Research Guide: French 450-Spring 2012--Demarte
-
Displinary Context
-
International Encyclopedia of Communication
- Spans the breadth of communication studies, including coverage of theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical areas. (more info)
-
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
- Addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation. Topics include changing conceptions of "the feminine," the family and masculinity, religion, morality, cultural images, medical practice, public health, economy and society and many more.
-
Encyclopedia of European social history from 1350 to 2000
- A six volume print encyclopedia with a good index and strong bibliographies. (more info)
-
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
- Online encyclopedia with lengthy, signed and referenced articles. This is the premier reference work for sociology. (more info)
-
Disciplinary Databases
-
Communication and Mass Media Complete
- Offers full text for almost 300 titles and contains citation coverage for 300 additional sources. (more info)
-
Gender Studies Database
- Combines NISC's Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. (more info)
-
Historical Abstracts
- Indexes the scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Includes article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present. See "America: History and Life" for U.S. and Canadian history. (more info)
-
Sociological Abstracts
- One of the most important indexes to the literature of sociology, cultural anthropology and related disciplines. Indexes 1800+ journals and other literature. (more info)
-
Literary and Art Criticism
-
Art Full Text
- Offers full text, abstracts, and indexing of an international array of publications. It now includes the Bibliography of the History of Art, 1975-2007. In addition to articles, includes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Art Index Retrospective and Art Museum Image Gallery included in Art Full Text. (more info)
-
ARTFL Project
- nearly 3,000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. (more info)
-
Essay and General Literature Index
- Indexes essays in books and anthologies. (more info)
-
Literature Resource Center
- Critical analyses, biographies and bibliographies of literary authors. (more info)
-
MLA Bibliography
- Literature, language, linguistics, folklore. (more info)