Research Guide: Communication

  • Current Course Reserves

    Reserves Lists for COMM classes

  • Communication Databases

    ComAbstracts
    Abstracts of journal articles and book chapters in the communications field. (more info)
    ComAnalytics
    A System for the Comparative Analysis of Article Publication Productivity in the Communication Literature (more info)
    Communications and Mass Media Collection
    From marketing professionals to students studying for advanced degrees in linguistic theory, this collection provides current and accurate information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more. (more info)
    Communication and Mass Media Complete
    Offers full text for almost 300 titles and contains citation coverage for 300 additional sources. (more info)
  • Communication Encyclopedias

    International Encyclopedia of Communication
    With more than 1,300 A-Z entries, divided into 29 editorial areas representing major fields of inquiry, the encyclopedia spans the breadth of communication studies, including coverage of theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical areas. Editorial areas include communication theory and philosophy, interpersonal communication, journalism, intercultural and intergroup communication, media effects, strategic communication/PR, communication and media law and policy, media systems in the world, and communication and technology.
    Encyclopedia of Political Communication
    This encyclopedia considers political communication from that broad interdisciplinary perspective, encompassing the many different roles that communication plays in political processes in the United States and around the world. Not limited to communication in electoral contexts, political communication also considers the role of communication in governing, incorporating communication activities that influence the operation of executive, legislative, and judicial bodies, political parties, interest groups, political action committees, and other participants in political processes. (more info)
  • Communication Web Resources

    Academic Blog Portal--Media and Communications
    A directory of blogs written by academics in media and communications. This is the media and communications section of the wiki called Academic Blog Portal. This site is supposed to help make the academic blogosphere, sometimes described as "the invisible college," a little more visible to itself and its readers.
    EBSS Library Resources for Communication Studies
    This web site is a springboard that librarians, students, and researchers can use to find information in the area of communication studies. It is not exhaustive, rather it includes the core or primary resources within each category presented. The resources included within this site were selected by communication studies librarians serving as members of the Association of College and Research Libraries Educational and Behavioral Sciences Section Communication Studies Committee.
    Intute: Arts and Humanities-Communications, Media and Culture
    Search or browse the database of Communications, Media and Culture resources which have been selected, evaluated and described by subject specialists. The target audience is lecturers, researchers and students. This service is a made possible by a network of UK universities and partners.
  • Speeches

    American rhetoric
    This noncommercial site links to five indexes: Speech Bank, Top 100 Speeches, Movie Speeches, Figures in Sound, Christian Rhetoric, Rhetoric of 9-11. Transcripts and,in some cases, mp3 audio are available for the speeches.
    HistoryChannel.com Speeches
    An online collection of famous speeches drawn from broadcasts and recordings of the twentieth century. Speeches are categorized by topic: Politics & Government; Science & Technology; Arts, Entertainment & Culture; and War & Diplomacy. RealPlayer must be installed to listen to the audio clips.
    Lit Finder
    LitFinder includes full text poems, stories, plays, essays, and speeches. (more info)
    Pro & Con Online
    A database of issues covered by Congressional Digest, Supreme Court Debates and International Debates since 1998. (more info)
    Speech Index
    A guide to speeches of famous orators from all eras that were published in collections from 1900 to 1965. Arranged by orator and subject. Includes a supplement covering collections published from 1966-1980.
    Representative American Speeches
    Includes the full-text of importnat speeches back to 1969.
    Vital Speeches of the Day
    Reprints the full-text of of speeches on national policy issues twice a month, going all the way back to 1947. The full text back to 10/08/1934 is available in the database entitled Academic Search Premier.
  • Media Critique and Analysis

    Center for Media Literacy
    A pioneer in its field, the Center for Media Literacy (CML) is a nonprofit educational organization that provides leadership, public education, professional development and educational resources nationally. Dedicated to promoting and supporting media literacy education as a framework for accessing, analyzing, evaluating and creating media content, CML works to help citizens, especially the young, develop critical thinking and media production skills needed to live fully in the 21st century media culture. The ultimate goal is to make wise choices possible. Incorporated in 1989, CML is an independent, nonpartisan 501(c)3 nonprofit organization.
    FAIR (Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting)
    Leftish organization for fairness and accuracy in reporting. Publishes the magazine Extra. Features lots of good reporting on the media.
    Media Literacy Online Project
    While the project itself is no longer being continued, this Web site remains as a list of resources and associations related to media education.
    NewsLink
    9,000 links to newspapers, magazines, broadcasters and news services worldwide.
    On the Media (from NPR)
    A media watchdog radio program for best access browse the archives or use search button to locate specific topics. Listen with realplayer or read transcripts. Commentaries, analyses and reports cover significant media issues of the day, and longer-form investigative documentaries apply a microscope to the media, culture and society. Topics have included network and international coverage of the 2000 Presidential election; media merger mania; net-slaves - the working stiffs of the internet speak out; coverage of national traumas in news; the politics of nudity; the effect of modern marketing on children; and digital movies. In addition to receiving critical praise in the local and national media, On The Media won a Silver Medal for Investigative Reporting in the internationally contested New York Festivals Competition 2000 and a special citation from the prestigious Bart Richards Award for Media Criticism.
    Vanderbilt Television News Archive
    Vanderbilt's unique Web site is the only place in the world that allows researchers access to, and thus insight into, the state of the nation as seen through the network lenses. Currently the site offers 850,000 records, including every ABC, CBS, and NBC evening news broadcast since August 5, 1968; various CNN programs that have come and gone, starting in 1995 (Anderson Cooper 360• is the only CNN program continuing to the present); and Fox broadcasts starting in January 2004. Beyond the evening news, the archive has recorded 9,000 hours of special news-related programming, e.g., presidential press conferences and that having to do with political campaigns. The site indexes each news program segment by segment (including ads) for broadcaster and named individuals and includes a pithy yet cogent abstract for each.

    In order to use the site, one must register; the forms are simple, and a registered user has free and complete access to the database.

  • Advertising

    Ad*access
    The Ad*Access Project presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II. Browse by each of these subjects, for which a history is also provided, or search the database. The timeline helps to put the images in context.
    Ad Council
    The Ad Council is a private, non-profit organization and has been the leading producer of public service advertisements (PSAs) since 1942. Browse their current campaigns, which are categorized under the headings community, education, and health & safety. You may also view a selection of their historic campaigns.
    Advertising Resources
    Maintained by the University of Iowa Department of Communication Studies, this site provides links to Advertising Resources, Advertising Texts, and Political Advertising.
    Advertising World
    Maintained by the University of Texas, this site provides and extensive list of links to advertising and marketing resources.
    Emergence of Advertising in America
    Emergence of Advertising in America presents over 9,000 images relating to the early history of advertising in the United States. The materials, drawn from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University, include cookbooks, photographs of billboards, print advertisements, trade cards, calendars, almanacs, and leaflets for a multitude of products. Together, they illuminate the early evolution of this most ubiquitous feature of modern American business and culture.
    Landscapes of Capital
    A multimedia Web-based book (and database) dedicated to studying how corporate television commercials portray a world shaped and defined by global capitalism at the turn of this century. One of the authors, Robert Goldman, is a Lewis & Clark Sociology Professor.
  • For Thesis Students

    Watzek Wants YOUR thesis
    Follow these guidelines to electronically submit your senior thesis to the Lewis & Clark College Libraries. Your thesis will then be in our collection and available to the L&C college community. (more info)

Return to Research Guides and Databases by Subject

This page maintained by Kate Rubick rubick@lclark.edu. Updated August 31st, 2009.