Research Guide: Chemistry & Biochemistry

Chemistry Databases

American Chemical Society Publications
Provides articles published by the American Chemical Society. Years of journals available vary by the title. (more info)
Royal Society of Chemistry journals
Search contents of all RSC journals back to 1841 and up to the present. Full text for some titles. (more info)
Science Citation Index
A part of the Web of Science, the SCI searches the references (citations) found in journal articles in the sciences. (more info)
SciFinder
Note: This product is available only to Lewis & Clark Chemistry faculty and students, who may request access from the Chemistry department liaison:haney@lclark.edu. (more info)

Chemistry-Related Databases

Faculty of 1000-Biology
Highlights and reviews the most interesting papers published in the biological sciences, based on the recommendations of a faculty of well over 2300 leading researchers. (more info)
MEDLINE on FirstSearch
Covers all areas of medicine including dentistry and nursing (more info)
MEDLINE via Ebsco
Covers all areas of medicine including dentistry and nursing (1965-present). (more info)
PubMed
This public (and free) version of MEDLINE indexes medical and biomedical journals. (more info)

Encyclopedias

Dictionary of Chemistry
Online version of the Oxford University Press dictionary.
Merck Index on CD-ROM
An encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs and biologicals. (more info)

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic OneFile
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. (more info)
Academic Search Premier
Indexes and abstracts more than 8,300 journals; almost 4,700 of these titles are in full text. (more info)

Annual Reviews

Biochemistry
Overviews the latest developments in the field. Chapters are written by specialists on topics of current interest and varying scope. Includes bibliographies. Online access from 1932.
Nutrition
Overviews the latest developments in the field. Chapters are written by specialists on topics of current interest and varying scope. Includes bibliographies. Online from 1981.
Physical Chemistry
Describes and evaluates recent noteworthy publications in the field. Chapters are written by specialists on topics of current interest and varying scope. Includes bibliographies. Online from 1950.
Physiology
Describes and evaluates recent noteworthy publications in the field. Chapters are written by specialists on topics of current interest and varying scope. Includes bibliographies. Online from 1939.

Biochemistry websites

Nutrition.gov
A guide to nutrition and food information on federal government Web sites.

Chemistry websites

American Chemical Society
The American Chemical Society site with a wide variety of quality chemistry information and links.
ChemFinder
A chemical compound database containing property data and links to specialized WWW information resources for many common compounds. Searching is by name, Registry number, molecular formula or weight.
ChemInfo:Selected Internet Resources for Chemistry
SIRCh (Selected Internet Resources for Chemistry) includes "How and Where to Search" categories for general and specialized searches.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Access to the data collections of the National Institute of Standards and Technology, including thermochemical data,reaction thermochemistry data, IR spectra, mass spectra, and more. A comprehensive source for chemical and physical property data for chemical compounds.
NIST virtual library: chemistry
NIST's Chemistry areas of research include: chemical characterization of materials, process metrology, chemical and biochemical sensing, nanotechnology, healthcare measurements, environmental measurements, physical property data, chemical and biochemical data, bio-molecules and materials, DNA technologies, and international measurement standards.
Organic Chemistry Resources Worldwide
With a very well-organized set of links, this site is targeted for synthetic organic chemists involved in academic or industrial research.
PubChem
PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative.
Selected classic papers from the history of chemistry
Arranged in ten categories, this site offers seminal papers in the history of chemistry; links to biographical sketches and/or portraits of the authors. All papers are in English. Includes an extensive Glossary of Archaic Chemical Terms.
Virtual Laboratory
Virtual chemistry experiments with video and short tutorials. Plug-in programs required.

Periodic Tables

Atomic Structure and the Periodic Table
An "online textbook" designed to provide a thorough, in-depth treatment of this topic at the first-year college or advanced-HS levels, with a special focus on the underlying concepts.
Dynamic Periodic Table
"All HTML. No images. No flash. Everything on one page."
Photographic Periodic Table of the Elements
Quick and easy factual information and images of the elements.
WebElements
Winner of numerous awards. By clicking on the symbol for any element, users can access in-depth information about that element.

Return to Research Guides and Databases by Subject

This page maintained by Joanna Haney haney@lclark.edu. Updated September 15th, 2009.