Research Guide: CORE 107 Cameron-Dominguez Spring 2012
-
James J. Kopp First-year Research Awards
-
The library gives out awards?
- Yes, two first-year students will win cash prizes for excellence in library research demonstrated in the E&D spring paper or project! (more info)
-
Finding Context
-
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice
- Print resource. Covers topics which have shaped the fields of activism, civil engagement and social justice as well as offering short biographies of the major thinkers and leaders. (more info)
-
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements
- A four-volume print resource on social movements in American history from the 1700s to the present. Articles are signed and have references. (more info)
-
Encyclopedia of European social history from 1350 to 2000
- A six volume print encyclopedia with a good index and strong bibliographies. (more info)
-
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace & Conflict
- Print resource. Lengthy articles on modern warfare, conflict, violence, and peace. Also police brutality, aggression in sports, television violence, and animal aggression. Broad interdisciplinary coverage. (more info)
-
Extremist groups : information for students
- Print resource. Information on 150 extremist groups from around the world, the majority of which are active today. The emphasis is on the political activities of groups, rather than on individuals. (more info)
-
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
- Online resource. Articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences. (more info)
-
Protest, power, and change
- Print encyclopedia of nonviolent action from ACT-UP to women's suffrage. Includes entries on individuals, organizations, specific campaigns and methods of non-violent protest. (more info)
-
Scholarly Journal Articles
-
Academic Search Complete
- Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. (more info)
-
America: History and Life
- Indexes the scholarly literature on the history of the U.S. and Canada. Includes links to full text of the articles also included in JSTOR. (more info)
-
Historical Abstracts
- Indexes the scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Includes article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present. See "America: History and Life" for U.S. and Canadian history. (more info)
-
JSTOR
- Use the advanced search function to search within the folklore discipline. (more info)
-
Project Muse
- A unique collaboration between libraries and the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, providing 100% full-text, online access to over 400 titles from prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Browse by discipline and select folklore under social sciences (more info)
-
Sociological Abstracts
- One of the most important indexes to the literature of sociology, cultural anthropology and related disciplines. Indexes 1800+ journals and other literature. (more info)