Research Guide: Ebook Collections
-
General Ebook Collections
-
EBL (Electronic Book Library)
- Lewis& Clark's home page for its EBL ebook holdings. (more info)
-
e-Duke Books Scholarly Collection
- Simultaneous, multi-user access to more than 100 scholarly frontlist e-books published by Duke University Press in the humanities and social sciences, as well as a complete selection of hundreds of backlist e-books available in electronic format.
(more info)
-
Ebrary
- Approximately 60,000 ebooks in 16 key subject areas including
Economics, Computers & IT, Education
History, Political Science, Literature
International Relations, Physical Sciences, Psychology, Religion, Philosophy, SOAN and more. (more info)
-
ACLS Humanities Ebook
- Humanities E-Book is a digital collection of over 3,700 full-text titles. Online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars. These titles also appear in the library catalog. (more info)
-
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
- Contains nearly 3,000 scholarly e-book titles purchased by L&C, on a variety of academic subjects. These titles are also listed in the WorldCat Local catalog. Also includes a significant collection of publicly available e-books. (more info)
-
Google Book Advanced Search
- Full-text searching of millions of books from major libraries. Books published before 1923 are available in their entirety, while only partial or snippet view may be available for later books. (more info)
-
HathiTrust Digital Library
- Digital repository with a quarter of all the books in the public domain. (more info)
-
Project Gutenberg
- Founded in 1971, this was the first producer of e-books. It now contains more than 33,000 titles, in many different languages. (more info)
-
Archive.org
- The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books. (more info)
-
Specialized Ebook Collections
-
Cambridge Histories Online
- Instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. Covers economic, political, literary, social history as well as the arts and philosophy. (more info)
-
Early English Books Online - EEBO
- EEBO contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 (more info)
-
Eighteenth Century Collections Online - ECCO
- ECCO delivers the full-text and page images of every significant English-language and
foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with
thousands of important works from the Americas. (more info)
-
Gale Virtual Reference Library
- A collection of full-text, multi-volume reference titles in a range of subject areas. (more info)
-
Gerritsen Collection - -Women's History Online, 1543-1945
- Multi-disciplinary cross-cultural resource for women's history spanning 4 centuries and 15 languages. (more info)
-
Oxford Reference Online
- Electronic version of Oxford reference across a broad range of topics. Full-text. (more info)
-
Oxford Scholarly Editions (trial lasts until mid- November 2012)
- Oxford’s scholarly editions provide trustworthy, annotated texts of writing worth reading. The launch content includes hundreds of poems, plays, and prose works, written by writers active between 1485 and 1660. (more info)