Research Guide: ART 254: History of Buddhist Art - Odell - Fall 2012
-
Finding Journal Articles
-
Art Full Text
- Offers full text, abstracts, and indexing of an international array of publications. It now includes the Bibliography of the History of Art, 1975-2007. In addition to articles, includes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Art Index Retrospective and Art Museum Image Gallery included in Art Full Text. (more info)
-
Bibliography of Asian Studies
- References western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971. (more info)
-
Historical Abstracts
- Indexes the scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Includes article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present. See "America: History and Life" for U.S. and Canadian history. (more info)
-
Project Muse
- A unique collaboration between libraries and the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, providing 100% full-text, online access to over 400 titles from prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Browse by discipline and select folklore under social sciences (more info)
-
Journals @ Watzek
-
Archives of Asian Art
- Indexed in Art Full Text. A forum for research by scholars on numerous topics concerning Asian art history. (more info)
-
Artibus Asiae: journal of Asian art and archaeology for scholars and connoisseurs
- Indexed in Art Full Text. The geographic scope covers all of Asia, but recent issues have focused on China and India. The goal of the journal is to present and discuss current research and discoveries in Asian art and sculpture. (more info)
-
Arts of Asia
- Indexed in Art Full Text. This lavishly illustrated art magazine is an excellent source of information and illustration on every aspect of Asian art. The fine quality of the illustrations does justice to the artworks in the articles and even the ads. Well-researched, often commissioned articles delve into the history, techniques, and value of art objects and artistic periods, discuss archeological findings, and evaluate art at exhibitions and auctions. Authors are academic experts and curators of major museums. Special issues are sometimes devoted to a particular topic, museum, or region. (more info)
-
Journal of Asian Studies
- Indexed in Bibliography of Asian Art. One of the most authoritative and prestigious publications in the field of Asian Studies. Each issue contains four or five feature articles on topics involving the history, arts, social sciences, philosophy, and contemporary issues of East, South, and Southeast Asia. (more info)
-
Oriental Art
- Indexed in Art Full Text. Published irregularly. Lavishly illustrated with glossy, full-color reproductions, Oriental Art is an inclusive journal that extends coverage to art in India, the Islamic world, and all of Southeast Asia, beyond the traditional China and Japan focus. (more info)
-
Finding Images
-
ARTstor
- ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of millions of images across a variety of subjects, contributed by museums, artist estates, and a variety of institutions. View, present, and collect images with ARTstor for research and intstruction. CHECK OUT Lewis & Clark's collections on your home screen! (more info)
-
Huntington Archive
- This digital collection includes more than 40,000 photographs of art and architecture from throughout Asia. The countries included in this collection are Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Indonesia, Myanmar (Burma) Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Thailand. The photographs are copyrighted to John C. and Susan L. Huntington unless otherwise noted. (more info)
-
Beyond the Taj: Cornell University's Architectural Traditions and Landscape Experience in South Asia.
- A collection of 6,682 images free to download and use for educational purposes spanning the range of South Asian and covering landscapes and the range of architecture across South Asia (more info)
-
Bridgeman Art Library
- With images from over 8,000 collections and more than 29,000 artists, Bridgeman provides a central source of fine art and historical images for users. (more info)
-
WorldImages database
- A free access database of 65,000 images on the art, architecture and culture of the world that includes all areas of visual imagery. (more info)
-
Websites: Buddhist Art & Studies
-
Southeast Asia Visions, @ Cornell University Library
- This project brings together archival material, photographs, and maps from a collection of European travel accounts of pre-modern Southeast Asia from Cornell University Library's John M. Echols Collection. (more info)
-
Resources for the Study of Buddhism
- Gateway to general Buddhist resources. Includes links to Mahayana Buddhist teachings, collections of Buddhist texts and to Buddhism and Science.
-
Rubin Museum of Art, New York
- Home to a comprehensive collection of art from the Himalayas and surrounding regions. Through changing exhibitions and an array of engaging public programs, RMA offers opportunities to explore the artistic legacy of the Himalayan region and to appreciate its place in the context of world cultures.
-
Asian Art resources from Columbia Univ.
- a set of links put together for a gen_art class at Columbia on South Asian Art (more info)
-
Advanced Research: Online Resources
-
The British Library's International Dunhuang Project
- IDP is a ground-breaking international collaboration to make information and images of all manuscripts, paintings, textiles and artefacts from Dunhuang and archaeological sites of the Eastern Silk Road freely available on the Internet and to encourage their use through educational and research programmes. (more info)
-
Getty Site Conservation at the Mogao and Yungang Caves
- The Getty Conservation Institute collaborated with the State Administration for Cultural Heritage of the People's Republic of China to research and implement site stabilization and conservation strategies—and to train technical staff—at two ancient Buddhist sites. (more info)
-
The Archaeological Survey of India
- The Archaeological Survey of India (ASI), under the Ministry of Culture, is the premier organization for the archaeological researches and protection of the cultural heritage of the nation. Maintenance of ancient monuments and archaeological sites and remains of national importance is the prime concern of the ASI. (more info)
-
UC-Riverside, Thai Digital Monastery
- Despite the distinctive styles and diverse influences on Buddhist Art in Thailand, it is a subject that has garnered little attention in the field of art history compared to the art of India, China, and Cambodia. This site addresses this gap. (more info)
-
UW e-History of the Silk Road
- An interactive e-history created by Daniel C. Waugh at the University of Washington on the History of the Silk Road. Includes citations and bibliography. (more info)
-
Yale Silk Road Database
- The Yale Silk Road Database presents over 6,000 images of major sites in the Silk Road region taken during faculty site seminars under the auspices of the Council on East Asian Studies at Yale University in the summers of 2006-2009. (more info)
-
Xiangtangshan Caves Project at the U. of Chicago
- A fabulous interactive website bringing the very best high tech tools to the newest research. Great source for images. (more info)