intelligence and uploaded minds, emerging topics of tremendous interest Illuminates the nature and ethics of tomorrow's machine minds--and of the convergence of humans and machines--to consider the pros and cons of a variety of intriguing possibilities Considers classic philosophical puzzles as well as the latest topics debated by scholars Covers a wide range of viewpoints and arguments regarding the prospects of uploading and machine intelligence, including proponents and skeptics, pros and cons
Constructing the Self in a Digital World
It has become popular in recent years to talk about 'identity' as an aspect of engagement with technology - in virtual environments, in games, in social media and in our increasingly digital world. But what do we mean by identity and how do our theories and assumptions about identity affect the kinds of questions we ask about its relationship to technology and learning? Constructing the Self in a Digital World takes up this question explicitly, bringing together authors working from different models of identity but all examining the role of technology in the learning and lives of children and youth.
