Research Guide: Foreign Languages and Literature

Foreign Languages and Literature-Related Databases

ARTFL
nearly 3,000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. (more info)
Arts & Humanities Citation Search
Contains records referencing arts and humanities subjects. (Tip: in an Author search, use the last name and first initial). (more info)
ClasePeriodica
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities. (more info)
Encyclopédie ou Dictionnaire raisonné des sciences, des arts et des métier
Published under the direction of Diderot, with 17 volumes of text and 11 volumes of plates between 1751 and 1772. (more info)
Essay and General Literature Index
Indexes essays in books and anthologies. (more info)
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Contains bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, and original literary works in social science and humanities journals. (more info)
Literature Resource Center
Critical analyses, biographies and bibliographies of literary authors. (more info)
MLA Bibliography
Literature, language, linguistics, folklore. (more info)

Spanish Studies

Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes
Hundreds of links to Spanish literary sites, libraries, texts, digital projects, and more. In Spanish.
Dialnet
Dialnet provides access to contemporary scholarly publishing in Spain and Latin America, with tables of contents of over 3,000 humanities, social sciences and science journals. Coverage includes citations for 1.2 million documents, abstracts for many of these, and full text for some 100,000.
Diccionario Espasa literatura espanola
A single volume resource that serves as a bio-bibliography of Spanish writers, with pictures.
Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature
Covers important writers, topics and works in Latin American literature, including survey articles on individual countries.
Encyclopedia of Latin American Theater
Organized alphabetically by country, each section has an introductory essay and bibliography before leading into information about writers and their works.
Iberian Studies Web
From the Western European Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries. Links to scholarly resources in Iberian studies (Spain, Portugal, and Andorra). Links are carefully chosen for the quality of information provided.
Ibero-American Electronic Text Series
A digital collection from the University of Wisconsin that includes full-text classics from Spain (Medieval, Golden Age, 19th century), Latin America (Colonial, 19th and 20th century), and critical studies.
LANIC: Latin American Network Information Center
LANIC's editorially reviewed directories contain over 12,000 unique URL's, one of the largest guides for Latin American content on the Internet. LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Early English Books Online - EEBO
EEBO contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 (more info)
International Medieval Bibliography
An interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 300-1500 A.D. (more info)
JSTOR
Full text of scholarly journals, from earliest issues up to 3-5 years ago. (more info)
Oxford Reference Online
Electronic version of Oxford reference books across a broad range of subjects. (more info)
Project Muse
Full text articles from scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. (more info)

French Studies

Dictionnaire des litteratures de langue francaise
These volumes feature extensive bibliographies for most entries, an index of works, winners of major literary prizes up to 1993, and a chronology of life and works for selected authors.
Dictionnaire egoiste de la litterature francaise
A witty and learned compendium of information on French literature that brings together famous and unknown writers, classic works and works that could be read more frequently, fictional characters, and ideas. It is a literary dictionary quite unlike any other.
Feminist Encyclopedia of French Literature
Contains a concise feminist history of French Literaure, an encyclopedia, a general bibliography and a chronology of french women writers.
French Studies Web
From the Western European Studies of the Association of College and Research Libraries. Annotated links to scholarly web resources. Geographic coverage: France, and the francophone regions in Belgium, Canada, Switzerland, North Africa, Sub Saharan Africa, North America, and the Caribbean.
Tennessee Bob's Famous French Links
From the University of Tennessee, this metasite has links on books and literature; art, music, film, and general culture; history of France and the French-speaking world; virtual Francophone tourism; the French language; press, radio, TV, and telephone; education in French-speaking schools; and French across the curriculum and in everyday life.
Gallica
From the Bibliotheque Nationale in France. Search engine provides access to over 100,000 fully digitized volumes (full text!) and 300,000 digitized images. Concentration is on the 19th century.

German Studies

The Feminist Encyclopedia of German Literature
Topics include literary periods, epochs, and genres; major authors and works; and literary concepts and themes, all relevant to women and women's studies.
German Studies Web
From the Western European Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries. The site provide access to scholarly resources in German Studies, including all German-speaking countries. Resources have been selected and evaluated by subject specialists, and annotated when necessary.
Goethe-Institut
Worldwide offices, programs, and resources for the diffusion of learning, teaching, and experiencing German language and culture. The Goethe-Institut is a cultural institution of the Federal Republic of Germany. Searchable website; RSS feeds available.
Reallexikon der deutschen Literaturwissenschaft
A 3-volume bio-bibliographical dictionary of German literature.
Eppelsheimer Koettelwesch
The standard work for searching German literary academic Zeitschriften (coverage from 1985-2002). (more info)
Bundesarchiv Online
Offers an array of primary sources. Online finding aids are arranged according to the Bundesarchiv department ("Abteilung") responsible for compiling the intellectual content of a finding aid. (more info)
Deutsche Fotothek
Large searchable archive of historical photographs. (more info)

Course-specific research guides

Reference Desk Help

Hours: Mon-Fri 9am-5pm, Sun 1pm-5pm

Phone: (503)768-7285

Email: refdesk@lclark.edu

Chat with Reference Desk

Return to Research Guides and Databases by Subject

This page maintained by Jim Bunnelle bunnelle@lclark.edu. Updated January 4th, 2009.