Research Guide: History

Current Course Reserves

Reserves lists for History courses

Getting Started

Britannica Online
Online edition of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. Includes a dictionary and thesaurus. (more info)
Oxford Reference Online
Electronic version of Oxford reference books across a broad range of subjects. (more info)
American Historical Association's Guide To Historical Literature
Contains nearly 27,000 annotated citations (primarily to English language works) divided into forty-eight sections; citations refer chiefly to works published between 1961 and 1992
Readers' Guide to American History
This book traces the scholarship on topics dealing with American History. Excellent bibliographies and literature reviews.
Dictionary of American History
A multi-volume exhaustive encyclopedia that covers American history from an academic perspective.
Cambridge Histories Online
Instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. Covers economic, political, literary, social history as well as the arts and philosophy. (more info)
Wikipedia
A free-content encyclopedia in many languages that anyone can edit.

Biographical Sources

American National Biography
Biographical portraits of prominent, dead American men and women. Includes bibliographies. (more info)
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Expanded second edition of the Dictionary of National biography (more info)
Biographies Plus Illustrated
Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated - Find more than 147,000 substantive profiles, plus links to further information (full text articles, abstracts, book review excerpts, and more) from thousands of periodicals. (more info)
Biography & Genealogy Master Index
Index to biographies of persons from ancient times to the present. (more info)

History Databases

America: History and Life
Indexes the scholarly literature on the history of the U.S. and Canada. Includes links to full text of the articles also included in JSTOR. (more info)
Historical Abstracts
Indexes the scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the U.S. and Canada. (more info)
Historical Statistics of the United States
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. (more info)
History Cooperative
A research database for history sponsored by the American Historical Association that searches core journals in history. (more info)

History-Related Databases

Academic Search Premier
Indexes and abstracts more than 8,300 journals; almost 4,700 of these titles are in full text. (more info)
Alternative Press Index Archive
An archive of citations from alternative, radical, and left publications. (more info)
AP Images
Offers images of current events, people in the news, historical figures, political leaders, sports greats, and more. (more info)
Arts & Humanities Citation Search
Contains records referencing arts and humanities subjects. (Tip: in an Author search, use the last name and first initial). (more info)
CiNii (Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator)
CiNii (pronounced "sigh-knee") searches academic papers and articles published in Japan. (more info)
Early English Books Online - EEBO
EEBO contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 (more info)
Eighteenth Century Collections Online - ECCO
ECCO delivers the full-text and page images of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. (more info)
Environmental History Bibliography
Contains over 40,000 annotated citations to books, articles, and dissertations published from 1633 to the present. (more info)
Gerritsen Collection - -Women's History Online, 1543-1945
Multi-disciplinary cross-cultural resource for women's history spanning 4 centuries and 15 languages. (more info)
Heritage Trail Press
A collection of resources for historical research in the Pacific Northwest. (more info)
International Medieval Bibliography
An interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 300-1500 A.D. (more info)
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Citations to articles and books on the Middle Ages and Renaissance. (more info)
JSTOR
Full text of scholarly journals, from earliest issues up to 3-5 years ago. (more info)
Left Index
Leads to articles in left-leaning periodicals about politics, economics, and society. (more info)
New York Times - Historical
Provides access to full text articles, photos, and advertisements in the New York Times from 1851 through 2003. (more info)
19th Century Masterfile
Locates 19th century articles from selected American and British magazines. Includes Poole's Index. (more info)
Project Muse
Full text articles from scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. (more info)
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
Index of articles in 350 popular, general-interest magazines published in the U.S. and Canada. (1983-present) (more info)
Readers' Guide Retrospective
Index of more than 3 million articles from 375 popular and general-interest periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada. (1890-1982) (more info)
Web of Science
Use Web of Science and other Citation Indexes to discover articles that have cited a specific article or author. (more info)

Locating Primary Sources

Archival Research Catalog
ARC is the online catalog of NARA's nationwide holdings in the Washington, DC area, Regional Archives and Presidential Libraries. (more info)
National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections
NUCMC is a catalog of historical manuscript collections in the United States. (more info)
Northwest Digital Archives (NWDA)
Provides enhanced access to more than 2,400 archival and manuscript collections in Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington (more info)

Primary Sources: Full text

American Journeys
Contains text of 150 Early American Travel Narratives.
American State Papers
Reports of the U.S. Congress between 1789 and 1838 (more info)
Avalon Project at Yale Law School
The Avalon Project provides mostly European or American documents in law, history and diplomacy. They are arranged by date, title or topic.
Core Documents of U.S. Democracy
The Government Printing Office offers "direct online access to the basic Federal Government documents that define our democratic society."
Documenting the American South
Documenting the American South (DAS) is a collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. Collections include: * First-Person Narratives of the American South * Library of Southern Literature * North American Slave Narratives * The Southern Homefront, 1861-1865 * The Church in the Southern Black Community
Documents from the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention
The Continental Congress Broadside Collection (253 titles) and the Constitutional Convention Broadside Collection (21 titles) contain 274 documents relating to the work of Congress and the drafting and ratification of the Constitution. Items include extracts of the journals of Congress, resolutions, proclamations, committee reports, treaties, and early printed versions of the United States Constitution and the Declaration of Independence. Most Broadsides are one page in length, others range from 1 to 28 pages.
EuroDocs
Maintained by the European Studies Bibliographer at BYU, EuroDocs links to primary historical documents from Western Europe and hopes to shed light on key historical happenings. EuroDocs operates as a wiki to which historians can contribute "online facsimiles, transcriptions, or translations of historical documents that illuminate the history of Europe."
HeinOnline
Exact page images of law journals, U.S. Reports, Federal Register, and treaty & international agreements etc. (more info)
Library of Congress American Memory Project
These historical collections from the National Digital Library contain photographs and manuscripts and can be searched by either subject, time and/or location of event, or by format.
Making of America
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction (1850-1877). The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
National Archives and Records Administration
Contains historical records of government agencies, genealogical resources, current government information, and the Archival Research Catalog (ARC), which describes textual records, maps & charts, photographs and films from its collection.
Oregon Historical Records Index
Contains birth, death, marriage and probate records for Oregon. Limited years available.
Presidential Recordings Program
Between 1940 and 1973, six American presidents from both political parties secretly recorded just under 5,000 hours of conversations. This site is designed as a service to the research community by making freely available all of the presidential recordings, along with relevant research materials.
Southern Oregon Digital Archive
Contains full text documents of the Southern Oregon Bioregion and First Nations material in the collection of Southern Oregon University. Searchable by author and title.
U. S. Congressional Serial Set 1817-1980
Search or browse the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes for the period 1817-1980. (more info)
WWW Virtual Library
This site includes electronic versions of primary documents on: * AmDocs: Documents for the Study of United States History * World Constitutions * Documents of the First World War * many other areas of history

Comprehensive History Websites

History Channel
Contains This Day in History, which allows you to see the events of this or any day in four different categories. The History Channel page also has daily quizzes, polls, biographical profiles and a useful collection of speeches.
History Guide
The History Guide is an Internet-based subject gateway to scholarly relevant information in history with a focus on Anglo-American history.
History Index
The History Index is the WWW Virtual Library site for history and is produced by the EuropeanUniversity Institute in Florence, Italy. It is very comprehensive, with over 4,000 links. Links are organized by continent, era, topic, and method.
Humanities & Social Sciences Online
Looking for a book review on a historical topic? This is a good place to start. H-Net is an international grouping of scholars connected by over 100 electronic discussion lists. Most of the lists deal with history, and new book reviews are posted every day.
International Institute of Social History
Impressive coverage of international labor history.
Internet History Sourcebooks
Connects to the Internet Ancient History Sourcebook, the Internet Medieval Sourcebook, and the Internet Modern History Sourcebook. These provide essays, as well as annotated and well-organized sources for copy-permitted historical texts.
Rhodes History Resources
This is a library metasite with links to resources in seven broad subject categories, as well as to collections of electronic museum exhibits, maps and e-journals.

American History Sources

African American History
This metasite from the University of Washington covers general African-American history as well as topics such as the Civil War, Slavery and Civil Rights, and formats such as electronic texts and images.
American Indians of the Pacific Northwest
This site from the Library of Congress provides teachers and students with access to documents and images about Northwest and Plateau Indian peoples and cultures
American Cultural History: the Nineteenth Century
This is a series of web guides on the decades of the Nineteenth Century.
American Cultural History: The Twentieth Century
A series of web guides on the decades of the 20th century, produced by the librarians at Kingwood College. Each decade has a bibliographic essay, some statistics and links to relevant sites.
The Collected Works of Abraham Lincoln
A "virtual Lincoln library," created by the Abraham Lincoln Association. Allows visitors to search all eight volumes of The Collected Works of Abraham Lincoln for any word or phrase.
Historical Data Census Browser
The data presented here describe the people and the economy of the US for each state and county from 1790 to 1970.
HistoryLink
History of Washington State. Short-cut links to materials on specific cities (Seattle, Spokane, Tacoma), counties (King County), and topics (baseball, music, 1999-2000 WTO protests).

Identifying and finding articles in older periodicals (magazines and newspapers)

19th Century Masterfile
Locates 19th century articles from selected American and British magazines. Includes Poole's Index. (more info)
Wellesley index to Victorian periodicals, 1824-1900
Tables of contents and identification of contributors with bibliographies of their articles and stories.
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
Index of articles in 350 popular, general-interest magazines published in the U.S. and Canada. (1983-present) (more info)
Readers' Guide Retrospective
Index of more than 3 million articles from 375 popular and general-interest periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada. (1890-1982) (more info)
LexisNexis Academic
Full text of national, regional, and international newspapers, business, and legal sources and more. (more info)
Newspaper Abstracts
Indexes articles from 1989 to the present from Wall Street Journal, USA Today, New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Houston Post, Los Angeles Times, and others (more info)
Newspaper Index
Articles are indexed from the Oregonian, 1851-1979, the Oregon Journal, 1902-1979, plus some other local newspapers, periodicals, and miscellaneous monographs. The subjects pertain to Oregon, Portland, and the Northwest
History and bibliography of American newspapers, 1690-1820
An historical guide to newspapers, organized by location.
Newspapers in microform. United States
Also see:Newspapers in microform. Foreign countries
Newspaper indexes : a location and subject guide for researchers
Valuable for location existing newspaper indexes at the local level.
Indexed periodicals : a guide to 170 years of coverage in 33 indexing services
Useful for finding index coverage of older periodicals.
Early periodical indexes : bibliographies and indexes of literature published in periodicals before 1900
Detailed annotations of more than 400 indexes/bibliographies covering pre-1900 publications.
Oregon Newspapers Index
Index to The Portland Oregonian from Dec. 1850-1987; The Register-Guard, and UofO campus newspaper.

Return to Research Guides and Databases by Subject

This page maintained by Dan Kelley dkelley@lclark.edu. Updated August 21st, 2009.