Research Guide: Portland & Oregon
-
Portland Directories
-
AltPortland
- AltPortland is a guide to Portland, focusing on the low-budget side of life. Excellent postings for events and places to eat. Focuses on the East side, but is not exclusive.
-
Citysearch Portland
- Places, events and organizations in Portland.
-
Just Out
- Local GLBTQ newspaper that has resources (local, state, and national), event listings, and a business directory for the Portland community.
-
Oregon Resources
-
Columbia River Gorge Visitors Association
- Information about the Gorge, including links to hiking and biking trails, and to related Forest Service pages. Includes an events calendar that has many different kinds of offerings.
-
Data for Local Communities (Oregon and Washington)
- A gathering place for statistical, spatial, and descriptive information about the cities, counties and other civil, economic and natural regions of Oregon. The LocalData database lets you retrieve web-based information by topic and geography, while Additional Resources provides links to geospatial data and other organizational websites.
-
GORP - Oregon
- The Great Outdoors Recreation Pages for Oregon.
-
Oregon Blue Book
- The official state directory and manual of county, city, federal and tribal governments.
-
Oregon Encyclopedia
- A collaborative project of Portland State University and the Oregon Historical Society, the Oregon Encyclopedia is an authoritative compendium of information on Oregon people, places, events, and institutions. It is currently in development and is projected to eventually contain several thousand entries. The site is easy to navigate and full text searchable.
-
Oregon.gov
- The official home page for the state of Oregon, this site provides sources of information about state and local government, national, international and tribal government, and state laws and regulations. It also includes content areas about living, visiting and working in Oregon, business, education, and facts about the state.
-
Oregon Historical Society
- OHS collects, preserves and publishes Oregon's history.
-
Oregon State Parks
- Search for state park information, plan your travels, and reserve a campsite online.