Research Guide: Core 107 - Mirabile - Imagining Empire -Spring 2013
-
Getting Started
-
Encyclopedia of Postcolonial Studies
- This reference work overviews the state of postcolonial studies and explores the effects of globalization on literary studies in the 21st century.
The volume includes more than 150 alphabetically arranged entries on postcolonial studies around the world. (more info)
-
Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures In English
- In three volumes, this Encyclopedia documents the history and development of Post-Colonial literatures and includes original research relating to 50 countries and territories. In more than 1,600 entries written by more than 600 internationally recognized scholars, it explores the effect of the colonial and post-colonial experience on literatures in English worldwide. (more info)
-
Library Catalogs
-
L&C WorldCat
- Discovery tool that allows users to find materials at L&C, in Summit, and in libraries around the world. Also includes some journal articles from specific databases like MEDLINE (medicine and health), ERIC (education), GPO (U.S. government publications), ArticleFirst and British Library Serials. (more info)
-
General Research Databases
-
Academic Search Complete
- Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. (more info)
-
JSTOR
- Use the advanced search function to search within the folklore discipline. (more info)
-
Project Muse
- A unique collaboration between libraries and the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, providing 100% full-text, online access to over 400 titles from prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Browse by discipline and select folklore under social sciences (more info)
-
Subject-specific Research Databases
-
America: History and Life
- Indexes the scholarly literature on the history of the U.S. and Canada. Includes links to full text of the articles also included in JSTOR. (more info)
-
AnthropologyPlus
- Searches Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature simultaneously. (more info)
-
AnthroSource
- Online access to about thirty American Anthropological Association (AAA) journals. (more info)
-
Historical Abstracts
- Indexes the scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Includes article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present. See "America: History and Life" for U.S. and Canadian history. (more info)
-
MLA Bibliography
- Literature, language, linguistics, folklore. (more info)
-
SocINDEX with full text
- Sociology and anthropology research database with over 2000 journals. (more info)
-
Sociological Abstracts
- One of the most important indexes to the literature of sociology, cultural anthropology and related disciplines. Indexes 1800+ journals and other literature. (more info)
-
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
- Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science, international relations, law, and public administration & policy. (more info)
-
James J. Kopp First-year Research Awards
-
The library gives out awards?
- Yes, two first-year students will win cash prizes for excellence in library research demonstrated in the E&D spring paper or project! (more info)