Research Guide: Education

Education Databases

Education Full Text
Education research database with full text beginning in 1996. (more info)
ERIC (WilsonWeb)
Provides access to education journals and related documents. (more info)
ERIC (EBSCOHost)
Provides access to education journals and related documents. (more info)
Educational Administration Abstracts
Provides access to literature related to educational leadership. (more info)
Educator's Reference Complete
A selection of full text academic journals, reports, and reference sources. (more info)
Education Research Complete
Full text and indexing for journals, books and conference papers in education. (more info)

Education-Related Databases

Chronicle of Higher Education
Online edition of the Chronicle. (more info)
Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of over 500 full text journals. (more info)
PsycINFO
Database of scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. PsycINFO covers journals, books, reviews, and dissertations. (more info)

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier
Indexes and abstracts more than 8,300 journals; almost 4,700 of these titles are in full text. (more info)
Dissertation Abstracts
An index to doctoral dissertations and master's theses from North American and selected European institutions. (more info)
Ed.D. Dissertations - Lewis & Clark College
Doctoral dissertations from the Graduate School's Educational Leadership program. (more info)
Social Sciences Citation Index
A part of the Web of Science database, the SSCI tracks 'who's citing whom' in the social sciences. (more info)
WorldCat via FirstSearch
WorldCat FirstSearch does not include journal articles but has some search functionality that Lewis & Clark WorldCat lacks. (more info)

K-12 Databases

Student Edition - K12
Periodical database designed for high school students. (more info)
Junior Edition - K12
Periodical database designed for students in junior high and middle school. (more info)
Kids InfoBits
Developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. (more info)

Directory of Universities and Colleges

College Navigator
See and compare profiles of nearly 7000 colleges and universities across the nation courtesy of NCES.

Research & Statistics

NCES Annual Reports
This site brings together data from several NCES sources including: The Condition of Education, The Digest of Education Statistics, and Projections of Education Statistics. The current print editions of these sources are available in Watzek Reference. Older editions are in the stacks. Check the catalog for call numbers.
National Center for Education Statistics - NCES
NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to American education.
U.S. Department of Education
Primary source for information on U.S. government policy and resources related to education. Includes links to teaching and learning resources from federal agencies.
Oregon Department of Education
This site includes full-text assessments, reports, surveys, and news releases regarding education in Oregon.
OECD Statistics Portal
Select the topic "Education and Training" to access international data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. The current print edition of "Education at a Glance: OECD Indicators" is available in Watzek's Reference collection at REF LB2846 .E247.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Global and internationally comparable statistics on education, literacy, science & technology, culture & communication. Select print editions of the "UNESCO Statistical Yearbook" are available in the Watzek Stacks at HA40 .C8 U59.
ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
The largest archive of computer-readable social science data in the world. Holdings of over 5,300 titles and over 100,000 unique files. You must create an individual account to download the files. (more info)

Test Information

Mental Measurements Yearbook
Fulltext information about and reviews of English-language standardized tests. (more info)
ETS Test Link
The Educational Testing Service (ETS) Test Collection includes an extensive library of 25,000 tests and other measurement devices from the early 1900s to the present.
Test Reviews Online
Test information online from the Buros Institute, as it appears in Mental Measurements Yearbook.
Directory of Test Collections in Academic, Professional, and Research Libraries
A directory of educational tests and measurements in United States libraries.

Curriculum Materials

Discovering Collection
Access to award-winning content based on national curriculum standards. (more info)
Student Resource - Gold
Access to award-winning content based on national curriculum standards. (more info)
Junior Reference Collection
Access to award-winning Middle School content from the Gale U*X*L product line. (more info)
Educator's Reference Desk
Includes links to education resources, lesson plans, and an archive of questions from AskERIC. Sponsored by the Information Institute of Syracuse, Syracuse University.
GEM: Gateway to 21st Century Skills
Provides teachers with quality materials and tools found on federal, state, university, non-profit and commercial Internet sites.
Reference Desk Help

Hours: Mon-Fri 9am-5pm, Sun 1pm-5pm

Phone: (503)768-7285

Email: refdesk@lclark.edu

Chat with Reference Desk

Return to Research Guides and Databases by Subject

This page maintained by Elaine Hirsch elaineg@lclark.edu. Updated December 18th, 2008.