Research Guide: CORE 107--Johnston--Daniel Day-Lewis and American Archetypes
-
Library Catalogs
-
L&C Classic Catalog
- This legacy software searches the collections of both Watzek and Boley libraries, but nothing else. (more info)
-
L&C WorldCat
- Discovery tool that allows users to find materials at L&C, in Summit, and in libraries around the world. Also includes some journal articles from specific databases like MEDLINE (medicine and health), ERIC (education), GPO (U.S. government publications), ArticleFirst and British Library Serials. (more info)
-
Image Sources
-
American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I
- Facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. (more info)
-
Metropolitan Museum of Art Timeline of Art History
- A chronological, geographical and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum of Art collection
-
ARTstor
- ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of millions of images across a variety of subjects, contributed by museums, artist estates, and a variety of institutions. View, present, and collect images with ARTstor for research and intstruction. CHECK OUT Lewis & Clark's collections on your home screen! (more info)
-
Camio
- OCLC's "Catalog of Art Museum Images Online" is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums. (more info)
-
The Nineteenth Century in Print
- This collection presents twenty-three popular periodicals digitized by Cornell University Library and the Preservation Reformatting Division of the Library of Congress. They include literary and political magazines, as well as Scientific American, Manufacturer and Builder, and Garden and Forest: A Journal of Horticulture, Landscape Art, and Forestry. The longest run is for The North American Review, 1815-1900. (more info)
-
National Gallery of Art, Washington D.C.
- Over 6,000 images are available and text and/or data for over 110,000 objects. Thumbnail images can be enlarged and details shown.
-
Making of America
- A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction (1850-1877). The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
-
Major Databases for secondary sources
-
Academic Search Complete
- Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. (more info)
-
America: History and Life
- Indexes the scholarly literature on the history of the U.S. and Canada. Includes links to full text of the articles also included in JSTOR. (more info)
-
Art Full Text
- Offers full text, abstracts, and indexing of an international array of publications. It now includes the Bibliography of the History of Art, 1975-2007. In addition to articles, includes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Art Index Retrospective and Art Museum Image Gallery included in Art Full Text. (more info)
-
JSTOR
- Use the advanced search function to search within the folklore discipline. (more info)
-
MLA Bibliography
- Literature, language, linguistics, folklore. (more info)
-
Project Muse
- A unique collaboration between libraries and the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, providing 100% full-text, online access to over 400 titles from prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Browse by discipline and select folklore under social sciences (more info)
-
James J. Kopp First-year Research Awards
-
The library gives out awards?
- Yes, two first-year students will win cash prizes for excellence in library research demonstrated in the E&D spring paper or project! (more info)