Research Guide: Counseling Psychology

Psychology Databases

PsycINFO
Database of scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. PsycINFO covers journals, books, reviews, and dissertations. (more info)
PsycARTICLES
A full-text database of journals published by APA and other publishers in subject areas such as applied psychology, health, theory, research, social/personality, and more. (more info)
PsycCRITIQUES
A full-text database of book and film reviews from the American Psychological Association. (more info)

Psychology-related Databases

ERIC (EBSCOHost)
Provides access to education journals and related documents. (more info)
LGBT Life with Full Text
LGBT (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender) journals, magazines, regional newspapers and full text monographs. (more info)
MEDLINE via Ebsco
Covers all areas of medicine including dentistry and nursing (1965-present). (more info)
MEDLINE on Web of Science
Covers all areas of medicine including dentistry and nursing (1965-present). (more info)
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Fulltext information about and reviews of English-language standardized tests. (more info)
Social Sciences Citation Index
A part of the Web of Science database, the SSCI tracks 'who's citing whom' in the social sciences. (more info)
SocINDEX with full text
Sociology and anthropology research database with over 1 million records from 2000+ journals. (more info)
Sociological Abstracts
One of the most important guides to the literature of sociology and related disciplines, including anthropology. Indexes journal articles, books, conference papers, book reviews, and scholarly web sites. (more info)

Annual Reviews

Annual Review of Psychology
Describes and evaluates recent noteworthy publications in the field. Chapters are written by specialists on topics of current interest and varying scope. Includes bibliographies. Online from 1950.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic OneFile
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. (more info)
Academic Search Premier
Indexes and abstracts more than 8,300 journals; almost 4,700 of these titles are in full text. (more info)
Google Scholar
Google's academic search engine now has links to the full text that Watzek Library provides. (more info)

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Counseling
An online resource that provides a comprehensive overview of the theories, models, techniques and challenges involved in the professional activity of counseling.
Comprehensive Clinical Psychology
Consists of 10 subject volumes, each on a broad area of clinical psychology, and an index volume.
Encyclopedia of Cognitive Behavior Therapy
A comprehensive general encyclopedia that brings together key aspects of the field. Entries present philosophical and theoretical concepts, treatment and prevention methods, and future research directions; also included are current common disorders and conditions.
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology
A reader's guide at the beginning of this resource organizes topics into broader categories, such as cultural concerns, ethnic groups, indigenous concerns, measurement, sociological issues, and treatment. Some entries have extensive bibliographies; cross-references are plentiful.
Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment
Each article includes a general conceptual and methodogical overview, information on relevant assessment tools, and list of references. Intended for the psychology community.
Encyclopedia of Psychotherapy
Entries describe various schools or models of treatment and analysis and concepts related to them.
Encyclopedia of School Psychology
An excellent and timely introduction to many educational topics, this work is meant for anyone who works with school-age children. Following the list of entries is a reader's guide, which groups the entries into 34 categories.

General Psychology Web Sites

Addiction Search
Information about addiction-related research and rehabilitation/treatment programs. Broad categories of information are: addictions, statistics, populations, treatment, articles, facilities, prevention, social issues, organizations, and war on drugs. A good starting point for research on addictive behaviors and conditions.
American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT)
"The professional association for the field of marriage and family therapy...The AAMFT provides individuals with the tools and resources they need to succeed as marriage and family therapists."
American Counseling Association
The American Counseling Association is "the world's largest association exclusively representing professional counselors in various practice settings." Website has information on leadership training, professional development/continuing education, and advocacy services. Some services, such as their virtual library, are accessible only to ACA members.
American Psychological Association
This website is a key resource for information about psychology, both for students and for anyone in the field. Links on the home page include: association information, news, careers, psychology topics, and more. Of special interest are links to resources for students and early career psychologists, both of which include links to the APA Style Helper and education and career information.
AmoebaWeb: Psychology on the Web
Maintained by David Degelman, Professor of Psychology at Vanguard University of Southern California. 27 categories of information on topics in psychology, many of which have subdivisions. General categories of resources for online tests, research scales, APA style and writing, and graduate studies are particularly resource-rich.
International Personality Item Pool
Intended to provide rapid access to measures of individual differences, all available in the public domain. A unique resource that is easy to navigate. Includes more than 325 scales placed into 200 or so content categories. Up front information on reliability and validity.
Intute > Social Sciences > Psychology
Intute is a metasite created by a consortium of seven universities in the UK that provides access to web resources for education and research. Subject specialists choose and annotate the links to each resource. Sub-topics under psychology include: consumer, developmental, educational, human experimental, personality, social, and sports psychology, as well as sections on mental health, psychological disorders, and social processes and issues.
Medline Plus Health Information
A metasite from the U.S National Library of Medicine with information on health topics, medical terms, drugs, directories of medical personnel and hospitals, links to health organizations, as well as access to Medline, the primary database for medical information.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
Created and maintained by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality of the US Department of Health and Human Services, this site is a key public resource for evidence-based clinical guidelines in medical and related fields. Though not an exhaustive listing of these guidelines, the NGC does provide broad coverage of clinical practice guidelines across the spectrum of health care fields and topics. The database is easy to search; there is also a comparison utility whereby the user can compare two or more guidelines side-by-side.
The National Institute on Alcohol Abuse And Alcoholism
Under the umbrella of the National Institutes of Health, the NIAAA website has reliable content and provides comprehensive coverage on a wide range of topics related to alcohol abuse and alcoholism. Easy to navigate and search, this site is an essential source for students and practitioners alike. See especially the sections on publications and resources.
National Institute of Mental Health
A division of the National Institutes of Health, NIMH sets priorities and awards funding for biomedical research on the mind, the brain, and behavior. Research and funding information is extensive. The "Health Information" tab includes information on mental health topics, clinical trials, and links to additional resources, such as MEDLINEPlus and the National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and Practices.
The Personality Project
From the Graduate Program in Personality in the Department of Psychology at Northwestern University. This site is meant to guide those interested in personality theory and research to current literature. Links for recommended readings, academic and non-academic web pages, psychological organizations, and special advice for students.
Psych Web
Links to a directory of psychology departments, psychology journals on the Web, pamphlets on psychology, and much more.
Social Gerontology and the Aging Revolution
From Professor Michael Kearl at Trinity University, this site is a user-friendly clearinghouse that provides information or links to almost every issue regarding older people (statistics, organizations, cultural experiences, associations, policy, and theories of aging; material on the biological, social, and psychological aspects of aging).
Social Psychology Network
An excellent listing of psychology & social psychology resources on the Web from Wesleyan University.

Videos

FMG on Demand
Streaming video of a collection of films from the Films Media Group. (more info)

Career Guides

Careers in Psychology
Shows what diverse career opportunities exist in the field of psychology
Portable Mentor
"Expert guide to a successful career in psychology"
Succeeding in Graduate School
"The career guide for psychology"

Information Tools

Evaluating Information Sources
Criteria and techniques for evaluating Web sites and other information sources

Return to Research Guides and Databases by Subject

This page maintained by Elaine Heras heras@lclark.edu. Updated November 16th, 2009.