L&C Libraries Summit Libraries Worldwide
L&C Libraries Summit Libraries Worldwide
L&C Libraries Summit Libraries Worldwide
L&C Libraries Summit Libraries Worldwide

Research Guide: ART 333: Visual Perspectives on the Divine Comedy

TitleAuthorFormatAvailability
Dante on view : the reception of Dante in the visual and performing arts check availability
Dante, the Infernocheck availability
Dante, cinema, and television check availability
Dante's infernocheck availability
Lectura Dantis : Inferno check availability
Lectura Dantis : Purgatorio check availability
Dante : comprehensive research and study guide check availability
The Dante encyclopedia check availability
Violence and beauty Botticelli's drawings for the Divine comedy check availability
The poet's Dante check availability
Dante metamorphoses : episodes in a literary afterlife check availability
Dante for the new millennium check availability
Patterns in Dante : nine literary essays check availability
Dante and Ovid : essays in intertextuality check availability
Dante now : current trends in Dante studies check availability
Dante : contemporary perspectives check availability
Dante and the human body : eight essays check availability
Virtue & beauty : Leonardo's Ginevra de' Benci and Renaissance portraits of women check availability
The Cambridge companion to Dante check availability
Se7encheck availability
Dante and the making of a modern author Ascoli, Albert Russell,check availability
Dante's vision and the artist : four modern illustrators of the Commedia Barricelli, Jean Pierre.check availability
The divine comedy, William Blake = William Blake, Die G{232}ottliche Kom{232}odie = La divine com{226}edie, William Blake Bindman, David,check availability
Dante's Paradiso Birk, Sandow,check availability
Blake's Dante : the complete illustrations to the Divine comedy Blake, William,check availability
The drawings by Sandro Botticelli for Dante's Divine Comedy : after the originals in the Berlin Museums and the Vatican Botticelli, Sandro,check availability
Drawings for Dante's Inferno.Botticelli, Sandro,check availability
Dante and the romantics Braida, Antonella.check availability
Illuminated manuscripts of the Divine comedy Brieger, Peter H.,check availability
Illuminated manuscripts of the Divine comedy Brieger, Peter H.,check availability
Dante's Divine comedy Chwast, Seymour.check availability
The portable Dante Dante Alighieri,check availability
Inferno Dante Alighieri,check availability
Purgatorio Dante Alighieri,check availability
Paradiso Dante Alighieri,check availability
The divine comedy of Dante Alighieri : a verse translation with introds. & commentary Dante Alighieri,check availability
The divine comedy of Dante Alighieri : a verse translation with introds. & commentary Dante Alighieri,check availability
Dante's Purgatorio Dante Alighieri,check availability
Dante's Inferno Dante Alighieri,check availability
The Inferno of Dante : a new verse translation Dante Alighieri,check availability
Dante's Inferno : the first part of the Divine comedy of Dante Alighieri Dante Alighieri,check availability
The inferno Dante Alighieri,check availability
Purgatorio Dante Alighieri,check availability
The inferno Dante Alighieri,check availability
Vita nuova Dante Alighieri,check availability
Inferno Dante Alighieri,check availability
Purgatory Dante Alighieri,check availability
The divine comedy Dante Alighieri,check availability
The divine comedy Dante Alighieri,check availability
The divine comedy Dante Alighieri,check availability
The divine comedy of Dante Alighieri Dante Alighieri,check availability
The divine comedy of Dante Alighieri Dante Alighieri,check availability
Dante's Inferno Dante Alighieri,check availability
The divine comedyDante Alighieri,check availability
The divine comedyDante Alighieri,check availability
The divine comedyDante Alighieri,check availability
Purgatorio Dante Alighieri,check availability
Inferno Dante Alighieri,check availability
The divine comedy Dante Alighieri,check availability
The divine comedy Dante Alighieri,check availability
Monarchy, and Three political letters.Dante Alighieri,check availability
La divina commedia.Dante Alighieri,check availability
The divine comedy of Dante Alighieri Dante Alighieri,check availability
The Doré illustrations for Dante's Divine comedy : 136 plates Doré, Gustave,check availability
The illustrations for Dante's Divine comedy Flaxman, John,check availability
Dante : the poetics of conversion Freccero, John.check availability
Medieval optics and theories of light in the works of Dante Gilson, Simon A.check availability
Dante and Renaissance Florence Gilson, Simon A.check availability
Dante's aesthetics of being Ginsberg, Warren,check availability
Salvador Dal{225}{184} e Dante Gizzi, Corrado.check availability
Il Dante di Guttuso : cinquantasei tavole dantesche Guttuso, Renato,check availability
Dante Havely, N. R.check availability
Dante : a brief history Hawkins, Peter S.check availability
Dante's Epistle to Cangrande Hollander, Robert,check availability
Dante's two beloveds : ethics and erotics in the Divine comedy Holmes, Olivia.check availability
The Cambridge Companion to DanteJacoff, editorcheck availability
Dante's gallery of rogues : paintings of Dante's Inferno Latella, Vincenzo R.check availability
Rico Lebrun drawings.Lebrun, Rico,check availability
Studies in medieval and Renaissance literature.Lewis, C. S.check availability
Dante, poet of the desert : history and allegory in the Divine comedy Mazzotta, Giuseppe,check availability
Dante's vision and the circle of knowledge Mazzotta, Giuseppe,check availability
Illustrations to Dante's Inferno Nassar, Eugene Paul.check availability
Commentary and ideology : Dante in the Renaissance Parker, Deborah,check availability
Divine dialectic : Dante's incarnational poetry Raffa, Guy P.check availability
Danteworlds : a reader's guide to the Inferno Raffa, Guy P.check availability
Blake's illustrations to the Divine comedyRoe, Alfred S.check availability
Critical companion to Dante : a literary reference to his life and work Ruud, Jay.check availability
Dante and the Orient Schildgen, Brenda Deen,check availability
Accounting for Dante : urban readers and writers in late medieval Italy Steinberg, Justin.check availability
Images of the journey in Dante's Divine comedy Taylor, Charles H.,check availability
The ancient flame : Dante and the poets Wetherbee, Winthrop,check availability
  • Dante Specific Resources

    Dante studies, with the annual report of the Dante Society.
    Dante Studies, the official annual of the Dante Society of America, is dedicated to the furtherance of the study of the works of Dante Alighieri. (more info)
    Dante Encyclopedia
    The Dante Encyclopedia is a comprehensive reference work that presents a systematic introduction to Dante's life and works and the cultural context in which his moral and intellectual imagination took shape. It is the only such work currently available in the English language. (more info)
    Medieval Italy: An Encyclopedia
    Standard reference source for medieval Italian history. (more info)
    Cambridge Companion to Dante
    The essays center on five principal areas of Dante scholarship: Dante's early works and their relationship to the Divine Comedy; vernacular and classical literary antecedents of Dante's poetry; theological and biblical influences; historical and political dimensions of the works; and reception history. The volume opens with Giuseppe Mazzotta's brilliantly concise and decisive "Life of Dante," as useful a brief introduction to the subject as can be imagined, and it features introductory essays on each of the three canticles of the Comedy, offering insightful readings of important textual practices and critical background information. In keeping with the breadth of Dante scholarship and the limited format of the series, most of the essays include suggested further reading, and an entire section provides information about translations, Web sites, secondary works, and various other aids to the study of Dante and his world. (more info)
    Critical Companion to Dante
    Critical Companion to Dante provides a reliable, up-to-date, and encyclopedic source of information on Dante's life and work. It covers Dante's entire canon, including his love poems in La Vita Nuova and his philosophical works. With a strong emphasis on The Divine Comedy this comprehensive resource also includes detailed entries on important references, influences, historical events and places, all providing essential background for the study of this master poet. (more info)
    Literary criticism of Dante Alighieri.
    Introduction -- Diction and prosody -- The rhetorical strategies of poetry -- Allegory and other poetic figures -- On poets and the effects of poetry -- Appendix A: Illustrations of Dante's principles of construction and prosody -- Appendix B: Index of poets and poems cited in Dante's critical writings -- Glossary of technical critical terms. (more info)
    Dante and his literary precursors : twelve essays
    Cato of Utica in Cicero's De Finibus and Dante's Comedia : is he a good role model or not? / Pamela Williams-- Dante and Statius / Teresa Hankey-- Dante and Irish vision literature / Jean-Michel Picard-- Dante and the medieval prophets / Drina Oldroyd-- Dante's knowledge of Florentine history / John C. Barnes-- Dante and political poetry in the vernacular / Claire E. Honess-- Dante and Monte Andrea / Peter Hainsworth-- Dante's "neutral" angels / Stephen Bemrose-- Modes of metamorphosis in the Comedia : the case of Inferno XIII / Lynne Press-- Tradition and innovation in Purgatorio / June Salmons-- Reading of Purgatorio XXVI / Prue Shaw-- Dante and the mystical tradition : the sphere of the sun / Joanna M. Sciortino Nowlan. (more info)
    The Biblical Dante
    "Dante Alighieri cited the Bible extensively in his Commedia, but also used his epic poem to meditate on the meaning of the Scriptures as a 'true' text. The Biblical Dante provides close readings of passages from the Commedia to explore how Dante's concept of Biblical truth differs sharply from modern notions. (more info)
    Dante and the Church : literary and historical essays
    Part of the series Publications of the Foundation for Italian Studies, University College Dublin. Dante, Boniface VIII and the Jubilee / Gary Dickson -- Dante and the Franciscans / George Holmes -- "O papa Bonifazio" : Dante, Boniface VIII and Jacopone da Todi / Jennifer Petrie -- Purgatory and the spatial imagination / Alexander Murray -- Amorous bride and her lovers : Images of the Church in Dante's Heaven of the Sun / Paola Nasti -- Accidental perfection : ecclesiology and political thought in Monarchia / Matthew Kempshall -- Father of lies : (mis)readings of clerical and civic duty in Inferno XXIII / Catherine Keen. (more info)
    Dante on view : the reception of Dante in the visual and performing arts
    A collection of essays that analyses the presence of the Italian Medieval poet Dante Alighieri in the visual and performing arts since the Middle Ages. This volume explores the image of Dante emerging in medieval illuminated manuscripts and later ideological and nostalgic uses of the poet. (more info)
    Dante, cinema, and television
    "Although Dante's influence in the literary sphere is well documented, little has been written on his role in the evolution of the visual media unique to our times, namely cinema and television. Dante, Cinema, and Television corrects this oversight." "The essays in this volume, written by scholars from a broad range of disciplines, examine the impact of the Divine Comedy on film and television, focusing on specific directors, writers, producers, and actors, from cinema's silent era to the present. The essays also consider individual productions and the different modes of appropriation used in cinema and television. Dante Cinema, and Television demonstrates the many ways, both subtle and bold, in which Dante's Divine Comedy has been given new life by cinema and television, and underscores Dante's vast legacy to modern culture." (more info)
  • Journals @ Watzek

    Art Bulletin
    Indexed in Art Full Text. Art Bulletin serves as a forum for leading scholarship and debate in contemporary art-historical practice. (more info)
    Burlington Magazine
    Begun in 1903 to lavishly illustrate, attribute, discover, and document western European art for connoisseurs, Burlington Magazine has long maintained a well-respected reputation among art historians and other scholars. (more info)
    Renaissance Quarterly
    The leading journal in Renaissance studies, this publication offers research studies, review essays, and a large section of book reviews. (more info)
    Source: Notes in the History of Art
    Short articles on art history and archaeology from all historical time periods. (more info)
    Word and image
    Word & Image concerns itself with the study of the encounters, dialogues and mutual collaboration (or hostility) between verbal and visual languages, one of the prime areas of humanistic criticism. (more info)
    Medievalia et humanistica
    Since its founding in 1943, Medievalia et Humanistica has won worldwide recognition as the first scholarly publication in America to devote itself entirely to medieval and Renaissance studies. Since 1970, a new series, sponsored by the Modern Language Association of America and edited by an international board of distinguished scholars and critics, has published interdisciplinary articles. In yearly hardbound volumes, the new series publishes significant scholarship, criticism, and reviews treating all facets of medieval and Renaissance culture: history, art, literature, music, science, law, economics, and philosophy. (more info)
  • Primary Sources

    Medieval Source Book
    Search the Full Text of this resource to find not only translations of Dante's Divine Comedy, but also his contemporaries. The Source Book is easy to navigate, and the full text is divided by theme and time period. (more info)
    Online Medieval Sources Bibliography
    An extensive resource which provides detailed information about modern editions - both in print and online - of medieval primary sources. (more info)
    Christian Classics Ethereal Library
    Vast collection of searchable primary texts on Christian history and theology. (more info)
    Perseus Digital Library
    Primarily a full-text database of ancient Greek and Roman texts, the collection has recently expanded into Renaissance English and 19th century American texts as well. (more info)
    The Medici Archive Project
    A free, online, searchable database of letters and primary documentation from the Medici Grand Ducal Archive. (more info)
  • Visual Interpretations of Dante

    Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
    The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Repertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) for no charge on its Web site at http://library.getty.edu/bha. The databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007. For material published after 2007 see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA) (more info)
    Art Full Text
    Offers full text, abstracts, and indexing of an international array of publications. It now includes the Bibliography of the History of Art, 1975-2007. In addition to articles, includes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Art Index Retrospective and Art Museum Image Gallery included in Art Full Text. (more info)
    Art Index Retrospective
    Cites articles and reproductions of works of art from periodicals. (more info)
    ARTstor
    ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of millions of images across a variety of subjects, contributed by museums, artist estates, and a variety of institutions. View, present, and collect images with ARTstor for research and intstruction. CHECK OUT Lewis & Clark's collections on your home screen! (more info)
    ARTbibliographies Modern
    Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, performance art, and the practice of art fields, including curating, arts education, and art therapy. Full coverage begins in 1974, but articles date back to the late 1960s. (more info)
    Index of Christian Art
    The Index records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400 (extended in the case of the Morgan and Princeton Library projects to include manuscript holdings up to the end of the sixteenth century). There is a particular emphasis and focus on art of the western world. Seventeen different media are represented in the archive, and these include manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, glass, and so forth. (more info)
    The World of Dante
    Offers a searchable text of the Inferno, Purgatorio and Paradiso in English or Italian, and representations of the people, places, creatures and deities that appear in the poem. (more info)
    The Divine Comedy Gallery
    A thorough list of links to works by Botticelli, Dali, Dore, Maps, and Vellutello of the Divine Comedy. (more info)
    William Blake Electronic Archive: The Divine Comedy
    Put together by Morris Eaves, University of Rochester; Robert Essick, University of California, Riverside; and Joseph Viscomi , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (more info)
    Harvard Laboratory Current Exhibit: The Divine Comedy
    The Divine Comedy borrows its title from Dante Alighieri’s epic medieval poem in which the author presents a vision of earthly existence as an allegorical journey through the realms of Hell, Purgatory, and Heaven. This exhibition, curated by Sanford Kwinter, explores the political dimensions of History (Weiwei), Mind (Eliasson), and Cosmos (Saraceno), and how these aspects of contemporary experience are being engaged by art and design speculation today. (more info)
  • Dante Projects @ Universities

    The Dartmouth Dante Project
    The Dartmouth Dante Project (DDP) is a searchable full-text database containing more than seventy commentaries on Dante's Divine Comedy - the Commedia. (more info)
    The Princeton Dante Project
    Combines a traditional approach to the study of Dante's Comedy with new techniques of compiling and consulting data, images, and sound. (more info)
    Danteworlds
    Out of the U. of Texas at Austin, Danteworlds presents an integrated multimedia journey, combining artistic images, textual commentary, and audio recordings -- through the Inferno, Purgatory, Paradise presented in Dante's Divine Comedy. (more info)
    Digital Dante @ Columbia U.
    Combines resources, 3 Classical texts, translations, digital image resources, and more to help get you started on research -- or take you to the next level! (more info)
    Dante in Translation, Yale U.
    Professor Mazzotta has compiled an interactive website to illustrate how imagery and media reveal the "conversation of the arts" underlying Dante's poetry. Contains some valuable images, but only covers Cantos VI-X of the Paradiso. (more info)
    Renaissance Dante in Print, 1472-1629
    This digital exhibition presents Renaissance editions of Dante's Divine Comedy from the John A. Zahm, C.S.C., Dante Collection at the University of Notre Dame, together with selected treasures from The Newberry Library. The nine incunable editions and nearly complete series of 16th-century imprints featured in this exhibit constitute essential primary sources for both the history of Dante's reception during the Renaissance and the early history of the printed book. (more info)
    The Leeds Centre for Dante Studies, Podcasts
    The Centre for Dante Studies runs a podcast, which can be subscribed to freely from anywhere in the world. The podcast is designed both to enrich undergraduates' study of Dante, and to be of interest to a broader audience. (more info)
    Stanford's Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Dante
    The SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. (more info)
This page maintained by Stephanie Beene sbeene@lclark.edu. .