Research Guide: Economics & Business
-
Current Course Reserves
Reserves Lists for Econ
-
ECON Databases
-
Annual Review of Economics
- Describes and evaluates recent noteworthy publications in the field. Chapters are written by specialists on topics of current interest and varying scope. Includes citing and cited by information for articles. Three relevant titles; Annual Review of Economics, Annual Review of Financial Economics and Annual Reivew of Resource Economics. (more info)
-
Business Economics and Theory
- With a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit database, this collection provides academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics. Perfect for business classes, users will find more than 150 full-text journals to support their research. (more info)
-
EconLit with Full Text
- The American Economic Association’s electronic bibliography, 1868-present, EconLit, indexes over 120 years of economics literature from around the world including all AEA journals. EconLit is a comprehensive index of journal articles, books, book reviews, collective volume articles, working papers and dissertations. (more info)
-
Social Sciences Citation Index
- A part of the Web of Science database, the SSCI tracks 'who's citing whom' in the social sciences. Coverage is 1980-present. (more info)
-
ECON Working Papers
-
Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean
- In depth statistical data and policy reports concerning Latin America and the Caribbean from one of the five regional commissions of the United Nations.
-
International Monetary Fund Publications
- An index to the publications of the IMF. Many are available online. Browse by title, author, or subject, or use the search function.
-
NBER Working Papers
- Working papers of the National Bureau of Economic Research, a nonprofit economic research organization. (more info)
-
Research Papers in Economics (RePEc)
- RePEc is a free (unlike EconLit) effort to enhance the dissemination of research in economics. Access RePEC using IDEAS, which povides access to the complete RePEc database, including working papers, journal articles, software components, author information, directory of institutions. (more info)
-
SSRN Electronic Library
- Search the library of the Social Science Research Network (SSRN) for scholarly research in the social sciences, particularly the fields of economics, finance, accounting, management, and law. SSRN was founded by Michael Jensen (a financial economist) and is run by him and other scholars.
-
World Bank Documents and Reports
- Previously known as World Development Sources (WDS), this site contains more than 27,000 World Bank documents which are made available to the public in order to better share the institution's knowledge base and to implement the disclosure policy. The types of documents you will find include: Analytical & Advisory Work (in-depth background, strategic priorities, and direction for lending activities); Project Documents (loan documents released to the public according to the project cycle); and Publications & Research (formal publications, working papers & informal series are provided here from departments around the Bank).
-
ECON Metapages
-
Econ Academics Blog
- Aggregator blog for Economics Academics. (more info)
-
EH-net
- The Economic History Association owns and operates the EH.net website and mailing lists to provide resources and promote communication among scholars in economic history and related fields. (more info)
-
Page One Economics
- Economic Research site of the Federal Reserve Bank of St Louis. (more info)
-
Resources for Economists on the Internet (RFE)
- This guide is sponsored by the American Economic Association. It is a directory of free sites of nterest to academic and practicing economists, and those interested in economics. (more info)
-
ECON Statistics and Data Sources
-
Aid Data
- AidData provides a searchable database of nearly one million past and present aid activities around the world, aid information management services and tools, data visualization technologies, and research designed to increase understanding of development finance. (more info)
-
Data for Local Communities (Oregon and Washington)
- A gathering place for statistical, spatial, and descriptive information about the cities, counties and other civil, economic and natural regions of Oregon. The LocalData database lets you retrieve web-based information by topic and geography, while Additional Resources provides links to geospatial data and other organizational websites.
-
Economagic Economic Time Series
- Data series available include: Interest Rates, Industrial Production, Capacity, Utilization, Electric Power Use, House Sales, Starts, Permits, State Civilian Labor Force, MSA Civilian Labor Force, State and City Employment, International Employment and Prices, Consumer Price Index by Item and Place, Producer Price Index by Product, etc.
-
Economic Policy Institute: Datazone
- Includes national data documenting historical labor market trends, state and regional data on historical employment and earnings, and some online calculators.
-
Eurostat
- Maintained by the Statistical Office of the European Communities, the statistical arm of the European Commission, producing data for the European Union and promoting standardization of statistical methods across the member states. Eurostat's website offers free access to download nearly all of its data and electronic publications.
-
FedStats
- FedStats provides a full range of official statistical information available to the public from the Federal Government. Includes statistics on economic and population trends, education, health care costs, aviation safety, foreign trade, energy use, farm production, and more. Access official statistics collected and published by more than 100 Federal agencies without having to know in advance which agency produces them. All of the statistical information available through FedStats is maintained and updated solely by Federal agencies on their own web servers.
-
OECD Statistics
- The Organization for Economic and Cooperative Development collects statistics needed for the analysis of economic and social developments by its in-house analysts, committees, working parties, and Member country governments from statistical agencies and other institutions of its Member countries. The OECD shares the experience gained by Members in compiling reliable and comparable statistics with non-Member countries.
-
Oregon Labor Market Information System
- Find comprehensive information on over 700 occupations, including occupational descriptions, licensing information, wages, occupational projections, educational requirements, schools offering training, and more. (more info)
-
Statistical Abstract of the United States
- Contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included.
-
Statistical Datasets
- Over 590 licensed and public domain datasets from over 50 sources, within a single interface. (more info)
-
Statistical Insight (formerly LexisNexis Statistical)
- Includes statistics produced by the U.S. government, major international and intergovernmental organizations, and other sources.
(more info)
-
Statistics Sources
- In print at REF DESK HA 1 .S78. This four volume set serves as a directory for where to find data on industrial, business, social, educational, financial and other topics for the US and Internationally. (more info)
-
UN Data
-
Statistical interface for the United Nations. Easy access to 34 databases, including United Nations Statistical Division, the International Monetary Fund, UNESCO and others. (more info)
-
U.S. Census Bureau
- Includes economic datacollected by the bureau, including
Population & Housing Census - every 10 years
Economic Census - every 5 years
Census of Governments - every 5 years
American Community Survey - annually
Our many surveys -- both Demographic & Economic
Economic Indicators - each indicator is released on a specific schedule, see the Economic Indicator Calendar
(more info)
-
World Development Indicators
- The World Bank's premier annual compilation of data about development. (more info)
-
World Economic Outlook Database (WEO)
- contains selected macroeconomic data series from the statistical appendix of the World Economic Outlook report, which presents the IMF staff's analysis and projections of economic developments at the global level, in major country groups and in many individual countries. The WEO is released in October and September/October each year. (more info)
-
ECON Indicators and Reports
-
Beige Book
- Also called Summary of Commentary on
Current Economic Conditions this report is published eight times per year. Each Federal Reserve Bank gathers anecdotal information on current economic conditions in its District through reports from Bank and Branch directors and interviews with key business contacts, economists, market experts, and other sources. Reports available for the past 10 years; a link is provided to the archive of the Beige Book, hosted by the Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis (1970-present). (more info)
-
Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
- Prepares estimates that illuminate key national, international, and regional aspects of the U.S. economy. Includes an Overview of the U.S. Economy.
-
Economic Report of the President
- Annual report written by the Chair of the Council of Economic Advisers. An important vehicle for presenting the Administration's domestic and international economic policies, it provides an overview of the nation's economic progress with text and extensive data appendices. (more info)
-
Business Databases
-
Business Insights: Essentials
- Easily find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports. (more info)
-
Business Source Premier
- Over 2,300 full-text scholarly business journals plus other sources. (more info)
-
General Business File ASAP
- Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. (more info)
-
LexisNexis Academic
- Full text of national, regional, and international newspapers, business, and legal sources and more. (more info)
-
Regional Business News
- Comprehensive full-text coverage for regional business publications. (more info)
-
Wall Street Journal
- Provides full-text articles for the Wall Street Journal from Jan. 2, 1984 through current issue. (more info)
-
Business, Stocks, & Advertising
-
Ad*access
- The Ad*Access Project presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. (more info)
-
Bigcharts
- This Historical Quotes tool allows you to look up a security's exact closing price.
-
Bloomburg.com
- Business and market news.
-
SEC Filings & Forms (EDGAR)
- The SEC requires all public companies (except foreign companies and companies with less than $10 million in assets and 500 shareholders) to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free.
-
Multi-Disciplinary Databases
-
Academic Search Complete
- Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. (more info)
-
Academic OneFile
- Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. (more info)
-
CQ Global Researcher
- In-depth coverage of global affairs from a number of international viewpoints. (more info)
-
CQ Researcher
- Full text of CQ Researcher reports on major U.S. social, economic and political issues. (more info)
-
JSTOR
- Use the advanced search function to search within the folklore discipline. (more info)
-
Left Index
- Leads to articles in left-leaning periodicals about politics, economics, and society. (more info)
-
Project Muse
- A unique collaboration between libraries and the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, providing 100% full-text, online access to over 400 titles from prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Browse by discipline and select folklore under social sciences (more info)
-
World News Connection
- Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, the information in WNC covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. (more info)
-
For Thesis and Capstone Students
-
Watzek Wants YOUR thesis
- Follow these guidelines to electronically submit your senior thesis to the Lewis & Clark College Libraries. Your thesis will then be in our collection and available to the L&C college community. See available theses at http://library.lclark.edu/theses/ (more info)