Research Guide: Images Across Subjects
-
Databases and Indexes @ LC
-
ARTstor
- ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of millions of images across a variety of subjects, contributed by museums, artist estates, and a variety of institutions. View, present, and collect images with ARTstor for research and intstruction. CHECK OUT Lewis & Clark's collections on your home screen! (more info)
-
America: History and Life
- Indexes the scholarly literature on the history of the U.S. and Canada. Includes links to full text of the articles also included in JSTOR. (more info)
-
Bridgeman Education
- Over 360,000 images from museums, galleries, private collections and contemporary artists all copyright-cleared for educational use. Visual culture of every civilization and every period from Prehistory to the present day across continents and civilizations. (more info)
-
JSTOR
- Use the advanced search function to search within the folklore discipline. (more info)
-
Finding Images
-
Creative Commons Federated Search
- Use one search tool, CreativeCommons.org, to search a variety of services, including Google Images, Flickr, Wikimedia Commons, and the web for Creative Commons-licensed images. Be sure to read their individual licenses for use permissions. (more info)
-
Flickr Commons Images
- Provides access to the treasures of the world's public photography archives - includes the Library of Congress, the New York Public Library, the Smithsonian, the Getty, and Oregon State University Archives.
-
Flickr Advanced Search
- Use Flickr Advanced Search to find images licensed under a Creative Commons License, and/or to search videos or more precisely across the vast range of images on Flickr. (more info)
-
LUNA Commons
- Collections shared by institutions highlight historic maps, photo archives, art collections, and ethnographic research documentation. All collections may be used for educational and research purposes under "fair use." (more info)
-
Europeana (European)
- Europeana links to over 4.6 million digital items from European museums and galleries, archives, libraries and audio-visual collections. (more info)
-
Visual Arts Data Service (VADS) - UK
- Comprised of over 100,000 images, an online resource for the visual arts, derived from collections in the UK. (more info)
-
Flickr Storm
- A collaboration between Flickr and zoo-m, searching generates thumbnails of images which can be organized into a "tray" and downloaded. The advanced search allows for Creative Commons searching. (more info)
-
South Asian Resources
-
Digital South Asia Library at the University of Chicago
- Extremely high quality maps, atlas maps, and gis data for South Asia (more info)
-
Dr. Frances Pritchett at Columbia University's website on South Asia & India
- Prof. Frances Pritchett at Columbia University: Colonial maps, literature, research (his own and others'), Islam in South Asia, and documents on historic routes through South Asia. (more info)
-
Southeast Asia Visions, @ Cornell University Library
- This project brings together archival material, photographs, and maps from a collection of European travel accounts of pre-modern Southeast Asia from Cornell University Library's John M. Echols Collection. (more info)
-
Beyond the Taj: Cornell University's Architectural Traditions and Landscape Experience in South Asia.
- A collection of 6,682 images free to download and use for educational purposes spanning the range of South Asian and covering landscapes and the range of architecture across South Asia (more info)
-
Magazines Online
-
LIFE Magazine Online
- LIFE does an amazing job of making their content available online, in an intuitive interface, and they add content constantly. Propaganda posters, civil war photographs, and much more. (more info)
-
LIFE photo archive hosted by Google
- Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, from the 1750s to present. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
-
TIME Magazine Online
- Search their full archives back to 1923, covers, cover stories, images, etc. Great for viewing the changing American sociopolitical landscape! (more info)
-
Wallpaper Magazine
- Offering interactive features like audio, video, and a blog, Wallpaper Magazine discusses the cutting edge in fashion, art, architecture, design, and technology. (more info)
-
Aesthetica Magazine
- Aesthetica engages with the arts both in the UK and internationally, combining dynamic content with compelling critical debate and pushing boundaries while exploring the best in contemporary arts and culture. (more info)
-
Museum and Image Collections Online
-
University of Michigan's List of Museums Online
- An exhaustive list of museums and museum sites online, cataloged through the United States, Europe, Canada, and the Eastern Hemisphere. Also contains links and a list of Museum Organizations. Updated by Pat Young at the University of Michigan.
-
University of Michigan's List of Image Collections Online
- An exhaustive list of Image Collections and Online Art, with descriptions of the resource, covering Africa and the Diaspora, the Americas, Asia, Europe, Islam, the Classical World of the Mediterranean, Photography, and a List of Collections, Galleries, and Sources. Updated and maintained by Pat Young at the University of Michigan.
-
New York Public Library's Digital Gallery
- NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
-
Smithsonian Museums
- Links to the searchable collections of the Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum, the Freer + Sackler Galleries, the Hirschhorn Museum & Sculpture Garden, the National Museum of African Art, the American Art Museum. See also resources for art and design, among others.
-
Morgan Library and Museum
- A global institution focused on the European and American traditions, the Morgan houses one of the world's foremost collections of manuscripts, rare books, music, drawings, and more. Search the online collection catalog or browse the online exhibits. (more info)
-
Victoria & Albert Museum, UK
- V&A has launched a Beta version of Search the Collections taking its online collection from 55,000 object records to over a million.
-
The Wellcome Library, UK
- An eclectic library of images that range from architectural photographs and representations to scanning electron micrographs (SEM) of cancer cells and bacteria.
-
Nineteenth Century Scholarship Online
- NINES (Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-Century Electronic Scholarship) is a scholarly organization devoted to forging links between the material archive of the nineteenth century and the digital research environment of the twenty-first. Activities are driven by three primary goals: to serve as a peer-reviewing body for digital work in the long 19th-century (1770-1920), British and American;
to support scholars' priorities and best practices in the creation of digital research materials; and to develop software tools for new and traditional forms of research and critical analysis.
(more info)
-
Exploring 20th Century London
- Art & design, ads, photos, videos, archival documents - all accumulated here and browesable by theme or timeline. The project’s aim is to make the collections held by these museums more accessible, but to do so in a way that links the objects in the collections with the broader history of London. All objects and images featured on the site speak of the real events and experiences of twentieth-century London. (more info)
-
National Museum of Women Artists, Washington, D.C.
- Founded in 1987, NMWA is the only major museum in the world solely dedicated to recognizing women’s creative contributions. By bringing to light remarkable women artists of the past while also promoting the best women artists working today, the museum directly addresses the gender imbalance in the presentation of art in the U.S. and abroad, thus assuring great women artists a place of honor now and into the future. (more info)
-
Digital Libraries and Archives
-
Ad*access
- The Ad*Access Project presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. (more info)
-
World Digital Library
- Collections of images, films, and sound recordings from around the world. Contributors include American, European, and Middle Eastern collections, but efforts are being made to engage African countries in the project.
-
America in the 1930s
- A multimedia archive from the University of Virginia chronicling the period of the 1930s in America.
-
William Blake Archive
- An exhaustive and scholarly site about William Blake and his works.
-
WWI Poetry Digital Archive
- Online repository of over 7000 items of text, images, audio, and video for teaching, learning, and research. Includes interactive multimedia and primary source material. (more info)
-
Reed College's Artists' Books Collection
- An online collection which holds approximately 1,000 books including the most significant 20th century and contemporary artists' books. Individual web pages for sixteen of the most significant book works contain a gallery of images to navigate the entire work, a brief biography on the artist, a description of the book, and the books colophon.
-
Densho: The Japanese American Legacy Project
- Search the Archive for content such as videoed oral histories, photo and document collections, and camp newspapers. Users must register to gain access to the full content, but registration is free.
-
Japanese American Relocation Digital Archives (JARDA)
- Part of California Digital Library. Contains thousands of Japanese American internment primary source materials including personal histories, letters and diaries. also included are official documents related to day-to-day life in the camps. (more info)
-
Library of Congress Resources
-
Library of Congress Photos on Flickr
- The Library of Congress' photo collection on Flickr.com. The Prints & Photographs Division takes care of 14 million of the Library's pictures, dating to the early 1800s, and features more than 1 million online catalogs. (more info)
-
Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
- 50% of the Library of Congress's prints and photographs collection, this resource contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and other units of the Library.
-
American Indians of the Pacific Northwest
- This site from the Library of Congress provides teachers and students with access to documents and images about Northwest and Plateau Indian peoples and cultures
-
Library of Congress: The Empire that was Russia
- A searchable database of architecture, ethnic culture, transportation and other images focusing on contemporary Russian life taken by Sergei Mikhailovich Prokudin-Gorskii, photographer to Nicholas II, the last Tsar of Russia. Through the digichromatography color rendering process, Prokudin-Gorskii's black and white and sepia toned images have been converted into color.
-
Library of Congress American Memory Project
- American Memory is a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more than 9 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections. Digital images for free in large resolution.
-
New Media and 3D
-
Art + Culture
- Art + Culture connects art lovers, artists and organizations to make and share recommendations across all the arts. Art + Culture's growing website currently contains images and information on 2,470 artists connected through 6 artistic disciplines, including such artists as Jack Kerouac, Amelia Jones, Peter Beard, The International Writers Project, and more.
-
Photosynth
- Photosynth from Microsoft Labs creates a 3D viewing experience from layering photographs of the same place or object. View the Colosseum, the Egyptian Pyramids, or the Jefferson Memorial, to name a few, in 3D.
-
Spezify
- Searches across blogs, microblogs, websites, images, video, and multimedia when you enter your search terms. It displays results like a collage, in full-screen mode, with enough information to quickly distinguish relevant results. Click-and-drag and an intuitive interface are a plus. (more info)
-
TinEye: Reverse Image Search
- A reverse image search engine. Submit an image to TinEye to discover its origins, how it's being modified, who's using it and how, or to find higher resolution versions. TinEye is the first image search engine on the web to use image identification technology rather than keywords, metadata or watermarks. (more info)
-
Visual Search Lab
- Search by similar image, color, or tag and watch the results change. Powered by Flickr and Idee labs.
-
Medieval & Renaissance Resources
-
ART 333: Visual Perspectives on the Divine Comedy
-
ART 451 - The Art and Culture of Sandro Boticelli
-
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
- A citation database for journal articles and books pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for reviews of books, review articles, collections of essays, and many other types of resources are included. Updated daily. ITER also provides access to other databases, such as the Early Theatre database and the Medici Archive Project. (more info)
-
International Medieval Bibliography
- An interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 300-1500 A.D. (more info)
-
Web Gallery of Art (Europe)
- A virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture from 12th to mid-19th centuries. Includes guided tours of museums, interactive, full-screen views of artworks, and a glossary, among other resources. (more info)
-
The Medici Archive Project
- A free, online, searchable database of letters and primary documentation from the Medici Grand Ducal Archive. (more info)
-
Giorgio Vasari's Lives of the Artists
- A project to present the full, unabridged, English translations of Giorgio Vasari's 'Lives of the Artists.' Each 'Life' will be supplemented by images and a bibliography.
-
Piero della Francesca's Legend of the True Cross Interactive
- This interactive model gives historical information, 3D navigation, and high-resolution zoomable images.
-
St. Peter's Basilica Interactive Floorplan
- Floorplan indicates uses of space within the Vatican complex through a system of letters and numbers, identifying various sculptural and artistic elements. Each letter and number links to an additional page that includes visual and textual information about the site indicated.
-
Mapping Gothic France
- With a database of images, texts, charts and historical maps, this project allows exploration of the parallel stories of Gothic architecture and the formation of France in the 12th and 13th centuries, in three dimensions. Beautiful images accompanied with 360 degree views accesible through interactive maps. Also includes interactive floor plans. (more info)
-
Other Visual Resources Collections
-
The University of Texas, School of Architecture's Visual Resources Collection
- A near comprehensive list of search tools, links, and resources, spanning art and architectural history, image collections, and tutorials.
-
The University of Michigan's Visual Resources Collection
- The University of Michigan's guide includes a wide span of resources and links in the fields of fine art, art and design, architecture and urbanism, performing arts images, medical images, and more.
-
Yale University Visual Resources Collection
- Of special note are the near useful subject and assignment guides, found under "Research Tools," along with "Image Resources," and "Electronic Resources."