Research Guide: CORE 107 - Galaty - Understanding How We Understand the Maya, Spring 2013
-
Getting Started
-
Cambridge history of the native peoples of the Americas
- 2000. This set offers histories of Mesoamerica and peoples of North America. Conduct a search in the upper search bar on "Latin America and the Caribbean" to see the plethora of Cambrdige resources available to Lewis & Clark patrons! (more info)
-
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean
- Even though published in 1992, the way this Encyclopedia is divided into subheadings, "Industry," "Current Ethnic Profiles and Amerindian survivals," etc. along with its abundance of charts and images make it a very useful resource. (more info)
-
Encyclopedia of Latin America
- F1406. E5155, 4 volume set, 2010 (more info)
-
Encyclopedia of Latin American History & Culture
- F1406. E53, 6 volumes, 2008 (more info)
-
The Oxford encyclopedia of Mesoamerican cultures: the civilizations of Mexico and Central America
- F1218.6 .O95 (3 volumes), 2001 (more info)
-
Archaeology of ancient Mexico and Central America: an encyclopedia
- F1218.6 .A73, 2001 (more info)
-
The gods and symbols of ancient Mexico and the Maya: an illustrated dictionary of Mesoamerican religion
- F1435.3.R3 M55 (more info)
-
Oxford Reference Online
- Electronic version of Oxford reference across a broad range of topics. Full-text. (more info)
-
Britannica Online
- Online edition of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. Includes a dictionary and thesaurus. (more info)
-
Databases & Indexes
-
Academic Search Complete
- Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. (more info)
-
Project Muse
- A unique collaboration between libraries and the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, providing 100% full-text, online access to over 400 titles from prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Browse by discipline and select folklore under social sciences (more info)
-
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
- A part of the Web of Science database, the AHCI tracks 'who's citing whom' in the arts and humanities. Coverage is 1980-present. (more info)
-
AnthropologyPlus
- Searches Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature simultaneously. (more info)
-
SocINDEX with full text
- Sociology and anthropology research database with over 2000 journals. (more info)
-
Art Full Text
- Offers full text, abstracts, and indexing of an international array of publications. It now includes the Bibliography of the History of Art, 1975-2007. In addition to articles, includes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Art Index Retrospective and Art Museum Image Gallery included in Art Full Text. (more info)
-
JSTOR
- Use the advanced search function to search within the folklore discipline. (more info)
-
Web Resources
-
Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies [FAMSI]
- The go-to site for the most current research, compiled resources, bibliographies, links, images and more on Mesoamerica (more info)
-
The Maya Vase Database by Justin Kerr
- A photographic database of painted and carved vases from the ancient Maya cultures of southern Mexico and Central America of the Classic Period (200-900 CE). The photographs, taken by Justin Kerr, a fine arts photographer, are crucially important for understanding ancient Maya people. Kerr took the photographs using a technique he invented, called rollout photography, in which the painting or carving that wraps around the vase is rolled out and reduced to a flat, two-dimensional photograph. As such, we can view the entire scene at once, without having to turn the vessel.
(more info)
-
Ethnographic Video Online
- The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more. (more info)
-
Virtual Mesoamerican Archive
- The Virtual Mesoamerican Archive (VMA) is a portal site designed to offer students, faculty, and other serious learners an alternative to Google. Gain quick and accurate search results, harvesting quality materials from the websites of collaborating institutions and individuals. (more info)
-
Stephen D. Houston's Guide to Resources on the Maya
- From a premier scholar in the field, Stephen D. Houston compiled a list of the "best of the best" of publications and resources, as well as web links to archaeological sites. (more info)
-
Metropolitan Museum Timeline for Mayan Art
- The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Museum's collection. (more info)
-
Google doc on 16th C. to contemporary Maya resources
- Tools and resources for conquest to contemporary Maya research. (more info)
-
Tarlton Law Library & Benson Latin American Collection: Aztec & Mayan Law
- A detailed overview of Aztec and Maya law as it existed at the time of the Spanish conquest of Mesoamerica is supplemented by an annotated bibliography of resources on Mexican legal history, Aztec and Maya law, and related works on Aztec and Maya history, archaeology, and cultural studies. (more info)
-
Latin American Studies Websites
-
19th Century Latin America
- Part of the Internet Modern History Sourcebook, this is a valuable compilation of primary source Web sites.
-
Colonial Latin America
- Part of the Internet Modern History Sourcebook, this is a valuable compilation of primary source web sites on the colonial period in Latin America.
-
Dialnet
- Dialnet provides access to contemporary scholarly publishing in Spain and Latin America, with tables of contents of over 3,000 humanities, social sciences and science journals. Coverage includes citations for 1.2 million documents, abstracts for many of these, and full text for some 100,000.
-
LANIC: Latin American Network Information Center
- One of the largest guides for Latin American content on the Internet. (more info)
-
Finding Images
-
ARTstor
- ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of millions of images across a variety of subjects, contributed by museums, artist estates, and a variety of institutions. View, present, and collect images with ARTstor for research and intstruction. CHECK OUT Lewis & Clark's collections on your home screen! (more info)
-
WorldImages database
- A free access database of 65,000 images on the art, architecture and culture of the world that includes all areas of visual imagery. (more info)
-
Metropolitan Museum Timeline for Mayan Art
- The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Museum's collection. (more info)