Research Guide: English Literature

Current Course Reserves for English

reserves lists for english courses

Encyclopedias and dictionaries

Literature Resource Center
Critical analyses, biographies and bibliographies of literary authors. (more info)
Oxford English Dictionary
Provides authoritative definitions and traces the usage of words from their first recorded occurrence to the modern period. (more info)
Webster's Third New International Dictionary Unabridged
Containing more than 470,000 entries, this online edition of the classic dictionary includes etymology, examples of usage and more. (more info)
Oxford Reference Online
Electronic version of Oxford reference books across a broad range of subjects. (more info)
Dictionary of literary terms and literary theory
The most international and inclusive of single volume dictionaries of literary terminology.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms
Containing over 1,000 of the most troublesome literary terms encountered by students and general readers, this book gives clear and often witty explanations to terms such as hypertext, multi-accentuality, and postmodernism.

English Databases

MLA Bibliography
Literature, language, linguistics, folklore. (more info)
Columbia Granger's World of Poetry
Locate a poem in an anthology published after 1981; search by title, first or last line, author or subject. (more info)
Early English Books Online - EEBO
EEBO contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 (more info)
Eighteenth Century Collections Online - ECCO
ECCO delivers the full-text and page images of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. (more info)
Lit Finder
LitFinder includes full text poems, stories, plays, essays, and speeches. (more info)
Novelist
Uses readers' favorite author, title, plot or series name to suggest the next book to read.
Short Story Index
Use to find short stories on given topics or by specific authors in published collections or periodicals. (more info)
Year's Work in English Studies
YWES surveys the current scholarship in the field of English Literature.

English-Related Databases

ARTFL
nearly 3,000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. (more info)
Arts & Humanities Citation Search
Contains records referencing arts and humanities subjects. (Tip: in an Author search, use the last name and first initial). (more info)
Cambridge Histories Online
Instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. Covers economic, political, literary, social history as well as the arts and philosophy. (more info)
Essay and General Literature Index
Indexes essays in books and anthologies. (more info)
International Medieval Bibliography
An interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 300-1500 A.D. (more info)
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Citations to articles and books on the Middle Ages and Renaissance. (more info)
19th Century Masterfile
Locates 19th century articles from selected American and British magazines. Includes Poole's Index. (more info)
Naxos Spoken Word Library
Audio files of literature and poetry ranging from medieval times to the twentieth century, and an expanding range of non-fiction. (more info)
Theatre in Video with BBC Shakespeare
Streaming video of 250 performances of leading plays. (more info)

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier
Indexes and abstracts more than 8,300 journals; almost 4,700 of these titles are in full text. (more info)
JSTOR
Full text of scholarly journals, from earliest issues up to 3-5 years ago. (more info)
Project Muse
Full text articles from scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. (more info)

Guides to Research in Literature

Humanities : a selective guide to information sources
This great introduction to the research process in the humanities has an excellent chapter on literary information sources.
Literary research guide : an annotated listing of reference sources in English literary studies
A standard source for graduate students in English, this sourceis a selective, well-annotated guide to conducting research in literature.
Reference guide for English studies
Another important guide to research in literature.

General Literature Websites

Intute > Arts & Humanities > English Studies
Run by a consortium of universities in the UK, this site provides annotated links selected by subject specialists. Searchable; browsable by topic, time period, or resource type. Return to Intute-Arts & Humanities to find resources on comparative literature and literatures in other languages.
Literary Resources on the Net
This set of pages is a collection of links to sites on the Internet dealing especially with English and American literature, excluding most single electronic texts, and is limited to collections of information useful to academics.
Voice of the Shuttle - English
Includes "Literature (in English)" and "Literatures (Other than English)".

Online Literary Journals

Archipelago
"An international journal of literature, the arts and opinion." Use this index to search or examine past issues.
Arts & Letters Daily
Sponsored by the Chronicle of Higher Education, Arts & Letters Daily's mission is to extract the "precious nuggets of real content" for its readers.
Barcelona Review
"An International Review of Contemporary Fiction."
BloomsburyMagazine.com
Reviews new books.
McSweeney's
Edited, designed and published by Brooklynite David Eggers, creator of the now dead satire magazine Might and a former Esquire editor-at-large, McSweeney's celebrates writing outside the mainstream.

Book Reviews and Literary Criticism

Directory of Book Reviews on the Web
From the Acquisitions Librarian's Website, courtesy of Vanderbilt University.
Internet Public Library's Literary Criticism
The IPL Online Literary Criticism Collection contains critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by literary period. For additional resources, see links for Online Literary Criticism Guide and Literary Criticism Pathfinder.
New York Times' Book Reviews
Full text of the NYT Books section's archive of reviews, news, and author interviews from 1981 to the present. Free access with registration.

Specific Authors and Genres

Play's the Thing
Detailed information on Shakespeare's plays
F. Scott Fitzgerald
From the University of South Carolina.
Geoffrey Chaucer
This site provides materials for Harvard University's Chaucer classes in the Core Program, the English Department, and the Division of Continuing Education. It provides a wide range of glossed Middle English texts and translations of analogues relevant to Chaucer's works, as well as selections from relevant works by earlier and later writers, critical articles from a variety of perspectives, graphics, and general information on life in the Middle Ages. At the moment the site concentrates on the Canterbury Tales, but the longer-term goal is to create a more general Chaucer page.
geoffreychaucer.org
An annotated guide to online resources from David Wilson-Okamura of East Carolina University.
Chaucer Metapage
Another solid site on Chaucer from the Tar Heel State.
New Chaucer Society
The purpose of the New Chaucer Society is to provide a forum for teachers and scholars of Geoffrey Chaucer and his age. To advance such study, the Society organizes biennial international congresses of Chaucerians, publishes the annual Studies in the Age of Chaucer and a semiannual newsletter, and supports such important projects as the Annotated Chaucer Bibliography (an electronic version of which is available on-line).
William Blake Archive
An exhaustive and scholarly site about William Blake and his works.
Jane Austen Information Page
Full-text of many of her works and lots of commentary as well.
Dickinson Electronic Archives
Devoted to the study of Emily Dickinson, her writing practices, writings directly influencing her work, and critical and creative writings generated by her work. The DEA is produced by the Dickinson Editing Collective, with an executive editor, a general editor, two associate editors, a project manager, and a technical editor working collaboratively with one another and with numerous coeditors, staff, and users.
Romantic Circles
An excellent site devoted to the study of Romantic-period literature and culture.
Contemporary Postcolonial and Postimperial Literature in English
A solid PoCo site by George P. Landow, Professor of English and Art History, Brown University; Shaw Professor of English and Digital Culture (Computer Science), National University of Singapore.
Literary Gothic
The Literary Gothic is a Web guide to all things concerned with literary Gothicism, which includes ghost stories, "classic" Gothic novels and Gothic fiction (1764-1820), and related pre- and post-Gothic and supernaturalist literature written prior to the mid-20th century.
Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database
The Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database is an on-line, searchable compilation and extension of Science Fiction and Fantasy Reference Index 1878-1985, Science Fiction and Fantasy Reference Index 1985-1991, and Science Fiction and Fantasy Reference Index 1992-1995, including material located since publication of the last printed volume. Most material was obtained and examined by the compiler; the remainder was verified in a reliable secondary source.

Publishing

BookWire
Includes book reviews, portions of the Literary Market Place, and covers the buzz in the world of publishing.
Writer's Market
Writer's Market is THE indispensable writer's reference. Updated annually. The 2007 edition includes over 4,000 listings for book publishers, magazines, trade journals, small presses, contests and awards, and agents interested in the work of new writers.
Reference Desk Help

Hours: Mon-Fri 9am-5pm, Sun 1pm-5pm

Phone: (503)768-7285

Email: refdesk@lclark.edu

Chat with Reference Desk

Return to Research Guides and Databases by Subject

This page maintained by Dan Kelley dkelley@lclark.edu. Updated October 1st, 2009.