Research Guide: Electronic Texts

Electronic Text Sites

ACLS Humanities E-Book
Humanities E-Book is a digital collection of 2,200 full-text titles. (more info)
Avalon Project at Yale Law School
The Avalon Project provides mostly European or American documents in law, history and diplomacy. They are arranged by date, title or topic.
American Verse Project
The American Verse Project is a collaborative project between the University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative (HTI) and the University of Michigan Press. The project is assembling an electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920.
Bartleby.com Verse
With thousands of poems by hundreds of authors, Bartleby.com offers one of the largest free collections of verse on the web.
Bartlett's Familiar Quotations (1901)
This tenth edition of 1919 contains over 11,000 searchable quotations and was the first new edition of John Bartlett’s corpus to be published after his death in 1905—the new editor, however, choosing more to supplement than revise the work of the first name in quotations.
British Poetry 1780-1910
A Hypertext Archive of Scholarly Editions from the Electronic Text Center and the Alderman Library, University of Virginia.
Cambridge Histories Online
Instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. Covers economic, political, literary, social history as well as the arts and philosophy. (more info)
Core Documents of U.S Democracy
The Constitution, Articles of Confereration and other cornerstone documents, as well as oft-requested congressional, presidential, judicial regulatory, demographic, economic, and miscellaneous documents.
Douglas
Douglass is an electronic archive of American oratory and related documents. It is intended to serve general scholarship and courses in American rhetorical history at Northwestern University.
Documenting the American South
Documenting the American South (DAS) is a collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. Includes primary history documents including slave narratives and other first-person narratives.
Early English Books Online - EEBO
EEBO contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 (more info)
Eighteenth Century Collections Online - ECCO
ECCO delivers the full-text and page images of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. (more info)
Electronic Text Center
This source from the University of Virginia includes approximately 70,000 on- and off-line humanities texts in 15 languages, with more than 350,000 related images (book illustrations, covers, manuscripts, newspaper pages, museum objects, etc.).
EServer
The EServer, founded in 1990, is now based at Iowa State University. Its purpose is to provide an alternative niche for quality publications, especially in the arts and humanities. There are over 45 collections on diverse topics. While longer works are featured, they also publish hypertext and streaming audio and video.
EuroDocs
Maintained by the European Studies Bibliographer at BYU, EuroDocs links to primary historical documents from Western Europe and hopes to shed light on key historical happenings. EuroDocs operates as a wiki to which historians can contribute "online facsimiles, transcriptions, or translations of historical documents that illuminate the history of Europe."
Gerritsen Collection - -Women's History Online, 1543-1945
Multi-disciplinary cross-cultural resource for women's history spanning 4 centuries and 15 languages. (more info)
Google Book Search
Google Book Search searches the text of books scanned and stored by Google. (more info)
Library of Congress American Memory Project
American Memory is a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more than 9 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections.
Literature @ Sunsite
The Digital Library SunSITE is building a collection of digital texts that can be read online, printed, or downloaded for further study.
Making of America
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction (1850-1877). The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
Online Books Page
More than 25,000 titles from the digital library at the University of Pennsylvania.
Project Gutenburg
Project Gutenberg is the Internet's oldest producer of FREE electronic books (eBooks or eTexts). Over 20,000 books available in their catalog; 100,000 titles available through their partners, affiliates, and associates.
SODA Southern Oregon Digital Archives
Includes federal, state and local documents pertaining to Southern Oregon History, the Southern Oregon Bioregion, and First Nations. (more info)
TEAMS Middle English Texts
The Middle English Texts Series, launched in 1990, is designed to make available texts that occupy an important place in the literary and cultural canon but have not been readily obtainable in student editions. The series does not include such authors as Chaucer, Langland, or Malory, whose English works are normally in print in good student editions.

Return to Research Guides and Databases by Subject

This page maintained by Dan Kelley dkelley@lclark.edu. Updated December 18th, 2008.