Research Guide: ART 111 - History of Western Art, Renaissance to 20th C.
-
Getting Started
-
Oxford Art Online
- Grove Art Online and Oxford art reference in one location. The Grove Dictionary of Art contains a growing number of articles on every aspect of the visual arts, from prehistory to the present day. (more info)
-
Metropolitan Museum of Art Timeline of Art History
- A chronological, geographical and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum of Art collection
-
Oxford Bibliographies Online
- OBO provides an introduction to the specialized literature on both major and minor topics within the fields of Buddhism, Medieval Studies, International Relations,
Renaissance and Reformation, Philosophy and
Victorian Literature. (more info)
-
Oxford Reference Online - Art & Architecture
- Full text editions of all of the Oxford Art References, across a broad range of art and art history topics. (more info)
-
smARThistory
- An online, free, not-for-profit, multi-media web-book designed as a dynamic enhancement (or even substitute) for the traditional art history textbook. Has gained widespread recognition, most recently from the Chronicle of Higher Ed. Features a blog, audio guides and podcasts, flickr groups, and syllabi for instructors.
-
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
- A panoramic view of the cultural movement known as the Renaissance. Readable essays cover the arts and letters, in addition to everyday life, A selective bibliography of primary and secondary sources for further study follows each article. (more info)
-
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
- Encompassing over four thousand years of artistry and innovation, this resource spans every art form, medium and civilization from Cycladic, Minoan, Helladic, and Etruscan art to the fall of the Roman Empire. (more info)
-
Larousse Encyclopedia of Renaissance and Baroque Art
- Chronological essays on the development of art during this time period. The text is richly complemented by both black/white and color reproductions.
-
Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art
- Considering both fine arts and crafts, without designating crafts as a lesser art form, the alphabetically arranged articles begin with a definition of the material or technique, with related terms cross-referenced. Entries conclude with extensive updated bibliographies of print works, many published within the last 10 years. (more info)
-
Images
-
Metropolitan Museum of Art Timeline of Art History
- A chronological, geographical and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum of Art collection
-
ARTstor
- ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of millions of images across a variety of subjects, contributed by museums, artist estates, and a variety of institutions. View, present, and collect images with ARTstor for research and intstruction. CHECK OUT Lewis & Clark's collections on your home screen! (more info)
-
Bridgeman Art Library
- With images from over 8,000 collections and more than 29,000 artists, Bridgeman provides a central source of fine art and historical images for users. (more info)
-
Journal Articles - Databases
-
Art Full Text
- Offers full text, abstracts, and indexing of an international array of publications. It now includes the Bibliography of the History of Art, 1975-2007. In addition to articles, includes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Art Index Retrospective and Art Museum Image Gallery included in Art Full Text. (more info)
-
Art Index Retrospective
- Cites articles and reproductions of works of art from periodicals. (more info)
-
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
- The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Repertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) for no charge on its Web site at http://library.getty.edu/bha. The databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007. For material published after 2007 see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA) (more info)
-
ARTbibliographies Modern
- Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, performance art, and the practice of art fields, including curating, arts education, and art therapy. Full coverage begins in 1974, but articles date back to the late 1960s. (more info)
-
Art History-related Databases
-
Project Muse
- A unique collaboration between libraries and the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, providing 100% full-text, online access to over 400 titles from prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Browse by discipline and select folklore under social sciences (more info)
-
Index of Christian Art
- The Index records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400 (extended in the case of the Morgan and Princeton Library projects to include manuscript holdings up to the end of the sixteenth century). There is a particular emphasis and focus on art of the western world. Seventeen different media are represented in the archive, and these include manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, glass, and so forth. (more info)
-
JSTOR
- Use the advanced search function to search within the folklore discipline. (more info)
-
America: History and Life
- Indexes the scholarly literature on the history of the U.S. and Canada. Includes links to full text of the articles also included in JSTOR. (more info)
-
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
- A citation database for journal articles and books pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for reviews of books, review articles, collections of essays, and many other types of resources are included. Updated daily. ITER also provides access to other databases, such as the Early Theatre database and the Medici Archive Project. (more info)
-
20th C. Art resources
-
Art Babble
- Includes video interviews with artists, (downloadable to an iPhone), foras, and links to contributing partners (galleries and museums).
-
ArtsConnectEd
- Online access to art collections housed at the Minneapolis Institute of Arts and the Walker Art Center. Search over 100,000 resources in the Art Finder, including works of art, texts, audio, video, and interactive resources. Save and customize items in Art Collector. Comment, tag and rate everything!
-
Public Art Archive
- The Public Art Archive, a new project of the Western States Arts Federation, (www.westaf.org), is a sophisticated searchable database of public art in the United States. (more info)
-
Helios, Photography Online
- Presented here are the Smithsonian American Art Museum's collections of The First Century of American Photographs, Contemporary American Landscape Photography, and American Daguerreotypes. (more info)