Research Guide: Biology

Biology Databases

Science Citation Index
A part of the Web of Science, the SCI searches the references (citations) found in journal articles in the sciences. (more info)
BIOSIS Previews
A comprehensive index to life sciences and biomedical research worldwide, including journals, meetings, patents, and books. (more info)
Faculty of 1000-Biology
Highlights and reviews the most interesting papers published in the biological sciences, based on the recommendations of a faculty of well over 2300 leading researchers. (more info)
MEDLINE on Web of Science
Covers all areas of medicine including dentistry and nursing (1965-present). (more info)
MEDLINE on FirstSearch
Covers all areas of medicine including dentistry and nursing (more info)
Zoological Record Plus
Provides extensive coverage of the world's zoological and animal science literature, covering all research from biochemistry to veterinary medicine. (more info)
Agricola
Describes materials in the National Agriculture Library . (more info)
PubMed
This public (and free) version of MEDLINE indexes medical and biomedical journals. (more info)

Dictionaries and encyclopedias in Biological Sciences

Encyclopedia of Life
The Encyclopedia of Life is an ecosystem of websites that makes all key information about all life on Earth accessible to anyone, anywhere.
Dictionary of Biology
Online edition of Oxford University Press dictionary.
Dictionary of Ecology
Online edition of Oxford University Press dictionary.
Dictionary of Plant Sciences
Online edition of Oxford University Press dictionary.
Dictionary of Scientists
1,300 entries for scientists of the last 2,500 years.
Dictionary of Zoology
Oxford University Press's online edition.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic OneFile
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. (more info)
Academic Search Premier
Indexes and abstracts more than 8,300 journals; almost 4,700 of these titles are in full text. (more info)
JSTOR
Full text of scholarly journals, from earliest issues up to 3-5 years ago. (more info)

Annual Reviews

Biophysics
Describes and evaluates recent noteworthy publications in the field. Chapters are written by specialists on topics of current interest and varying scope. Includes bibliographies. Online access from 1972, including previous titles: Annual Review of Biophysics and Biomolecular Structure, Biophysics and Biophysical Chemistry, and Biophysics and Bioengineering.
Cell & Developmental Biology
Overviews the latest developments in the field. Chapters are written by specialists on topics of current interest and varying scope. Includes bibliographies. Online access from 1985. (Continues the Annual Review of Cell Biology).
Ecology, Evolution and Systematics
Describes and evaluates recent noteworthy publications in the field. Chapters are written by specialists on topics of current interest and varying scope. Includes bibliographies. Online access from 1970. (Continues Annual Review of Ecology and Systematics).
Genetics
Describes and evaluates recent noteworthy publications in the field. Chapters are written by specialists on topics of current interest and varying scope. Includes bibliographies. Online from 1967.
Immunology
Overviews the latest developments in the field. Chapters are written by specialists on topics of current interest and varying scope. Includes bibliographies. Online from 1983.
Microbiology
Describes and evaluates recent noteworthy publications in the field. Chapters are written by specialists on topics of current interest and varying scope. Includes bibliographies. Online from 1947.
Pathology: Mechanisms of Disease
Describes and evaluates recent noteworthy publications in the field. Chapters are written by specialists on topics of current interest and varying scope. Includes bibliographies.
Plant Biology
Describes and evaluates recent noteworthy publications in the field. Chapters are written by specialists on topics of current interest and varying scope. Includes bibliographies. Online from 1950, including previous titles: Plant Physiology and Plant Molecular Biology.
Phytopathology
Describes and evaluates recent noteworthy publications in the field. Chapters are written by specialists on topics of current interest and varying scope. Includes bibliographies. Online access is back to 1963.
Physiology
Describes and evaluates recent noteworthy publications in the field. Chapters are written by specialists on topics of current interest and varying scope. Includes bibliographies. Online from 1939.

Biology Websites

Biology Browser
A BIOSIS meta-site covering a wide range of information related to the study of zoology. Browse by animal group or specific organism. Links are annotated and frequently updated. (Formerly the Internet Resource Guide for Zoology).
BioTech: Life Sciences resources and reference tools
Annotated links to Web resources in the life sciences. Includes a dictionary of over 8,000 terms.
Cell and Molecular Biology Online
A very useful and well organized collection of annotated links. Categories include: e-journals, current research, careers, societies and many others.
Frank Potter's Science Gems-Life Science
This meta-page covers web resources in all areas of science. Categories include: physical sciences, earth sciences, life sciences, mathematics, and engineering.

Botany websites

Botanical Society of America
A very useful organization website: free full text of The American Journal of Botany and The Plant Science Bulletin, the latest news in the field of botany, an index to related sites and of course, information about the organization.
PLANTS Database
A U.S. Department of Agriculture site, the PLANTS Database is a source of standardized information about plants focusing on vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. The database includes names, checklists, identification information, species abstracts, distributional data, crop information, plant symbols and growth data, plant links, references, and other information.

Zoology websites

Biology Browser
A free web site offering resources for the life sciences information community. Search by organism, subject or geography.
Introduction to the Metazoa
A University of California at Berkeley website, this is an excellent resource on the evolution of animals. Information provided includes: fossil records, ecology, life history, biographies of influential individuals and a glossary.
SORA: Searchable Ornithological Research Archive
Archived issues of seven primary ornithology journals, dating from 1884 to 2000.
WormAtlas
A database of behavioral and structural anatomy of "Caenorhabditis elegans", C. elegans.

Return to Research Guides and Databases by Subject

This page maintained by Joanna Haney haney@lclark.edu. Updated September 16th, 2009.