Research Guide: Art & Art History
-
Databases & Indexes
-
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
- The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Repertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) for no charge on its Web site at http://library.getty.edu/bha. The databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007. For material published after 2007 see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA) (more info)
-
Art Full Text
- Offers full text, abstracts, and indexing of an international array of publications. It now includes the Bibliography of the History of Art, 1975-2007. In addition to articles, includes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Art Index Retrospective and Art Museum Image Gallery included in Art Full Text. (more info)
-
Art Index Retrospective
- Cites articles and reproductions of works of art from periodicals. (more info)
-
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
- A citation database for journal articles and books pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for reviews of books, review articles, collections of essays, and many other types of resources are included. Updated daily. ITER also provides access to other databases, such as the Early Theatre database and the Medici Archive Project. (more info)
-
Index of Christian Art
- The Index records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400 (extended in the case of the Morgan and Princeton Library projects to include manuscript holdings up to the end of the sixteenth century). There is a particular emphasis and focus on art of the western world. Seventeen different media are represented in the archive, and these include manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, glass, and so forth. (more info)
-
JSTOR
- Use the advanced search function to search within the folklore discipline. (more info)
-
Art History-related Databases
-
Academic Search Complete
- Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. (more info)
-
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
- A part of the Web of Science database, the AHCI tracks 'who's citing whom' in the arts and humanities. Coverage is 1980-present. (more info)
-
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
- A citation database for journal articles and books pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for reviews of books, review articles, collections of essays, and many other types of resources are included. Updated daily. ITER also provides access to other databases, such as the Early Theatre database and the Medici Archive Project. (more info)
-
International Medieval Bibliography
- An interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 300-1500 A.D. (more info)
-
America: History and Life
- Indexes the scholarly literature on the history of the U.S. and Canada. Includes links to full text of the articles also included in JSTOR. (more info)
-
Historical Abstracts
- Indexes the scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Includes article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present. See "America: History and Life" for U.S. and Canadian history. (more info)
-
American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I
- Facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. (more info)
-
New York Times - Historical
- Provides access to full text articles, photos, and advertisements in the New York Times from 1851 through 2009. (more info)
-
Project Muse
- A unique collaboration between libraries and the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, providing 100% full-text, online access to over 400 titles from prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Browse by discipline and select folklore under social sciences (more info)
-
JSTOR
- Use the advanced search function to search within the folklore discipline. (more info)
-
Dissertations & Theses
- Link to abstracts or citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, from 1861 to the present day. Also includes full text of dissertations and theses produced by graduate students at Lewis & Clark. (more info)
-
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
-
Oxford Art Online
- Grove Art Online and Oxford art reference in one location. The Grove Dictionary of Art contains a growing number of articles on every aspect of the visual arts, from prehistory to the present day. (more info)
-
Oxford Reference Online - Art & Architecture
- Full text editions of all of the Oxford Art References, across a broad range of art and art history topics. (more info)
-
Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art
- Considering both fine arts and crafts, without designating crafts as a lesser art form, the alphabetically arranged articles begin with a definition of the material or technique, with related terms cross-referenced. Entries conclude with extensive updated bibliographies of print works, many published within the last 10 years. (more info)
-
Images @ LC
-
accessCeramics
- A growing collection of contemporary ceramics images from artists around the world, created through collaboration between Watzek Library and Ted Vogel, Lewis & Clark's Studio Head of Ceramics.
-
Senior Studio Art @ Lewis & Clark
- Showcases artwork created by Lewis & Clark Senior Studio Art Majors, from 1993-present. Students collaborate with the Visual Resources Center, the Department of Art, and the Ronna and Eric Hoffman Gallery of Contemporary Art, to complete a body of work throughout their senior year at Lewis & Clark College and culminating in the Senior Exhibition. See more about the project at https://library.lclark.edu/seniorprojects/about (more info)
-
ARTstor
- ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of millions of images across a variety of subjects, contributed by museums, artist estates, and a variety of institutions. View, present, and collect images with ARTstor for research and intstruction. CHECK OUT Lewis & Clark's collections on your home screen! (more info)
-
Bridgeman Education
- Over 360,000 images from museums, galleries, private collections and contemporary artists all copyright-cleared for educational use. Visual culture of every civilization and every period from Prehistory to the present day across continents and civilizations. (more info)
-
Images on the Web
-
WorldImages database
- A free access database of 65,000 images on the art, architecture and culture of the world that includes all areas of visual imagery. (more info)
-
Luna Commons Collections
- A new project incorporating over 200,000 Collections. A free public resource for discovering quality primary source materials with authoritative descriptive data. (more info)
-
Flickr Commons Images
- Provides access to the treasures of the world's public photography archives - includes the Library of Congress, the New York Public Library, the Smithsonian, the Getty, and Oregon State University Archives.
-
National Gallery of Art | NGA Images
- A repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. On this website you can search, browse, share, and download images. More than 20,000 open access digital images up to 3000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use.
-
Europeana (Europe)
- Explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. More than 15 million items, including Images (paintings, drawings, maps, photos and pictures of museum objects); Texts (books, newspapers, letters, diaries and archival papers); Sounds (music and spoken word from cylinders, tapes, discs and radio broadcasts); and Videos (films, newsreels and TV broadcasts).
-
Visual Arts Data Service (VADS) - UK
- Comprised of over 100,000 images, an online resource for the visual arts, derived from collections in the UK. (more info)
-
Guides to Finding Images
-
Images Across Subjects
- A subject guide for a variety of resources that span disciplines - check here for advertising, archival primary documentation, museum and digital collections, and more
-
Boston Univ's Guide to Finding Images on the Web
- A tutorial developed by Ruth S. Thomas, Art and Art History Bibliographer at Boston University. Offers a list of resources by subject, database and journal selections, and copyright information. (more info)
-
Art Cyclopedia
- A guide to art resources on the web. Search by artist name, title or museum, browse by art movements, nationalities, women artists, medium, name, and more. Also offers museum listings by country and glossaries.
-
JISC's guide to finding art, architecture, and design images
- The Joint Information Systems Committee (JISC) of the UK's guide to finding and using digital images in the arts, architecture, and design fields. Links to museums, galleries, aggregated sources, and commercial sources. (more info)
-
Creative Commons Federated Search
- Use one search tool, CreativeCommons.org, to search a variety of services, including Google Images, Flickr, Wikimedia Commons, and the web for Creative Commons-licensed images. Be sure to read their individual licenses for use permissions. (more info)
-
Asian & Buddhist Art Resources
-
ART 254: History of Buddhist Art - Odell - Fall 2012
-
Bibliography of Asian Studies
- References western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971. (more info)
-
IDEAS: Image Database to Enhance Asian Studies
- A multi-institutional, interdisciplinary, pan-Asian searchable database. Also browsable by topic or country; also links to the individual collections that make up the database. (more info)
-
The Huntington Photographic Archive of Asian Art
- Includes over 30,000 black and white images of Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Indonesia, Myanmar (Burma), Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Thailand captured over a 35 year time span. Photographs highlight the art, architectural and cultural history of these Asian cultures, and are accompanied by descriptive texts.
-
The Univ of Chicago's Center for the Art of East Asia
- A database of Chinese handscroll paintings in a scrolling digital format. Provides access to these rarely displayed artifacts while enabling a full investigation of the images and ideograms rendered. (more info)
-
Online database of Russo-Japanese War Stereoviews
- The East Asia Image Collection is an open-access archive of digitized photographs, negatives, postcards, and slides of imperial Japan (1868-1945), its Asian empire (1895-1945) and occupied Japan (1947-52). Images of Taiwan, Japan, China, Korea, Manchuria, and Indonesia are included. (more info)
-
Jim Breen's Ukiyo-e Print Resources
- Prior to his retirement from his permanent position at Monash University in August 2003, Jim Breen was a Principal Lecturer, Associate Professor and Professor for 18 years. He retains a position as Adjunct Senior Research Fellow with Monash University. Here he collects a series of images of Ukiyo-e prints and research on these prints. Perhaps most valuable is his collection of links to "the best on the web" for Ukiyo-e images and resources.
-
Ukiyo-e: The Pictures of the Floating World
- A website put together by Hans Olof Johansson, in Sweden - very thorough, aggregates the most authoritative and best image websites and resources for Ukiyo-e prints. (more info)
-
Rubin Museum of Art, New York
- Home to a comprehensive collection of art from the Himalayas and surrounding regions. Through changing exhibitions and an array of engaging public programs, RMA offers opportunities to explore the artistic legacy of the Himalayan region and to appreciate its place in the context of world cultures.
-
Medieval & Renaissance Resources
-
ART 333: Visual Perspectives on the Divine Comedy
-
ART 451 - The Art and Culture of Sandro Boticelli
-
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
- A citation database for journal articles and books pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for reviews of books, review articles, collections of essays, and many other types of resources are included. Updated daily. ITER also provides access to other databases, such as the Early Theatre database and the Medici Archive Project. (more info)
-
International Medieval Bibliography
- An interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 300-1500 A.D. (more info)
-
Web Gallery of Art (Europe)
- A virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture from 12th to mid-19th centuries. Includes guided tours of museums, interactive, full-screen views of artworks, and a glossary, among other resources. (more info)
-
The Medici Archive Project
- A free, online, searchable database of letters and primary documentation from the Medici Grand Ducal Archive. (more info)
-
Giorgio Vasari's Lives of the Artists
- A project to present the full, unabridged, English translations of Giorgio Vasari's 'Lives of the Artists.' Each 'Life' will be supplemented by images and a bibliography.
-
Piero della Francesca's Legend of the True Cross Interactive
- This interactive model gives historical information, 3D navigation, and high-resolution zoomable images.
-
St. Peter's Basilica Interactive Floorplan
- Floorplan indicates uses of space within the Vatican complex through a system of letters and numbers, identifying various sculptural and artistic elements. Each letter and number links to an additional page that includes visual and textual information about the site indicated.
-
Mapping Gothic France
- With a database of images, texts, charts and historical maps, this project allows exploration of the parallel stories of Gothic architecture and the formation of France in the 12th and 13th centuries, in three dimensions. Beautiful images accompanied with 360 degree views accesible through interactive maps. Also includes interactive floor plans. (more info)
-
Mesoamerican Art & Architecture
-
Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies [FAMSI]
- The go-to site for the most current research, compiled resources, bibliographies, links, images and more on Mesoamerica (more info)
-
Tarlton Law Library & Benson Latin American Collection: Aztec & Mayan Law
- A detailed overview of Aztec and Maya law as it existed at the time of the Spanish conquest of Mesoamerica is supplemented by an annotated bibliography of resources on Mexican legal history, Aztec and Maya law, and related works on Aztec and Maya history, archaeology, and cultural studies. (more info)
-
Guide to Mesoamerican resources online
- A guide to resources on Mesoamerica on the web. At the bottom of the first webpage there are links to preclassic, classic and postclassic resources as well as timelines. (more info)
-
CORE 107 - Galaty - Understanding How We Understand the Maya, Spring 2013
-
Ancient & Classics
-
Ara Pacis Augustae
- Attempts to provide in-depth visual documentation in support of the in-depth scholarly publications that have so enriched our understanding of Augustan art and society.
-
Trajan's Column: An Interactive Online Resource
- Provides detailed photographic documentation with over 500 images of the column's frieze. In addition, the site supplies written narratives to contextualize the column and celebrate its construction and history. (more info)
-
Perseus Digital Library
- Primarily a full-text database of ancient Greek and Roman texts, the collection has recently expanded into Renaissance English and 19th century American texts as well. (more info)
-
Classical Studies
-
Modern & Contemporary Art
-
art:21 PBS Series: Art in the Twenty-First Century
- Watch full episodes of Seasons 1-5 of the Peabody Award-winning series, plus web exclusives. Subscribe to the site's RSS feed to stay updated whenever they add a new episode! Go to http://www.pbs.org/art21/education/index.html for educational materials, including research, teaching, and screening supplements. (more info)
-
Art Babble
- Includes video interviews with artists, (downloadable to an iPhone), foras, and links to contributing partners (galleries and museums).
-
ArtsConnectEd
- Online access to art collections housed at the Minneapolis Institute of Arts and the Walker Art Center. Search over 100,000 resources in the Art Finder, including works of art, texts, audio, video, and interactive resources. Save and customize items in Art Collector. Comment, tag and rate everything!
-
Public Art Archive
- The Public Art Archive, a new project of the Western States Arts Federation, (www.westaf.org), is a sophisticated searchable database of public art in the United States. (more info)
-
Ceramics & Sculpture
-
accessCeramics
- A growing collection of contemporary ceramics images from artists around the world, created through collaboration between Watzek Library and Ted Vogel, Lewis & Clark's Studio Head of Ceramics.
-
CeramicsWeb
- Includes databases of glaze recipes and material analyses, links to other ceramics Web sites, health and safety information, and a variety of educational materials related to ceramics.
-
Ceramic Monthly's Ceramic Art Education Resourcs
- Recipes for glazes, tools, tips, and techniques in handouts, forums, and a variety of categories, organized by Ceramics Monthly Magazine. (more info)
-
Ceramics Today
- This meta-site has numerous articles and other ceramics resources, including information on ceramics artists and potters, supplies, techniques, institutes & societies, museums and much more.
-
Art Axis
- A growing catalog of contemporary ceramic artists and their work, used by academia, the general public, and the artists themselves.
-
e-Yakimono
- Extensive site on contemporary and historic Japanese pottery. Includes more than 200 articles on potters, processes, regions, and history; thousands of images of ceramic pieces in exhibitions and photos from studios.
-
American Craft Magazine
- A publication published by The American Craft Council, American Craft is a wish book that helps creative people to see the world with fresh eyes. (more info)
-
Sculpture
- This site is sponsored by the International Sculpture Center and provides links to resources on sculpture as well as selected articles from current and archived issues of Sculpture magazine.
-
Photography
-
Helios, Photography Online
- Presented here are the Smithsonian American Art Museum's collections of The First Century of American Photographs, Contemporary American Landscape Photography, and American Daguerreotypes. (more info)
-
Photomuse
- A collaboration between the George Eastman House and the International Center of Photography (ICP), Photomuse's mission is to provide online resources for the study of photography. Includes a chronology of photography with cross-referenced timelines of politics and culture.
-
The International Center for Photography
- A museum, school, and research center, the ICP is an authoritative go-to source for both contemporary and archival research and exhibits in photography. (more info)
-
Center for Creative Photography
- The CCP's Digital Collections is a portal for online access to an archives of photos, ranging from Ansel Adams to Edward Weston, from Sonia Noskowiak to Marion Palfi. One can browse the collection through Artists, Collections, or Images. (more info)
-
Image Permanence Institute Graphics Atlas
- A free, online resource that brings sophisticated print identification and characteristic exploration tools to archivists, curators, historians, collectors, conservators, educators, and students. (more info)
-
George Eastman House's Notes on Photographs
- A tool for communication among students, historians, collectors, curators, conservators, archivists, practitioners, and the interested public. The site is an international forum for gathering information that enhances the communal understanding of the photographic print. (more info)