Research Guide: CORE 107 - Drake - Spring 2013
-
Catalog, Encyclopedias, & General Research Databases
- L&C WorldCat
- Discovery tool that allows users to find materials at L&C, in Summit, and in libraries around the world. Also includes some journal articles from specific databases like MEDLINE (medicine and health), ERIC (education), GPO (U.S. government publications), ArticleFirst and British Library Serials. (more info)
- Encyclopedias
- Pathfinder for Encyclopedias.
- JSTOR
- Use the advanced search function to search within the folklore discipline. (more info)
- Academic Search Complete
- Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. (more info)
- Dissertations & Theses
- Link to abstracts or citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, from 1861 to the present day. Also includes full text of dissertations and theses produced by graduate students at Lewis & Clark. (more info)
- Google Scholar
- Google's academic search engine now has links to the full text that Watzek Library provides. (more info)
- Project Muse
- A unique collaboration between libraries and the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, providing 100% full-text, online access to over 400 titles from prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Browse by discipline and select folklore under social sciences (more info)
- LexisNexis Academic
- Full text of national, regional, and international newspapers, business, and legal sources and more. (more info)
-
Subject Specific Databases
Econ Databases
Business Economics and Theory
With a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit database, this collection provides academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics. Perfect for business classes, users will find more than 150 full-text journals to support their research. (more info)/span>EconLit with Full Text
Contains all of the indexing available in EconLit, plus full text for more than 400 journals; indexing and full text for articles in all fields of economics. (more info)Sociology Databases
Sociological Abstracts
One of the most important indexes to the literature of sociology, cultural anthropology and related disciplines. Indexes 1800+ journals and other literature. (more info)SocINDEX with full text
Sociology and anthropology research database with over 2000 journals. (more info)Psychology Databases
APA PsycNET
Single search interface for PsycINFO, PsycARTICLES, PsycTHERAPY and PsycCRITIQUES . (more info)Child Development & Adolescent Studies
Child Development & Adolescent Studies is a source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. (more info)Computer Science Databases
Computer Source Full text for more than 300 publications covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. (more info)
MathSciNet
Comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940 (more info)Health / Medicine Databases
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Full text of hundreds of health periodicals, pamphlets, and selected health reference books. (more info)MEDLINE via FirstSearch
Covers all areas of medicine including dentistry and nursing. (more info)
-
Group Work
Links to Group Docs
-
Useful resources
- Conducting Library research
- Cornell University Library: "The Seven Steps of the Research Process" (more info)
- Purdue OWL: MLA Formatting & Style Guide
- Great resource for formatting research papers and citations using the MLA style. (more info)
- RefWorks
- Web-based bibliographic management software. (GROUP CODE) For help, check out http://www.refworks.com/refworks2/help/refworks2.htm (more info)
How to read a Library of Congress call number
-
James J. Kopp First-year Research Awards
- The library gives out awards?
- Yes, two first-year students will win cash prizes for excellence in library research demonstrated in the E&D spring paper or project! (more info)


