Research Guide: Religion

Religion Databases

ATLA Religion Index
Contains indexes and full text relating to the study of all religious subjects. Click the info button for printing instructions. (more info)
New Testament Abstracts
Indexing and abstracts for articles, reviews, books and software in the area of New Testament studies. (1985-present) (more info)
Old Testament Abstracts
Indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, and multi-author works related to Old Testament studies. (1978-present) (more info)
Oxford Biblical Studies
Access to six Oxford editions of the Bible, alongside commentary and annotations from study Bibles, combined with reference material and primary texts. (more info)
Religious & Theological Abstracts
Provides objective summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology. (more info)

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier
Indexes and abstracts more than 8,300 journals; almost 4,700 of these titles are in full text. (more info)
Arts & Humanities Citation Search
Contains records referencing arts and humanities subjects. (Tip: in an Author search, use the last name and first initial). (more info)

Religion Websites: General and Metasites

Academic Info Religion
An annotated directory of Internet resources for the academic study of religion.
American Religion Data Archives
The American Religion Data Archive collects quantitative data sets for the study of American religion.
BUBL links to Religion
A British information service provides and annotates religion links for the higher education community. Organized by topic; site is also searchable.
Librarians' Internet Index: Religion
An annotated list of religion links compiled by librarians.
Pluralism Project
From Harvard University, this project studies religious diversity in the U.S. and has expanded to cover the international dimensions of religious diversity, difference, and dialogue. New initiatives focus on civic engagement, interfaith action, and women's networks. Resource links are organized by faith or by state. Other resources include bibliographies and the project's own research.

Religion Websites: Texts

Internet Sacred Text Archive
The single largest religious text archive on the Internet. Has 46 catagories covering religion, mythology, legend, folklore and the occult.
Religious and Sacred Texts
Smaller than the Internet Sacred Text Archive but complementary to it. Strong in Old and New Testament texts not found in the Bible.
World Scripture
This collection contains over 4000 scriptural passages from 268 sacred texts and 55 oral traditions, and is organized in terms of 164 different themes. This text is the result of a five-year project involving the collaboration of an international team of 40 recognized scholars representing all the major religious traditions of the world.

Buddhism Websites

Buddhist Studies WWW Virtual Library
Includes links for Pure Land Buddhism, Tibetan Studies, Zen Buddhism and a Theravada Buddhist Infoweb.
Journal of Buddhist Ethics
An e-journal which also has links to Pali Canon online and scholarly resources for Buddhist studies.
Resources for the Study of Buddhism
Gateway to general Buddhist resources. Includes links to Mahayana Buddhist teachings, collections of Buddhist texts and to Buddhism and Science.
IGCS: Internet Guide for Chinese Studies, Philosophy and Religion
Contains carefully selected links to fulltext sites .

Hinduism Websites

Hindu Universe
Provides links to more than 17,000 sites. Probably the best single site for the subject on the Internet.

Islam Websites

Encyclopaedia of Islam
Reference source on the Islamic world, the religion, the believers and the countries in which they live. (more info)
Index Islamicus
Classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. (more info)
Islam Page
Text of the Quran in more than 20 languages and 20 pages of links to subject areas.
Shi'ite Encyclopedia
Can be viewed by section or searched by keyword.
Center for Muslim-Christian Understanding
Information and links to Muslim publications, organizations and academic programs

Jainism Websites

Jainism: Principles, Tradition and Practices
Best on the Internet for this subject. Catagories include texts, images, pilgrimages, directories and regional organizations.

Judaism Websites

Academic Jewish Studies Internet Directory
Covers almost 500 sources for the study of Judaism. Contains RAMBI, the electronic index to periodical articles in Jewish Studies.
Encyclopaedia Judaica
more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists. (more info)
Jewish Encyclopedia
Contains the complete contents of the 12 volume encyclopedia published from 1901-1906.
Judaism and Jewish Resources
Premier gateway to a huge number of links, all annotated, with a Table of Contents on the first page.
Orion Center for the Study of the Dead Sea Scrolls and Associated Literature.
The scrolls may be studied in virtual form here. Site also contains news articles and links
Dead Sea Scrolls
Based on an exhibit sponsored by the Judaica Foundation
Princeton Geniza Project
Contains transcribed Jewish documents in Hebrew from 19th Century Cairo. Also has the Table of Contents for: Goitein, S.D. "A Mediterranean Society: The Jewish Communities of the Arab World as Portrayed in the Documents of the Cairo Geniza".

Sikhism Websites

Gateway to Sikhism
Organized around key Sikh subjects. Has a search engine feature.
Sikhism
Of particular value for online videos which can be viewed in RealVideo format. These are instructional and devotional.

Taoism Websites

Taoism Information Page
Offers links for commentaries, interpretations of Tao religious writings and sites for Chinese philosophy in general.

Zoroastrianism websites

World of Traditional Zoroastrianism
Contains tenets of Mazdayasni Zarathustri religion

Return to Research Guides and Databases by Subject

This page maintained by Betty Smith smithb@lclark.edu. Updated July 7th, 2009.