Research Guide: Philosophy
-
Philosophy Databases
-
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- This English-language reference source for philosophy has been the cornerstone of the philosophy reference shelf. Lauded for its clear and accessible presentation of wide-ranging philosophical subjects, the Encyclopedia has earned its place as a first-stop resource for general readers, students and educators. (more info)
-
Philosopher's Index
- Indexing and abstracts of philosophy articles, books, and book chapters. (more info)
-
Philosophy Compass
- Contains full text of peer reviewed articles from across the discipline.
-
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- A non-profit, peer-reviewed resource, by scholars for scholars. (more info)
-
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
-
More than 2000 articles from over 1300 leading international experts across the discipline.
(more info)
-
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- Online philosophy encyclopedia that is kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of an Editorial Board. (more info)
-
Oxford Bibliographies Online
- OBO provides an introduction to the specialized literature on both major and minor topics within the fields of Buddhism, Medieval Studies, International Relations,
Renaissance and Reformation, Philosophy and
Victorian Literature. (more info)
-
PhilPapers: Online Research in Philosophy
-
Multi-disciplinary databases
-
Academic Search Complete
- Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. (more info)
-
Academic OneFile
- Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. (more info)
-
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
- A part of the Web of Science database, the AHCI tracks 'who's citing whom' in the arts and humanities. Coverage is 1980-present. (more info)
-
ARTstor
- ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of millions of images across a variety of subjects, contributed by museums, artist estates, and a variety of institutions. View, present, and collect images with ARTstor for research and intstruction. CHECK OUT Lewis & Clark's collections on your home screen! (more info)
-
Early English Books Online - EEBO
- EEBO contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 (more info)
-
Eighteenth Century Collections Online - ECCO
- ECCO delivers the full-text and page images of every significant English-language and
foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with
thousands of important works from the Americas. (more info)
-
Google Scholar
- Google's academic search engine now has links to the full text that Watzek Library provides. (more info)
-
JSTOR
- Use the advanced search function to search within the folklore discipline. (more info)
-
L&C WorldCat
- Discovery tool that allows users to find materials at L&C, in Summit, and in libraries around the world. Also includes some journal articles from specific databases like MEDLINE (medicine and health), ERIC (education), GPO (U.S. government publications), ArticleFirst and British Library Serials. (more info)
-
LexisNexis Academic
- Full text of national, regional, and international newspapers, business, and legal sources and more. (more info)
-
PAIS International
- Indexes articles on a wide range of public policy topics, national and international. (more info)
-
Web of Science
- Use one or more of the Citation Indexes in the Web of Science to discover articles that have cited a specific article or author. (more info)