Research Guide: copy of Art 335 - Early Modern Art in Asia & Europe
-
Getting Started
-
Oxford Art Online
- Grove Art Online and Oxford art reference in one location. The Grove Dictionary of Art contains a growing number of articles on every aspect of the visual arts, from prehistory to the present day. (more info)
-
Oxford Reference Online - Art & Architecture
- Full text editions of all of the Oxford Art References, across a broad range of art and art history topics. (more info)
-
Oxford Bibliographies Online
- OBO provides an introduction to the specialized literature on both major and minor topics within the fields of Buddhism, Medieval Studies, International Relations,
Renaissance and Reformation, Philosophy and
Victorian Literature. (more info)
-
Getty Provenance Index
- Databases contain indexed transcriptions of material from auction catalogs and archival inventories of western European works of art, and contain nearly 1,000,000 records that cover the period from the late 16th century to the early 20th century. (more info)
-
General OneFile
- Over 6500 full text titles; contains popular, business and professional journals, NPR audio files complete with transcripts, and Fodor's travel guides. (more info)
-
Resources for Exhibition Catalogues
-
ARTbibliographies Modern
- Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, performance art, and the practice of art fields, including curating, arts education, and art therapy. Full coverage begins in 1974, but articles date back to the late 1960s. (more info)
-
Bibliography of Asian Studies
- References western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971. (more info)
-
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
- The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Repertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) for no charge on its Web site at http://library.getty.edu/bha. The databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007. For material published after 2007 see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA) (more info)
-
Northwest Digital Archives (NWDA)
- Provides enhanced access to more than 2,400 archival and manuscript collections in Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington. See the About Us page for subject information, or Contact Us for a list of participating institutions. (more info)
-
Project Muse
- A unique collaboration between libraries and the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, providing 100% full-text, online access to over 400 titles from prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Browse by discipline and select folklore under social sciences (more info)
-
JSTOR
- Use the advanced search function to search within the folklore discipline. (more info)
-
Sources for images
-
ARTstor
- ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of millions of images across a variety of subjects, contributed by museums, artist estates, and a variety of institutions. View, present, and collect images with ARTstor for research and intstruction. CHECK OUT Lewis & Clark's collections on your home screen! (more info)
-
Bridgeman Art Library
- With images from over 8,000 collections and more than 29,000 artists, Bridgeman provides a central source of fine art and historical images for users. (more info)
-
Metropolitan Museum of Art Timeline of Art History
- A chronological, geographical and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum of Art collection
-
Visual Literacy Resources
-
Learning to Look: A Handbook for the Visual Arts
- An approach to the visual arts --
An analysis of the work of art --
Color and perspective --
Some distinctive characteristics within the visual arts. Drawing and painting ; Graphic arts ; Sculpture ; Architecture --
Some materials and techniques of the artist. Drawing ; Painting ; Graphic arts ; Sculpture ; Architecture --
The artist and the work of art --
Chronological table. A Chronological table pertaining to the visual arts, literature, and music.
**Prepared with the Humanities staff of the College at the University of Chicago. (more info)
-
How to Use Your Eyes
-
"James Elkins's How to Use Your Eyes invites us to look at - and maybe see for the first time - the world around us, with breathtaking results. Here are the common artifacts of life, often misunderstood and largely ignored, brought into striking focus. A butterfly's wing pattern encodes its identity. A cloudless sky yields a precise sequence of colors at sunset. A bridge reveals the relationship of a population to its landscape. With the discerning eye of a painter and the zeal of a detective, Elkins also explores complicated things like mandalas, the periodic table, or a hieroglyph, remaking the world into a treasure box of observations."--BOOK JACKET. (more info)
-
The object stares back: on the nature of seeing
- This arresting, provocative book on how we see--reminiscent of Diane Ackerman's A Natural History of the Senses--mixes science, philosophy, psychology, and art history, and offers startling, insightful observations likely to alter forever the way we perceive the world. 87 photos & illustrations. (more info)
-
The art of seeing: an interpretation of the aesthetic encounter
- A conceptual model of the aesthetic experience --
The major dimensions of the aesthetic experience --
A quantitatlive analysis of the aesthetic experience --
The form and quality of the aesthetic experience --
Facilitating the aesthetic experience --
Conclusion. (more info)
-
Ways of seeing
- "Based on the BBC television series with John Berger." (more info)
-
Curator & Gallery Talks
-
Freer/Sackler Gallery Podcast Series
- Available through iTunes or RSS feed, these free podcasts feature the Freer and Sackler Gallery's Curators speaking on various works or themes featured in the Galleries. (more info)
-
Rubin Museum of Art Talks
- The Rubin Museum of Art in New York is home to a comprehensive collection of art from the Himalayas and surrounding regions. To learn more about the museum, visit http://www.rmanyc.org/about. They also have a variety of curator talks and mutimedia to take you behind-the-scenes of an exhibit. (more info)
-
Museum of Contemporary Craft Multimedia
- A local treasure, the Museum of Contemporary Craft offers a multimedia side to all exhibitions they put on: This being the recent show, "Manufacture(d)." With interactions between artists and Chief Curator, Namita Wiggers, viewers get a good sense of how a show comes together. (more info)
-
Linda Tesner's Bibliography of Resources
-
Linda Tesner's Bibliography of Resources
- Linda Tesner, Director of Lewis & Clark's Hoffman Gallery, has been compiling the "best of the best" in curatorial theory, methodology, and pedagogy, for over thirty years, and has agreed to share this as an invaluable resource. (more info)