Research Guide: CORE 107 Cameron-Dominguez Spring 2013
-
James J. Kopp First-year Research Awards
-
The library gives out awards?
- Yes, two first-year students will win cash prizes for excellence in library research demonstrated in the E&D spring paper or project! (more info)
-
Finding Context
-
American Countercultures
- This 3 volume set highlights the writings, recordings, and visual works produced by countercultural movements to educate and incite action in all eras of U.S. history. (more info)
-
CQ Researcher
- Full text of CQ Researcher reports on major U.S. social, economic and political issues. (more info)
-
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice
- Print resource. Covers topics which have shaped the fields of activism, civil engagement and social justice as well as offering short biographies of the major thinkers and leaders. (more info)
-
Encyclopedia of the World's Minorities
- Social and political changes have given greater understanding of the world's minorities, the diversity they represent, the challenges they face, the modes of coexistence that have evolved and the frictions that must be addressed. (more info)
-
Handbook of Human Rights
- A solid foundation for the reader who wants to learn the basic parameters of the field, but also promotes new thinking and frameworks for the study of human rights in the twenty-first century. (more info)
-
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
- Online resource. Articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences. (more info)
-
Latino Americans and political Participation: A Reference Handbook
- An overview of the role Latino Americans have played in the political processes of the United States that includes information on Latin-American politicians, policies that affect the group, key organizations, major events, and more. (more info)
-
Oxford Reference Online
- Electronic version of Oxford reference across a broad range of topics. Full-text. (more info)
-
Protest, power, and change
- Print encyclopedia of nonviolent action from ACT-UP to women's suffrage. Includes entries on individuals, organizations, specific campaigns and methods of non-violent protest. (more info)
-
Scholarly Journal Articles
-
Academic Search Complete
- Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. (more info)
-
America: History and Life
- Indexes the scholarly literature on the history of the U.S. and Canada. Includes links to full text of the articles also included in JSTOR. (more info)
-
Historical Abstracts
- Indexes the scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Includes article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present. See "America: History and Life" for U.S. and Canadian history. (more info)
-
JSTOR
- Use the advanced search function to search within the folklore discipline. (more info)
-
Left Index
- Leads to articles in left-leaning periodicals about politics, economics, and society. (more info)
-
Project Muse
- A unique collaboration between libraries and the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, providing 100% full-text, online access to over 400 titles from prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Browse by discipline and select folklore under social sciences (more info)
-
Sociological Abstracts
- One of the most important indexes to the literature of sociology, cultural anthropology and related disciplines. Indexes 1800+ journals and other literature. (more info)