Research Guide: Political Science

Political Science Databases

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science, international relations, law, and public administration & policy. (more info)
LexisNexis Congressional
Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative publications and more. (more info)
Congressional Observer Publications
Accurate, timely and non-partisan coverage of every vote in the US House and Senate. (more info)

Political Science-Related Databases

Columbia International Affairs Online
International affairs resource; includes journals, books, policy briefs and working papers. (more info)
U. S. Congressional Serial Set 1817-1980
Search or browse the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes for the period 1817-1980. (more info)
TRACfed
Authoritative information about Federal government enforcement, staffing and spending. (more info)
Pro & Con Online
A database of issues covered by Congressional Digest, Supreme Court Debates and International Debates since 1998. (more info)
PAIS International and PAIS Archive
Indexes articles on a wide range of public policy topics, national and international. (more info)
Left Index
Leads to articles in left-leaning periodicals about politics, economics, and society. (more info)
HeinOnline
Exact page images of law journals, U.S. Reports, Federal Register, and treaty & international agreements etc. (more info)
CQ Researcher
Full text of CQ Researcher reports on major U.S. social, economic and political issues. (more info)
CQ Global Researcher
In-depth coverage of global affairs from a number of international viewpoints. (more info)
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports, Major Studies and Issue Briefs
Boley Law Library's guide to to CRS studies and reports. (more info)
World News Connection
Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, the information in WNC covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. (more info)

Political Science-Related Print Indexes

Criminal Justice Abstracts
Provides abstracts of books, journal articles , dissertations, and reports published worldwide. Includes topics such as crime, the offender & the victim, juvenile delinquency and justice, police, crime prevention and control.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier
Indexes and abstracts more than 8,300 journals; almost 4,700 of these titles are in full text. (more info)
JSTOR
Full text of scholarly journals, from earliest issues up to 3-5 years ago. (more info)
LexisNexis Academic
Full text of national, regional, and international newspapers, business, and legal sources and more. (more info)
Project Muse
Full text articles from scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. (more info)

Political Science Meta-Sites

Politics Navigator
A meta-site of political science resources, produced by the New York Times. The site is annotated and frequently updated.
Political Science Resources on the Web
Produced by a librarian at the University of Michigan, this meta-site is extremely comprehensive for political science and government information. Topics include: foreign politics, news media, methodology and grants, think tanks, statistics, and more
Richard Kimber's Political Science Resources
This meta-site provides links to hundreds of useful sites, and has excellent international coverage. Topics include: official government websites, elections, constitutions, theory, local government, and more. Emphasizes UK politics.

Political Science Reference Sites

Moving Ideas Network
A network of over 250 nonprofit organizations devoted to progressive policy and advocacy work. Find information and publications by group or subject. Founded by the American Prospect policy magazine, this site is now run by Care2, a progressive online community.
Political MoneyLine
This non-partisan site is a service from Congressional Quarterly that tracks "who gave what to which Federal candidates when..."
John F. Kennedy Executive Orders
Full Text of Executive Orders of President Kennedy
Freedom Of Information Resources
Maintained by the Society of Professional Journalists, this site helps individuals obtain information from federal and local governments.
Oyez: U.S. Supreme Court Multimedia
Contains print and audio of past, current and pending Supreme Court Cases
1040.com
The place to go for state and federal forms, news, and general tax information. See especially the links to individual states' departments of revenue.

Polling

Polling the Nations
A compilation of more than 14,000 surveys conducted by over 1000 polling organizations in the U. S. and 100 other countries from 1986 to the present time. (more info)
Harris Polls
Begun in 1963, The Harris Poll weekly column is one of the longest running, most respected series of surveys measuring public opinion. The Harris Poll publishes new survey data on a wide variety of subjects including politics, the economy, health care, foreign affairs, science and technology, sports and entertainment, and lifestyles. Many of the survey questions are repeated throughout the years, thereby providing invaluable trend lines.
Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center studies public attitudes toward the press, politics and public policy issues. The Center's main purpose is to serve as a forum for ideas on the media and public policy through its research.
Gallup.com
Includes a list of poll topics.
PollingReport.com
Easy access to timely, high quality poll data from the publishers of The Polling Report
American Attitudes: Program on International Policy Attitudes
The Program on International Policy Attitudes (PIPA) carries out research on public opinion on foreign policy and international issues by conducting nationwide polls, focus groups and comprehensive reviews of polling conducted by other organizations. PIPA is a joint program of the Center on Policy Attitudes (COPA) and the Center for International and Security Studies at Maryland (CISSM), School of Public Affairs, University of Maryland.
Roper Center
A free site with fewer resources than the sire from Lexis nexis. Surveys are drawn from more than 100 countries and 60 years of commercial and academic research.
American National Election Studies
ANES conducts national surveys of the American electorate in presidential and midterm election years. The ANES time-series now encompasses 23 biennial election studies spanning five decades. The guide provides political observers, policy makers, journalists, teachers, students, and social scientists with immediate access to tables and graphs that display the ebb and flow of public opinion and electoral behavior and choice in American politics since 1948.
Public Agenda Online
Public Agenda is a nonpartisan organization that seeks, among other things, to align elites more closely with public opinion. Along these lines it provides some elaborately produced public opinion data on particular issues (all results are presented graphically).

International Political Affairs

CIA World Factbook
A comprehensive resource of facts and statistics on more than 250 countries and other entities.
Institute for Media, Peace and Security
A research tool for media, peace and security issues.
Political Database of the Americas
Provides links or full text access to current primary documents and information regarding politics in the Western Hemisphere. Topics include: constitutions, elections, political parties, government, and more.
United Nations Scholars' Workstation
This site at Yale University is a collection of texts, finding aids, data sets, maps, and other resources. It supports teaching and research of the United Nations.
International Crisis Group
The International Crisis Group (ICG) is an independent, non-profit, non-governmental organization, with over 130 staff members on five continents, working through field-based analysis and high-level advocacy to prevent and resolve deadly conflict. ICG's approach is grounded in field research. Teams of political analysts are located within or close by countries at risk of outbreak, escalation or recurrence of violent conflict. Based on information and assessments from the field, ICG produces regular analytical reports containing practical recommendations targeted at key international decision-takers.

State and Local Government Sites

Oregon.gov
The official home page for the state of Oregon, this site provides sources of information about state and local government, national, international and tribal government, and state laws and regulations. It also includes content areas about living, visiting and working in Oregon, business, education, and facts about the state.
State and Local Government on the Net
A useful directory for finding state and local governments on the web. Also includes selected multi-state sites, federal resources, and national organizations.

Federal Sites

Federal Sites
Connect to Lewis & Clark's Government Resources subject page.
Federal Agency Internet Sites
This is a directory to all federal agency websites. Search by keyword or browse the list. Entries are based on the U.S. Government Manual.
FBI's Freedom of Information Act Reading Room
The FBI created this site to distribute frequently requested documents released under the Freedom of Information Act. Browse the alphabetical index, or, in the Electronic Reading Room, look at files by topic areas, such as Espionage, Gangster Era, or Unusual Phenomena.
GPO Access
A service of the U.S. Government Printing Office, this site provides free electronic access to over 1,000 databases of official Federal information. (more info)
House of Representatives
Search the membership and committee directories; read about House operations, news of recent activities, and more.
U.S. Senate
Provides information about Senate membership, committees, current Senate news, and much more.
THOMAS -- Legislative Information on the Internet
An important site for U.S. legislative information. Access the full text of bills, laws, the Congressional Record, committee reports, and more.
U.S. Budget
Budget of the United States Government. Available from 1997 to the current budget.

International Agency Sites

Asian Development Bank
Includes an online version of Key Indicators of Developing Asian and Pacific Countries
Europa
A straight-forward guide to the European Union. Access information on: current news, basics of the EU, policies, and union institutions.
ISN: International Relations and Security Network
This organization's website provides access to unclassified government information and academic texts related to international relations and security affairs.
NATO
The official home page of the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation. Find current news, general information about the organization, an archive of publications, and more.
United Nations
The official website for the UN. This site provides access to UN news and information, online databases, documents and publications, and more. Try the UN library's website or Yale University's UN Scholar's Workstation to learn about the bewildering world of UN Documents. The University of Washington is the closest UN Depository Library .
World Bank
The website of the World Bank. This page provides news on regions and countries, development topics, projects, the full-text of publications, and more.

Statistics Sources

ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
The largest archive of computer-readable social science data in the world. Holdings of over 5,300 titles and over 100,000 unique files. You must create an individual account to download the files. (more info)

Return to Research Guides and Databases by Subject

This page maintained by Betty Smith smithb@lclark.edu. Updated August 25th, 2009.