Research Guide: Ethnic Studies

Ethnic Studies-Related Databases

Africabib
Two bibliographic databases covering Africa- one general and one concerning women. (more info)
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Indexes western-language materials on all areas of Asia . (more info)
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS)
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. (more info)
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Contains bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, and original literary works in social science and humanities journals. (more info)
PAIS International and PAIS Archive
Indexes articles on a wide range of public policy topics, national and international. (more info)
SocINDEX with full text
Sociology and anthropology research database with over 1 million records from 2000+ journals. (more info)
Sociological Abstracts
One of the most important guides to the literature of sociology and related disciplines, including anthropology. Indexes journal articles, books, conference papers, book reviews, and scholarly web sites. (more info)

Ethnic Studies Web Resources

African Studies Internet Resources
An on-going compilation of electronic bibliographic resources and research materials on Africa available on the global Internet, created under the purview of the African Studies Department of Columbia University Libraries. The definitive site for both Africanists and people interested in Africa and related topics.
American Studies Web
At Georgetown University, "the largest bibliography of web-based resources in the field of American Studies." Look for sections on "Diaspora, Colonialism and Post-Colonialism" and "Race, Ethnicity, and Identity" among others.
Research Guides to Populations of Color and Ethnic Studies
"Some of the best Research Guides available from university libraries today" compiled by librarians at Michigan State University. Links for library pages for Stanford and other Universities. Research guides on African Americans, Asian Americans, Chicano/Latinos, Native Americans and general Ethnic Studies.
The Sociology of Race and Ethnicity
Trinity University (San Antonio) Sociology professor Michael Kearl's Web site on race, ethnicity, stereotypes, and intermarriage, with links to additional sites on race, affirmative action, African Americans, Arab Americans, Asian Americans, Hispanic Americans, and native Americans.
The World Wide Web Virtual Library: Indigenous Studies.
Large collection of links to sites by and about indigenous nations. Maintained by the Center for World Indigenous Studies (CWIS), Australia National University's Aboriginal Studies WWW Virtual Library, and the Circumpolar WWW Virtual Library.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier
Indexes and abstracts more than 8,300 journals; almost 4,700 of these titles are in full text. (more info)
Alternative Press Index
Citations from alternative, radical, and left publications. (more info)
Alternative Press Index Archive
An archive of citations from alternative, radical, and left publications. (more info)
JSTOR
Full text of scholarly journals, from earliest issues up to 3-5 years ago. (more info)
Left Index
Leads to articles in left-leaning periodicals about politics, economics, and society. (more info)
LexisNexis Academic
Full text of national, regional, and international newspapers, business, and legal sources and more. (more info)
Project Muse
Full text articles from scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. (more info)

Statistics Sources

ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
The largest archive of computer-readable social science data in the world. Holdings of over 5,300 titles and over 100,000 unique files. You must create an individual account to download the files. (more info)
LexisNexis Statistical Universe
An index of statistics published by the U.S government and some by state government , international and private sources. (more info)
Pew Global Attitudes Project
Reports on cross-cultural public opinion surveys and public data sets. Since its inception in 2001, the project has conducted 44 surveys. Survey reports from 2001-2006 are free and are easy to download. The 17 survey reports focus on U.S. image abroad, but include other topics related to globalization including computer use, democratic values, satisfaction with life, and religiosity.

Original datasets (2001-2005) contain interviews of more than 100,000 people in 50 countries. Datasets and codebooks are available in SPSS format (with a .sav extension). If you do not have SPSS software, you can use it on any L&C Lab machine. Download data to the Desktop for easier access, then open .sav files in SPSS.

U.S. Census Bureau
"One of the most user-friendly, high quality, and comprehensive web site maintained by any government agency," according to CHOICE. Primary data collected by the Census Bureau with private and commercial analysis of that data. Includes Statistical Abstract in its entirety going back to 1878 and the Historical Statistics of the U.S. 1790-1970.
U.S. Census Bureau Minority Links
"Quick and easy links to the latest data on racial and ethnic populations in the United States."

L&C Ethnic Studies Department Sites

College of Arts & Sciences, Lewis & Clark College, Department of Ethnic Studies
Official site of the Ethnic Studies Department at L&C.

Return to Research Guides and Databases by Subject

This page maintained by Reference Desk refdesk@lclark.edu. Updated January 3rd, 2009.