Research Guide: Library Catalogs

Primary library catalogs

L&C WorldCat
New search software that allows users to find materials at L&C, in Summit, and in libraries around the world. Also includes some journal articles from specific databases like MEDLINE (medicine and health), ERIC (education), GPO (U.S. government publications), ArticleFirst and British Library Serials. (more info)
L&C Classic Catalog
This legacy software searches the collections of both Watzek and Boley libraries, but nothing else. (more info)
WorldCat via FirstSearch
WorldCat FirstSearch does not include journal articles but has some search functionality that Lewis & Clark WorldCat lacks. (more info)

Other library catalogs

Multnomah County Library
The public library in Portland has strong collections in regional and local history. (more info)
Oregon Historical Society
The Collections Online Catalog contains electronic records for most of the Research Library's books and serials and a portion of the library's manuscripts, photographs, maps, oral histories and other special format items. A number of additional items in the library's collections are indexed in the Research Library's card catalog, which is located in the library reading room. (more info)
Libdex
LibDex is a worldwide directory of library homepages, Catalog-based library catalogs, and Friends of the Library pages. (more info)
British Library
14 million books, 920,000 journal and newspaper titles, 58 million patents, 3 million sound recordings. (more info)
Library of Congress
The Library of Congress is the nation's oldest federal cultural institution and serves as the research arm of Congress. It is also the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, maps and manuscripts in its collections.

Search Inside Books

Google Book Search
Google Book Search searches the text of books scanned and stored by Google. (more info)
Open Library
featuring more than 23 million books (and more than 1 million with full-text) (more info)
Amazon's "Search Inside the Book"
Amazon.com allows to search trhough the contents of some books that are not included in Google Book search. (more info)

Return to Research Guides and Databases by Subject

This page maintained by Dan Kelley dkelley@lclark.edu. Updated June 19th, 2009.