Research Guide: Classical Studies
-
Getting started in Classics
-
The Oxford encyclopedia of ancient Greece and Rome
- More acccessible than the New Pauly, this set provides articles written by leading scholars in the field, that convey the significance of the people, places, and historical events of classical antiquity, together with its intellectual and material culture. (more info)
-
Brill's New Pauly- Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World
- The unrivaled reference work for the ancient world. (more info)
-
Classical Studies A guide to the reference literature
- Offers an annotated bibliography of book-length reference works, covering the rise and fall of the Greek and Roman civilisations from the Bronze Age through to the 6th century AD. This work also includes titles in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. It is useful for reference librarians, students, and classical scholars (more info)
-
Arts & humanities through the eras.
- Through the presentation of nine different arts and humanities topics, such as architecture and design, literature, religion, and visual arts, this volume describes the cultures of ancient Greece and Rome, from 1200 B.C.E. to 476 C.E. (more info)
-
Cambridge Histories Online
- Instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. Covers economic, political, literary, social history as well as the arts and philosophy. (more info)
-
Cambridge Ancient Histories
- Online and in print. (more info)
-
Philosophy Databases
-
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- This English-language reference source for philosophy has been the cornerstone of the philosophy reference shelf. Lauded for its clear and accessible presentation of wide-ranging philosophical subjects, the Encyclopedia has earned its place as a first-stop resource for general readers, students and educators. (more info)
-
Philosopher's Index
- Indexing and abstracts of philosophy articles, books, and book chapters. (more info)
-
Philosophy Compass
- Contains full text of peer reviewed articles from across the discipline.
-
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- A non-profit, peer-reviewed resource, by scholars for scholars. (more info)
-
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
-
More than 2000 articles from over 1300 leading international experts across the discipline.
(more info)
-
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- Online philosophy encyclopedia that is kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of an Editorial Board. (more info)
-
Oxford Bibliographies Online
- OBO provides an introduction to the specialized literature on both major and minor topics within the fields of Buddhism, Medieval Studies, International Relations,
Renaissance and Reformation, Philosophy and
Victorian Literature. (more info)
-
PhilPapers: Online Research in Philosophy
-
Classics-Related Databases
-
Academic Search Complete
- Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. (more info)
-
ACLS Humanities Ebook
- Humanities E-Book is a digital collection of over 3,700 full-text titles. Online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars. These titles also appear in the library catalog. (more info)
-
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
- A part of the Web of Science database, the AHCI tracks 'who's citing whom' in the arts and humanities. Coverage is 1980-present. (more info)
-
ArchiveGrid
- ArchiveGrid provides online access to nearly a million descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. Includes access to collections held by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, the Art Institute of Chicago, Smithsonian Institution - Archives of American Art, New York Public Library, and many more: listed on their homepage. (more info)
-
General OneFile
- Over 6500 full text titles; contains popular, business and professional journals, NPR audio files complete with transcripts, and Fodor's travel guides. (more info)
-
JSTOR
- Use the advanced search function to search within the folklore discipline. (more info)
-
Art Databases
-
Art Full Text
- Offers full text, abstracts, and indexing of an international array of publications. It now includes the Bibliography of the History of Art, 1975-2007. In addition to articles, includes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Art Index Retrospective and Art Museum Image Gallery included in Art Full Text. (more info)
-
Art Index Retrospective
- Cites articles and reproductions of works of art from periodicals. (more info)
-
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
- The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Repertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) for no charge on its Web site at http://library.getty.edu/bha. The databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007. For material published after 2007 see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA) (more info)
-
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
- Encompassing over four thousand years of artistry and innovation, this resource spans every art form, medium and civilization from Cycladic, Minoan, Helladic, and Etruscan art to the fall of the Roman Empire. (more info)
-
Index of Christian Art
- The Index records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400 (extended in the case of the Morgan and Princeton Library projects to include manuscript holdings up to the end of the sixteenth century). There is a particular emphasis and focus on art of the western world. Seventeen different media are represented in the archive, and these include manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, glass, and so forth. (more info)
-
Images on the Web
-
WorldImages database
- A free access database of 65,000 images on the art, architecture and culture of the world that includes all areas of visual imagery. (more info)
-
Luna Commons Collections
- A new project incorporating over 200,000 Collections. A free public resource for discovering quality primary source materials with authoritative descriptive data. (more info)
-
Flickr Commons Images
- Provides access to the treasures of the world's public photography archives - includes the Library of Congress, the New York Public Library, the Smithsonian, the Getty, and Oregon State University Archives.
-
National Gallery of Art | NGA Images
- A repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. On this website you can search, browse, share, and download images. More than 20,000 open access digital images up to 3000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use.
-
Europeana (Europe)
- Explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. More than 15 million items, including Images (paintings, drawings, maps, photos and pictures of museum objects); Texts (books, newspapers, letters, diaries and archival papers); Sounds (music and spoken word from cylinders, tapes, discs and radio broadcasts); and Videos (films, newsreels and TV broadcasts).
-
Visual Arts Data Service (VADS) - UK
- Comprised of over 100,000 images, an online resource for the visual arts, derived from collections in the UK. (more info)