Research Guide: Sociology & Anthropology

Course-specific Guides

Current Course Reserves

Reserves lists for SOAN courses

Sociology & Anthropology Indexes and Databases

AnthropologyPlus
Searches Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature simultaneously. (more info)
AnthroSource
A complete electronic archive of all American Anthropological Assn. journals. (more info)
Social Sciences Citation Index
A part of the Web of Science database, the SSCI tracks 'who's citing whom' in the social sciences. (more info)
Sociological Abstracts
One of the most important guides to the literature of sociology and related disciplines, including anthropology. Indexes journal articles, books, conference papers, book reviews, and scholarly web sites. (more info)
SocINDEX with full text
Sociology and anthropology research database with over 1 million records from 2000+ journals. (more info)

Annual Reviews

Annual Review of Anthropology
Describes and evaluates recent noteworthy publications in the field. Chapters are written by specialists on topics of current interest and varying scope. Includes bibliographies. Online access from 1972-present. Available in the Watzek Stacks at GN1 .A623.
Annual Review of Sociology
Overviews and highlights the latest developments in the field. Chapters are written by specialists on topics of current interest. Includes bibliographies. Online from 1975. Available in the Watzek Stacks at HM1 .A78.

Sociology & Anthropology Encyclopedias

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
New 2007 edition now available full-text online! Comprehensive encyclopedia with with over 1800 entries, this is the most up-to-date reference work on sociology. This new edition of the valuable reference source contains specially commissioned entries written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers. Articles are signed and include references.
Encyclopedia of Anthropology
More than 250 respected anthropologists and scholars have contributed over 1000 A-to-Z articles. Covers a wide range of topics in physical anthropology, archaeology, cultural anthropology, anthropological linguistics, and applied anthropology.
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Explores the nutritional and cultural impact of food, with articles written by anthropologists, chefs, food historians, nutritionists, agronomists, food stylists, and other food researches.
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology
E book. Health and Illness in the World’s Cultures Volume I: Topics Volume II: Cultures
Encyclopedia of urban cultures : cities and cultures around the world
Describes and analyzes nearly 240 country capitals and urban areas with a population of at least 25,000
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences
A 26-volume academic encyclopedia with good bibliographies that covers the social sciences. Includes entries on such diverse topics as youth movements, welfare, urban sprawl, violence, education, media and more.
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition. Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.

Sociology & Anthropology-Related Databases

Africabib
Two bibliographic databases covering Africa- one general and one concerning women. (more info)
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Indexes western-language materials on all areas of Asia . (more info)
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Contains bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, and original literary works in social science and humanities journals. (more info)
PAIS International and PAIS Archive
Indexes articles on a wide range of public policy topics, national and international. (more info)

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier
Indexes and abstracts more than 8,300 journals; almost 4,700 of these titles are in full text. (more info)
Academic OneFile
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. (more info)
Alternative Press Index
Citations from alternative, radical, and left publications. (more info)
Alternative Press Index Archive
An archive of citations from alternative, radical, and left publications. (more info)
JSTOR
Full text of scholarly journals, from earliest issues up to 3-5 years ago. (more info)
LexisNexis Academic
Full text of national, regional, and international newspapers, business, and legal sources and more. (more info)
Project Muse
Full text articles from scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. (more info)
WorldCat via FirstSearch
WorldCat FirstSearch does not include journal articles but has some search functionality that Lewis & Clark WorldCat lacks. (more info)
Left Index
Leads to articles in left-leaning periodicals about politics, economics, and society. (more info)

Sociology/Anthropology Web Resources

Academic Blog Portal--Anthropology
A directory of blogs written by academics in anthropology. This is the anthropology section of the wiki called Academic Blog Portal. This site is supposed to help make the academic blogosphere, sometimes described as "the invisible college," a little more visible to itself and its readers.
Academic Blog Portal--Sociology
A directory of blogs written by academics in sociology. This is the sociology section of the wiki called Academic Blog Portal. This site is supposed to help make the academic blogosphere, sometimes described as "the invisible college," a little more visible to itself and its readers.
Anthro.Net
This highly regarded site contains thousands of reviewed web sites and bibliographic references related to anthropology, archaeology, and other social sciences.
Anthropology Resources on the Internet - AAA
A collection of sites arranged by subject which is maintained by the American Anthropological Association.
Intute-- Social Sciences
Web resources for education and research, evaluated and selected by a network of subject specialists covering disciplines including anthropology, economics, education, environmental sciences, psychology, sociology, and women's studies, among others. This service is created by a network of UK universities and partners.
SocioSite
This outstanding metasite presents resources and information organized by subject. Based at the University of Amsterdam, it intends to provide a comprehensive listing of all sociology resources on the Internet.
Sociological Tour Through Cyberspace
A metasite of important sociology resources of all types on the Internet.
SocioWeb
Another Sociological metasite that can be searched or explored by category.
World Wide Web Virtual Library: Indigenous Studies
A collection of links to sites by and about indigenous nations around the world maintained by the Center for World Indigenous Studies (CWIS) and the Chief George Manuel Library.

Statistics Sources

General Social Survey
The General Social Survey (GSS) is an annual personal interview survey of U.S. households conducted by the National Opinion Research Center (NORC) and "is widely regarded as the single best source of data on societal trends". The first survey took place in 1972 and since then more than 35,000 respondents have answered over 2500 different questions. The website gives access to the data itself, as well as survey documentation, reports on methodological issues & uses of the data, quick downloads (by year), a bibliography and information on the variables.
ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
The largest archive of computer-readable social science data in the world. Holdings of over 5,300 titles and over 100,000 unique files. You must create an individual account to download the files. (more info)
LexisNexis Statistical Universe
An index of statistics published by the U.S government and some by state government , international and private sources. (more info)
Pew Global Attitudes Project
Reports on cross-cultural public opinion surveys and public data sets. Since its inception in 2001, the project has conducted 44 surveys. Survey reports from 2001-2006 are free and are easy to download. The 17 survey reports focus on U.S. image abroad, but include other topics related to globalization including computer use, democratic values, satisfaction with life, and religiosity.

Original datasets (2001-2005) contain interviews of more than 100,000 people in 50 countries. Datasets and codebooks are available in SPSS format (with a .sav extension). If you do not have SPSS software, you can use it on any L&C Lab machine. Download data to the Desktop for easier access, then open .sav files in SPSS.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included.
Statistical Resources on the Web: Sociology
Statistical resources arranged topically and provided by the University of Michigan Library Documents Center.
U.S. Census Bureau
"One of the most user-friendly, high quality, and comprehensive web site maintained by any government agency," according to CHOICE. Primary data collected by the Census Bureau with private and commercial analysis of that data. Includes Statistical Abstract in its entirety going back to 1878 and the Historical Statistics of the U.S. 1790-1970.
World Development Indicators
The World Bank's premier annual compilation of data about development. (more info)

L&C Sociology/Anthropology Dept. sites

College of Arts and Sciences, Lewis & Clark College, Department of Sociology and Anthropology
Official Web site of the Sociology and Anthropology Department with links to faculty pages, student projects, and course descriptions.
Department of Sociology & Anthropology, Lewis & Clark College
Web site of the department with links to individual faculty sites, senior theses, etc. Visit Academic Links to see recommended Web sites for research.
L&C Moodle Sociology & Anthropology Departmental Page
For students in L&C SOAN classes. Use this resource to: learn about the major, get info on internships, provide feedback, and more.

For Thesis Students

Watzek Wants YOUR thesis
Follow these guidelines to electronically submit your senior thesis to the Lewis & Clark College Libraries. Your thesis will then be in our collection and available to the L&C college community.

Return to Research Guides and Databases by Subject

This page maintained by Kate Rubick rubick@lclark.edu. Updated September 1st, 2009.