L&C + Summit + Articles, etc.
Search with this setting to find articles and other content from many electronic journals and databases.
For a more specialized
search, refer to Research Guides and Databases by Subject
, the A-Z List of Databases
, or select the
databases tab above and enter the name of a specific database.
Search for items at libraries around the world and submit Interlibrary Loan (ILL) requests.
Research Guide: CORE 107-Heath Spring 2014
James J. Kopp First-year Research Awards
The library gives out awards?
- Yes, two first-year students will win cash prizes for excellence in library research demonstrated in the E&D spring paper or project! (more info)
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
- Print resource. Explores the nutritional and cultural impact of food, with articles written by anthropologists, chefs, food historians, nutritionists, agronomists, food stylists, and other food researches. (more info)
Oxford Companion to Food
- Serious food history, culinary expertise, and entertaining serendipity related toa ll areas of food studies, including: agriculture; archaeology; food in art, film, literature, and music; globalization; neuroanatomy; and the Silk Road and so much more. (more info)
Journals of interest
Food and History
- This journal studies food history from different points of view. It embraces aspects of social, economical, religious, political and cultural history. It deals at the same time with questions of consumption, production and distribution, alimentation practices, medical aspects, culinary practices, gastronomy and restaurants. (more info)
- Presents a forum for ideas, discussion, and thoughtful reflection on the history, literature, representation, and cultural impact of food. (more info)
Food, culture, & society
- Covers all aspects of food studies and encourages vigorous debate on a wide range of topics. (more info)
Culture, agriculture, food and environment
- Covers papers, discussions of theoretical developments and methods of inquiry, and results of empirical research on topics concerning agriculture, related policies and practices, and their environmental and human consequences. (more info)
Journal databases of interest
America: History and Life
- Indexes the scholarly literature on the history of the U.S. and Canada. Includes links to full text of the articles also included in JSTOR. (more info)
- Searches Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature simultaneously. (more info)
- Indexes the scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Includes article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present. See "America: History and Life" for U.S. and Canadian history. (more info)
SocINDEX with full text
- Sociology and anthropology research database with over 2000 journals. (more info)