Research Guide: Gender Studies

Current Course Reserves

Reserves lists for Gender Studies classes

Gender Studies Databases

Contemporary Women's Issues
Full-text of articles, books, newsletters, and more on women's issues in over 150 countries. (more info)
Gender Studies Database
Combines NISC's Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. (more info)
Gerritsen Collection - -Women's History Online, 1543-1945
Multi-disciplinary cross-cultural resource for women's history spanning 4 centuries and 15 languages. (more info)
LGBT Life with Full Text
LGBT (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender) journals, magazines, regional newspapers and full text monographs. (more info)

Gender Studies-Related Databases

AnthroSource
A complete electronic archive of all American Anthropological Assn. journals. (more info)
SocINDEX with full text
Sociology and anthropology research database with over 1 million records from 2000+ journals. (more info)
Social Sciences Citation Index
A part of the Web of Science database, the SSCI tracks 'who's citing whom' in the social sciences. (more info)
Sociological Abstracts
One of the most important guides to the literature of sociology and related disciplines, including anthropology. Indexes journal articles, books, conference papers, book reviews, and scholarly web sites. (more info)

Gender Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
Addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation. Topics include changing conceptions of "the feminine," the family and masculinity, religion, morality, cultural images, medical practice, public health, economy and society and many more.
GLBTQ: an encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, & queer culture
The glbtq encyclopedia is the largest educational Web site serving the GLBT community. More than 300 artists, academics, independent scholars, and practicing professionals have contributed signed entries to the glbtq encyclopedia.

Gender Web Resources

Intute: Social Sciences-Women's Studies
Browse Web sites that have been evaluated and categorized by subject specialists based at UK universities. The aim of the Intute is to match resources to the women's studies curriculum and the needs of researchers. The target audience is students, staff and researchers in higher and further education.
Subject Listing of Women and Gender Resources
Maintained by the Women's Studies Librarian's Office of the University of Wisconsin System.
WHO-The Department of Gender, Women and Health (GWH)
GWH brings attention to the ways in which biological and social differences between women and men affect health and the steps needed to achieve health equity.
WSS LINKS: Women and Gender Studies Web Links
WSSLINKS is developed and maintained by the Women's Studies Section of the Association of College & Research Libraries. The purpose of WSSLINKS is to provide access to a wide range of resources in support of Women's Studies.

Archives and Collections

ACT UP Oral History Project
A collection of interviews of the men and women who have made up ACT UP New York. Transcripts of interviews are available for free download, and streaming video excerpts are provided.
ONE national gay & lesbian archives
The One National Gay & Lesbian Archives is an archive of written, photographic, and other information on LGBT people which has been accumulated since the creation in Post-World War II 1940s Los Angeles and New York of ONE magazine; which was one of the first periodicals catering to the early development of a political consciousness in the Lesbian and Gay community in the United States.

Statistics Sources

GenderStats
GenderStats is an electronic database of gender statistics and indicators from the World Bank Group. Data sources for GenderStats include national statistics, United Nations databases, and World Bank-conducted or funded surveys.
ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
The largest archive of computer-readable social science data in the world. Holdings of over 5,300 titles and over 100,000 unique files. You must create an individual account to download the files. (more info)
LexisNexis Statistical Universe
An index of statistics published by the U.S government and some by state government , international and private sources. (more info)
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included.
U.S. Bureau of Census. Products on Gender
An index to "census publications containing information on gender."
U.S. Department of Labor: Women's Bureau
Data from the DOL on topics concerning women, including advancement, wages and working conditions.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier
Indexes and abstracts more than 8,300 journals; almost 4,700 of these titles are in full text. (more info)
Academic OneFile
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. (more info)
JSTOR
Full text of scholarly journals, from earliest issues up to 3-5 years ago. (more info)
LexisNexis Academic
Full text of national, regional, and international newspapers, business, and legal sources and more. (more info)
Project Muse
Full text articles from scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. (more info)

L&C Gender Studies Dept. sites

Return to Research Guides and Databases by Subject

This page maintained by Kate Rubick rubick@lclark.edu. Updated August 31st, 2009.